Contribute
Register

New DRM enabling method for systems with AMD GPU

Joined
Feb 16, 2022
Messages
23
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 9020 MT
CPU
I7-4790
Graphics
NVIDIA NVS 510
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Saw your post tech1eguy so updating my message from above.

I actually couldn't get it all working. I was using an AMD card with SMBIOS 15,1 and it's a hit and miss. Apple TV will work with one setting but then Amazon Prime wouldn't and vice versa.

I don't think there is a real fix out there. to my knowledge.
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,986
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anyone with imac19,1 or similar imac smbios (bigsur or monterey) have netflix hd or 4k working in safari?
Tried unfairgva 05 and also tried disabling igpu but didn't seem to work.

As @computebit states above, DRM will always be compromised one way or another when using a low or mid range iMac SMBIOS.

The only way to get DRM working 100% is to use a MacPro or iMacPro SMBIOS with a supported AMD dGPU and disable the IGPU. This has been discussed many times on this and other forums :-


Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2022
Messages
23
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 9020 MT
CPU
I7-4790
Graphics
NVIDIA NVS 510
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks Jay for the info. I did come across that info but found that using MacPro or iMacPro SMBIOS breaks sidecar and sleep on my OptiPlex 9020. I'm using trs96's guide for my hackintosh and he has done a ton of R&D and continues to keep things updated, and the best SMBIOS he recommends for stability and compatibility is 15,1 or iMac 7,1. (I recall that was another option).

What interested me in this is keeping the 15,1 SMBIOS and adding the unfairgva option to get DRM working. That would have given me a perfect hackintosh.

I guess there isn't a perfect hackintosh where "everything" runs.... yet. :)

Appreciate the message and the info you provided.

Regards
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,986
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I did come across that info but found that using MacPro or iMacPro SMBIOS breaks sidecar and sleep on my OptiPlex 9020.

@computebit,

Sidecar requires either a T2 chip or supported Intel IGPU with QuickSync to compress/decompress the sidecar image so it's one of the few reasons to stick with a iMac SMBIOS.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2022
Messages
23
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 9020 MT
CPU
I7-4790
Graphics
NVIDIA NVS 510
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@computebit,

Sidecar requires either a T2 chip or supported Intel IGPU with QuickSync to compress/decompress the sidecar image so it's one of the few reasons to stick with a iMac SMBIOS.

Cheers
Jay

Got it! Thanks Jay for the explanation.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2020
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A II
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580 Pulse
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As @computebit states above, DRM will always be compromised one way or another when using a low or mid range iMac SMBIOS.

The only way to get DRM working 100% is to use a MacPro or iMacPro SMBIOS with a supported AMD dGPU and disable the IGPU. This has been discussed many times on this and other forums :-


Cheers
Jay
I am using RX 580 pulse. Tried macpro7,1 smbios with multimonitor disabled in bios. Tried with or without whatevergreen. DRM videos work fine in quicktime. Netflix works fine in safari. But I don't get hdr or 4k resolution. Only get HD in safari. Checked developer menu in safari and vp9 is checked. Using LG 4k/HDR monitor using 1.4DP cable.
Chrome netflix - 720p
Safari netflix (40mbps throughput) - 1080p
Ctrl + Shift + Option + D shows avchigh video codec
Windows 11 Edge (same hardware) (24mbps throughput) - 4k with HDR
Ctrl + Shift + Alt + D shows HEVC video codec

So in hackintoshes, netflix 4k (safari hevc) isn't possible as the hardware lacks T2 chip?
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
2,379
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am using RX 580 pulse. Tried macpro7,1 smbios with multimonitor disabled in bios. Tried with or without whatevergreen. DRM videos work fine in quicktime. Netflix works fine in safari. But I don't get hdr or 4k resolution. Only get HD in safari. Checked developer menu in safari and vp9 is checked. Using LG 4k/HDR monitor using 1.4DP cable.
Chrome netflix - 720p
Safari netflix (40mbps throughput) - 1080p
Ctrl + Shift + Option + D shows avchigh video codec
Windows 11 Edge (same hardware) (24mbps throughput) - 4k with HDR
Ctrl + Shift + Alt + D shows HEVC video codec

So in hackintoshes, netflix 4k (safari hevc) isn't possible as the hardware lacks T2 chip?

No, that's not what he (totally) said. He said if you have an Intel IGPU set up with Quicksync it can be done (as well as) using an iMac based SMBIOS. In your case it should be something like SMBIOS iMac19,1 and the Quicksync enabled under the Intel IGPU PCIRoot like this:

Screen Shot 2022-03-23 at 12.34.25 AM.png


If you have a HDMI 2.0 capable monitor you could also try using something like SwitchResX to force it to use 4K 60.
 
Top