Contribute
Register

macOS Big Sur Does NOT Boot with iMac14,2 System Definition

Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,723
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, I'm a little puzzled. Looking at EveryMac.Com, the spec for iMac19,2 shows "Core i3" 3.6 21.5-Inch Aluminum (Retina 4K, 2019/Coffee Lake) features a 14-nm "Coffee Lake" 3.6 GHz Intel "Core i3" processor (I3-8100). Using Clover Config, the iMac19,2 shows iMac (21.5 inch, Retina 4K, 2019) | Intel Core i7-8700, at 3.20 Ghz. Looking at iMac19,1 on both sites shows an Intel Core i9-9900K @ 3.6 Ghz. If Everymac is correct, then the 19,2 might be the best fit for the i3 chip. Am I correct, and can I use this selection in Clover Config?
Most all the system definitions I listed would work just fine with your system. However, the closest matching one would be the mac mini 8,1 because you are running IGPU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 HD3P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I can't go to safe mode so,
I can't disable SIP so,
I can't change my model identifier from 14.1 so,
I can't upgrade to Big Sur so,
I won't be able to sleep tonight!!

I have tried all reason methods to go to safe mode, but nothing works. I must has rebooted 100+ times trying. My specifics: Gigabyte Z370 HD3P, i7-8700K, RX 580, OS 10.15.7, clover R5119.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
ga-z270x-ud5
CPU
i3-7350k
Graphics
rx570
I can't go to safe mode so,
I can't disable SIP so,
I can't change my model identifier from 14.1 so,
I can't upgrade to Big Sur so,
I won't be able to sleep tonight!!

I have tried all reason methods to go to safe mode, but nothing works. I must has rebooted 100+ times trying. My specifics: Gigabyte Z370 HD3P, i7-8700K, RX 580, OS 10.15.7, clover R5119.
You can't use clover configurator and change CsrActiveConfigs under RtVariables to 67 to disable SIP?
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 HD3P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
translate please
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
x58 extreme
CPU
intel
Graphics
Intel 15 6500
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey guys, I'm running the latest Catalina and I have a dual monitor setup using an Nvidia GT-650 graphics card on a Sandy Bridge 2600K on a Gigabyte Z68X board. No other system definition besides 14,2 works with my dual monitor setup.

I've tried the following;

15,1
17,1
19,1
5,1
6,1
13,1
13,2
8,2

If you guys work with dual monitor setups and have a suggestion, I would greatly appreciate it.
Also, I guess this is a clue I need to upgrade my system. lol.
I can help you out with the dual monitor issue. I've got no issues with that on many installs and configs..

Currently, on this laptop, which is a Dell E6430, I'm running a native Intel HD Graphics 4000, i5-3320M (IvyBridge 2.5 GHZ). I have at the moment on this clean install of Catalina 10.15.7 which I just did a couple hours ago. It started off with 2048 MB VRAM .The most I've had it up to are 3072 MB VRAM. But I didn't really notice much of a difference though performance wise.

Anyhow, this is my first post so I assume I can send you screenshots. Basically, your problem is going to be in your configuration plist settings under your Device Properties/Add/PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0). You're going to want to adjust your AAPL,ig-platform-id and add a few other framebuffer settings in there that will most likley solve your problem.

Post a screenshot of your config.plist and your EFI Folder. I can either tell you whats wrong, or I can just make you an EFI Folder on the spot with the adjustments that will correct the issues which I'm pretty sure that your having. I'll respond in the same day and get this solved. I know first hand what its like dealing with these endless issues, and I know other people have too had to deal with a lot more than me .

Anyhow, I got some wisdom from all that, and I'll be glad to help anyone that may need or use my help as we all learn from each other to begin with.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-01-10 at 11.06.26 pm.png
    Screenshot 2021-01-10 at 11.06.26 pm.png
    259.3 KB · Views: 26
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can help you out with the dual monitor issue. I've got no issues with that on many installs and configs..

Currently, on this laptop, which is a Dell E6430, I'm running a native Intel HD Graphics 4000, i5-3320M (IvyBridge 2.5 GHZ). I have at the moment on this clean install of Catalina 10.15.7 which I just did a couple hours ago. It started off with 2048 MB VRAM .The most I've had it up to are 3072 MB VRAM. But I didn't really notice much of a difference though performance wise.

Anyhow, this is my first post so I assume I can send you screenshots. Basically, your problem is going to be in your configuration plist settings under your Device Properties/Add/PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0). You're going to want to adjust your AAPL,ig-platform-id and add a few other framebuffer settings in there that will most likley solve your problem.

Post a screenshot of your config.plist and your EFI Folder. I can either tell you whats wrong, or I can just make you an EFI Folder on the spot with the adjustments that will correct the issues which I'm pretty sure that your having. I'll respond in the same day and get this solved. I know first hand what its like dealing with these endless issues, and I know other people have too had to deal with a lot more than me .

Anyhow, I got some wisdom from all that, and I'll be glad to help anyone that may need or use my help as we all learn from each other to begin with.
Thank you, my friend. I'll give it a try and I'll report back accordingly.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2017
Messages
14
Motherboard
Dell 7010
CPU
i7-2600
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Try SMBios iMac 15,1

It works on a Dell 7010, i7-2600 (it fit in the LG1155 slot!) Sandy bridge with NVIDIA GT710.


Screenshot 2021-02-02 at 19.30.32.png


It's guaranteed, the cheapest Big Sur build available.
 
Top