Contribute
Register

Mountain Lion: HD3000/HD4000 with AMD or Nvidia, Working Together

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
Intel 2600k
Graphics
Gigabyte Nvidia 670GTX (2)
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Wow, thank you for the reply. I'll admit I thought I had read all there was on this subject. I have no need for HDMI audio so I had always gone to the manual DSDT edit option.

However, I read through that guide and noticed that I had not put the IMEI entry back in my most recent DSDT. Another problem I had was that I was adding a new device of IGPU with the information for the HD3000 device. I have been using DSDT Editor (likely a very old version now actually) and either it or the user here had a bug where I would search for GFX0/GFX1/IGPU and never found any of them so that is why I created a device myself. It looks like there was a GFX0 all along and was probably causing a nasty conflict too.

I still went with the manual DSDT edit, but used the MaciASL editor and added the IMEI device again. At this moment everything *looks* very good. Way better than I could muster myself. I will try this for a few days and let you know.

Off topic, I chose this route for my video/monitor config because NVidia's Surround option for Windows 8 is terrible. If you enable surround mode it makes all three monitors one gigantic screen which is great for games, not so much for anything else. I figured instead I would just SLI the two NVidia cards to my center monitor and use the side monitors off of the HD3000 for general use. For games I wanted surround on, SoftTH does a pretty respectable job when using a powerful enough GPU or SLI.

Getting this reconfiguration going in the Mac OS was a bit of a challenge for me as you can see ;)

Again, thank you for your help and making me re-read what I assumed was not applicable to me.

I owe you a drink fine sir/madam/person :D

-Shrapnl
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
Intel 2600k
Graphics
Gigabyte Nvidia 670GTX (2)
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, here is hopefully a more useful update now with IOReg's (hopefully).

It works if I use only the right TB port on the mobo. If I plug in both or only the left TB port the left monitor will not come on past the BIOS/EFI and Chimera boot screens. Once the Mac OS loads it shuts off. Further if a display is plugged into the left TB port then the monitor plugged into the right TB port experiences severe graphics problems to the point where it is unusable. Another oddity with just the right TB port is I have to use a Graphics Mode 2560x1440x32 in my boot.plist. If I don't the default GUI resolution of Chimera (1024x768?) persists somehow into the Mac OS for the HD3000 graphics display. The monitor says it is running at 2560x1440 but its as if only the top left 1024x768 is actually visible and just blown up to fill the entire monitor. I can switch display resolutions and it will correctly change including back to the native 2560x1440. For a clean boot though it continues this behavior of only showing the top left once the OS is running if I do not specify a Graphics Mode.

Unfortunately I can't yet get a good IOReg with both TB ports connected as the system is very unusable. I will keep trying. In the interim, here is an IOReg of the Right TB Only (No GTX670's installed), as well as one of the Right TB and using a Display Port connector on one of my GTX670's. Hopefully these may help somehow.

Thanks.

-Shrapnl
 

Attachments

  • Right TB and GTX670.zip
    3.6 MB · Views: 54
  • Right TB Only.zip
    3.6 MB · Views: 54
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
Intel 2600k
Graphics
Gigabyte Nvidia 670GTX (2)
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here is one now using the SL version of IOReg. I had read how to but interpreted it as that the newer version had problems opening files and thought you needed the older (SL) version for opening only not also creating. I will get one with the GTX670's in it if you would like.

Thanks.

-Shrapnl
 

Attachments

  • Right TB HD3000 Only.zip
    570.3 KB · Views: 65

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,092
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here is one now using the SL version of IOReg. I had read how to but interpreted it as that the newer version had problems opening files and thought you needed the older (SL) version for opening only not also creating. I will get one with the GTX670's in it if you would like.
The new version has the problem creating a valid file. Not disrespect intended, an IOReg with one display connected is a no brainer. Need IORegs with two displays; one each on each graphics system and two on HD3000.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
Intel 2600k
Graphics
Gigabyte Nvidia 670GTX (2)
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, it took a few attempts as it is definitely difficult to use with something plugged into the left TB port. I did open them myself so they should not be corrupt either ;)

Thank you again.

-Shrapnl
 

Attachments

  • Both TB HD3000 Only.zip
    572.2 KB · Views: 60
  • Both TB with single DP into one of the two GTX670's.zip
    626.8 KB · Views: 54

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,092
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, it took a few attempts as it is definitely difficult to use with something plugged into the left TB port.
IOReg look fine for the left TB port; may be a hardware problem. Is dual TB and 570/DP the config you want?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2010
Messages
11
Motherboard
Z77A-G45
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
GTX660 + HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I have problem with Z77X-UP5 TH (BIOS F11) + i7-3770K.

HD4000 + Apple Thunderbolt Display 27": OK
GTX260 + Alienware 23": OK
HD4000 (27" TB) + GTX260 (23" DVI): restart while entering desktop (GraphicsInjector=Yes)
HD4000 (27" TB) + GT430 (23" DVI): restart while entering desktop (GraphicsInjector=Yes)

When I set GraphicsInjector=No I don't have reboot but GUI doesn't load.

I'm using Clover r1163, FusionDrive, ML 10.8.3 12D76, iMac13,1 identification and NVidia 304.00.05f02 drivers.
I will try tonight set:
Code:
7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000005006201140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31
 

Attachments

  • HD4000_only.ioreg.zip
    616.7 KB · Views: 55
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
113
Motherboard
GB z97-n
CPU
i3 4370 (refreshed
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 750ti 2GB (black Edition
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the info in here.

I'm running a Asus p8z77 m-pro (3770k), 2 monitors, one hdtv. I can get it to work, but I want my gtx 570 to power my main display (dell u2412) and my second monitor. My intel hd4000 to power my hdtv which wont be used on a regular basis.

Currently the intel hd 4000 didn't get injected so no kext is running. It works fine for what I want, but the only problem I have is when it sleeps the pc hangs on the hdtv thats plugged into the hd 4000.

My question would be, theoretically if I got the hd 4000 to inject would this most likely fix my sleep issue? I have no experience with the injection or dtst process, but if it will work, I will give it a shot.

monitor 1: dvi (gtx 570)
monitor 2: dvi (gtx 570)
monitor 3: hdmi (intel hd 4000)
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
113
Motherboard
GB z97-n
CPU
i3 4370 (refreshed
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 750ti 2GB (black Edition
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the info in here.

I'm running a Asus p8z77 m-pro (3770k), 2 monitors, one hdtv. I can get it to work, but I want my gtx 570 to power my main display (dell u2412) and my second monitor. My intel hd4000 to power my hdtv which wont be used on a regular basis.

Currently the intel hd 4000 didn't get injected so no kext is running. It works fine for what I want, but the only problem I have is when it sleeps the pc hangs on the hdtv thats plugged into the hd 4000.

My question would be, theoretically if I got the hd 4000 to inject would this most likely fix my sleep issue? I have no experience with the injection or dtst process, but if it will work, I will give it a shot.

monitor 1: dvi (gtx 570)
monitor 2: dvi (gtx 570)
monitor 3: hdmi (intel hd 4000)


Got the hd4000 kext working. Sleep works, but when it wakes it hangs and monitors stay black. Any advice?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top