MSI 9 Series Motherboards - OS X Setup and Configuration

Discussion in 'BIOS/UEFI' started by tonymacx86, Oct 10, 2014.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,172
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 10, 2014 at 12:10 AM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,172
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    IMG_1097.jpg IMG_1098.jpg

    Over the past few weeks we've been testing some 9 Series MSI motherboards. Since there aren't too many people in the community using MSI, this post should allow users to configure and boot OS X using any 9 Series MSI motherboard. We'll be adding a list of them to this month's Buyer's Guide.

    IMG_1096.jpg IMG_1095.jpg
    MSI Z97-GAMING 7

    IMG_1055.jpg IMG_1056.jpg
    MSI Z97-GAMING 9 AC

    BIOS Settings
    Firstly, it's a good idea to grab the latest BIOS and set BIOS according to the screenshots below. For simplicity, here are the main things to set:

    1. Load Optimized Defaults
    2. Set Overclocking/CPU Features/CFG Lock to Disabled
    3. Set Overclocking/CPU Features/VT-d to Disabled
    4. Save configuration and reset

    MSI-1.jpeg Load Optimized Defaults

    MSI-2.jpeg OC/CPU Features

    MSI-3.jpeg Overclocking/CPU Features/CFG Lock Disabled

    MSI-4.jpeg CFG lock Disabled

    MSI-5.jpeg Overclocking/CPU Features/VT-d Disabled

    MSI-6.jpeg
    Save configuration and reset

    MSI-0.jpeg
    Board Explorer

    Installation

    Installation is done using the default UniBeast guide. It's exactly the same as any other board.

    MultiBeast Settings
    Post-installation is done using MultiBeast, as with many other boards it can vary based on Audio/Network/Graphics. Here's an example configuration for the Z97-Gaming 9 AC using Intel HD 4600 integrated graphics. Please note, until Apple releases a new Mac with 9-series chipset, temporary fixes will be necessary for both Audio and HD 4600 on any 9 series motherboard.
    Screen Shot 2014-10-09 at 6.52.57 PM.png
    Notes
    We tested the MSI Z97-GAMING 7 and the MSI Z97-GAMING 9 AC. The wifi card in the MSI Z97-GAMING 9 AC is a Broadcom BCM94352 HMB/AzureWave AW-CE123H which supports both Airport and Bluetooth 4.0 with SSDT or kext injection. See toleda's mini-PCIe network card thread for details.

    MSI Z97-GAMING 7
    http://us.msi.com/product/mb/Z97_GAMING_7.html#hero-overview

    MSI Z97-GAMING 9
    http://us.msi.com/product/mb/Z97_GAMING_9_AC.html#hero-overview
     
  2. DarfWeder

    DarfWeder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77A-G45
    CPU:
    Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 660 2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 11, 2014 at 7:36 AM #2
    DarfWeder

    DarfWeder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77A-G45
    CPU:
    Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 660 2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    SWEEEEET!!!! Oh man, you don't know how nice it is to FINALLY see you guys check out a MSI board!!! WOOHOO!!!

    I may have had bad luck for myself with Gigabyte as PCs I built for others with Gigabyte are fine and ran forever. But I have found sort of like my soul mate in MSI and from a technical point of view with solid caps etc. I think they're ranking amongst the top.

    My MSI builds are all rock solid for what I use them (graphics and video). Thanks a lot for confirming once more, you can really do these things on MSI as well. I figure there is no more need for an updated BIOS like on my Z77A-G45 then... sweeter!

    Moreover, in Europe at least, MSI warrants their motherboards and graphics cards for 3 years. wow. Now THAT is a statement.

    Well I know what to buy next time I have a need then!!! Thanks Tony!
     
  3. sneitzel

    sneitzel

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    Lenovo W510 model 4319RU/Intel QM57 Express Chipset (Chipset: Intel ID0044 Southbridge ID3B07)
    CPU:
    Corei7/2.67GHz/M620
    Graphics:
    Chimera 4.1.0, NVIDIA Quadro FX 880M, 1972X1080
    Oct 12, 2014 at 1:53 AM #3
    sneitzel

    sneitzel

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    Lenovo W510 model 4319RU/Intel QM57 Express Chipset (Chipset: Intel ID0044 Southbridge ID3B07)
    CPU:
    Corei7/2.67GHz/M620
    Graphics:
    Chimera 4.1.0, NVIDIA Quadro FX 880M, 1972X1080
    So the M.2 slot on this board works/is Mac compatible as well?
     
  4. trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,204
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 12, 2014 at 9:40 PM #4
    trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6,204
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Depends on whether the motherboard's bios allows it. That is, if you are trying to boot from that ssd.
    If it's just used for storage then it should work with any motherboard.

    Hopefully we will have some M.2 SSD choices that work in the Buyer's Guide.
     
  5. ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    172
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 12, 2014 at 11:31 PM #5
    ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    172
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I have to agree that it is nice to see MSI boards being looked at. I am running a Z77A-GD55 on stock 1.11 Bios. You shouldn't need to patch the bios to get power management.
     
  6. sneitzel

    sneitzel

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    Lenovo W510 model 4319RU/Intel QM57 Express Chipset (Chipset: Intel ID0044 Southbridge ID3B07)
    CPU:
    Corei7/2.67GHz/M620
    Graphics:
    Chimera 4.1.0, NVIDIA Quadro FX 880M, 1972X1080
    Oct 13, 2014 at 3:31 PM #6
    sneitzel

    sneitzel

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    Lenovo W510 model 4319RU/Intel QM57 Express Chipset (Chipset: Intel ID0044 Southbridge ID3B07)
    CPU:
    Corei7/2.67GHz/M620
    Graphics:
    Chimera 4.1.0, NVIDIA Quadro FX 880M, 1972X1080
    That's really what I was asking I guess, if booting from M.2 works with OSX. Wondering if that has been tested on the gaming 9? I have had my eye on the MSI Gaming 9 MB for a while and was really just waiting to see how OSX compatible it was. That, and for the M.2 SSD prices to become more reasonable...
     
  7. dingl3

    dingl3

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IV Extreme
    CPU:
    i7 2700k
    Graphics:
    Nvidea GTX 480 x 2 SLi
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 21, 2014 at 4:07 PM #7
    dingl3

    dingl3

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IV Extreme
    CPU:
    i7 2700k
    Graphics:
    Nvidea GTX 480 x 2 SLi
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi

    I was ecstatic to see this board been tested and supported as i got one about 4 months ago and have nothing but issues getting it to run smoothly. Im not new to customacs i been building them for about 4 years.

    So i have a few questions, im running the latest firmware from MSI website 1.60. First i do not see any option in cpu features for Intel VT-d, i see the option for Intel Visualization Tech but not the VT-d. I notice from your screen that you have both options available, so im unsure what to do here.

    I downgraded the bios to 1.50 to see if the option is there and still it is not, i have the AC version of the MB same as yourself. Funnily though when i went to 1.50 the CFG Lock option is not there.

    Also this tutorial was written for Mavericks, currently im trying to install Yosemite but seem to be havign a few issues. Have you tried and tested this with Yosemite?

    It seemed to all install first time great upon installation i do the MultiBeast settings. The only setting that i dont see as per your post is the Series 9 fix for Audio but i just assumed that had been inbuilt into the ALC 1150 Codec for new multibeast for Yosemite. Anyway the issue i have is after installing all the Multuibeast codecs and settigns it indeed boots straight from the HD no problems. But then after one reboot it fails to start it doesnt seem to KP at all it just hangs on the Apple loading logo at boot. If i do -x safe mode it boots in ok. -v it seems to hang on some Audio error ill get a screen of this over shortly.

    Hardware im using so you clear on the setup

    MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
    i7 4770k
    32 GB Hyper X 2400 MHz
    2 x ASUS GTX 780 3GB
    Crucial MX100 512GB SSD

    Thanks in advance for any help
     
  8. baby007

    baby007

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Mobo:
    MSI Gaming 7
    CPU:
    i7 4790K 4GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 460 SE V2
    Oct 22, 2014 at 10:11 AM #8
    baby007

    baby007

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Mobo:
    MSI Gaming 7
    CPU:
    i7 4790K 4GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 460 SE V2
    I suggest you go with clover. I was having a whole lot of issues with chimera/chameleon but very few (or not really) with clover.
    I have Gaming 7 and 4790k btw
     
  9. wfj

    wfj

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,200
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z97X-SLI
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 970 OC
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 30, 2014 at 2:48 AM #9
    wfj

    wfj

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,200
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z97X-SLI
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 970 OC
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Were you able to get your system up and running? I just built a new rig with the MSI Z97 Gaming 5 and it's working flawlessly with Yosemite. I'm using BIOS version 1.7 and both of the options listed above are available. The installation didn't require any boot flags, FYI.
     
  10. oger

    oger

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Mobo:
    MSI 7918-001R (Z97 GAMING 3)
    CPU:
    INTEL Core i5-4460
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 31, 2014 at 8:43 AM #10
    oger

    oger

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Mobo:
    MSI 7918-001R (Z97 GAMING 3)
    CPU:
    INTEL Core i5-4460
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Trouble reaching the installer
    I can reach the Chimera boot screen
    In the bios I only changed boot order. And the VT-d Disabled .
    In my version of bios v2.2 I cant disable CFG-Lock, as it is not listed anymore. Is that bad?
    Is there anything else i need to change?

    Boot and boot ignore caches restarts the system a second after the apple logo appears

    Boot Verbose and boot single user loads all the files for a while but then the sytem reboots again

    I tried all the boot flags recommended:
    -x,
    GraphicsEnabler=Yes / No , PCIRootUID=1, maxmem=4096, maxmem=8192, and npci=0x2000

    but nothing helped

    Is this a video problem?
    I have an old Monitor connected through VGA
    but I have the same issue, when my imac is connected as a screen through the Displayport.

    Bios version on the board shows V2.2
    I installed a
    Seagate Video 3.5 HDD ST3000VM002 3Tb drive

    I don't think it is 4k

    I just found someone who had a similar problem.
    It seems I need to disable cfg lock, but it is simply not present in my bios settings.
    :thumbdown:
     

Share This Page