Intel i7 6700 Skylake CPU + 100 series motherboard into iMac 27" mono block

Discussion in 'iMac Mods' started by Vovanych0, Sep 6, 2016.

  1. Vovanych0

    Vovanych0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    661-5577 MC511LL/A, A1312, EMC 2390
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 870
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD5750
    Sep 6, 2016 at 8:38 PM #1
    Vovanych0

    Vovanych0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    661-5577 MC511LL/A, A1312, EMC 2390
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 870
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD5750
    Hi all,
    I have iMac 27" of mid 2010 with i7 870 CPU, 12GB RAM and 2TB HDD, running on Mavericks OS X 10.9.5. Not upgrading because I am not sure about compatibility with my other equipment.
    I use it for audio recording and mixing with Mackie Onyx 1640i as an external audio card/mixer connected via Firewire 800.
    Now that my HDD is nearly full I started to think of the second HDD or SSD or both. The easiest way of course is just to add both inside the Mac. But on the other side more speed and processing power is also desirable.
    With today`s USB 3.0 & 3.1, Thunderbolt 2,3, SATA III I can add additional memory externally + other devices... but my existing configuration supports only USB 2, SATA II & Firewire 800 (((
    So I am thinking in the direction of Intel i7 6700 Skylake CPU + GA-Z170 series motherboard + 32-64GB RAM.
    As long as I do not need any new graphics I`d better stay with iMac 27' monitor, existing Radeon HD5750 card, Wi Fi, Bluetooth, mono block case, etc.
    Finally)) my questions:
    1) Has anyone tried to install new motherboard inside iMac housing? I am ready to use my Dremel to cut out extra slots in the casing and take out HDD, Optical drive etc to free additional space. Maybe the old power supply, fans and cooler can be used?
    2) If it is not possible, is there a way to assemble new CustoMac in a separate case - just motherboard with CPU, RAM and power supply and connect it somehow to the existing Mac? And use as one system?
    3) How can I keep Firewire in two cases combination?

    Thanks for your advices
     
  2. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9,639
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 6, 2016 at 11:56 PM #2
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9,639
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2016
  3. neilhart

    neilhart Moderator

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,532
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG Strix Z270I Gaming
    CPU:
    i3-7350K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 770
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 8, 2016 at 2:00 AM #3
    neilhart

    neilhart Moderator

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,532
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG Strix Z270I Gaming
    CPU:
    i3-7350K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 770
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Vovanych0 I am fairly certain that you would not be successful in the project as outlined.

    However have you looked at using your 27” iMac in the “target display mode”? There is an Apple support document here: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204592

    Maybe the solution is to build a Skylake system and run with the iMac in the target display mode. With a conventional PC tower case you would be able to upgrade and reconfigure the system as your needs change.

    Good modding,

    neil
     
    voidfahrenheit likes this.
  4. Vovanych0

    Vovanych0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    661-5577 MC511LL/A, A1312, EMC 2390
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 870
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD5750
    Sep 8, 2016 at 9:48 AM #4
    Vovanych0

    Vovanych0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    661-5577 MC511LL/A, A1312, EMC 2390
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 870
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD5750
    Neil, thanks.
    I don`t think that using iMac as a display only will be rational.
    My priorities are in the following order:
    1) To use the existing iMac components in it`s housing with the replacement of mo bo and CPU only.
    2) To assemble kind of minimalistic configuration - CPU, mo bo, power supply, cooler in a separate case (preferably mini ITX or even smaller) and to connect it to iMac - the main problem here is connection - maybe anyone has tried this? Or how is it possible in theory?
    3) And only as last resort to build the full system in a PC tower case.
    But should it be the only possibility, then I would rather buy a separate 27'' display and.... sell my iMac !!!
     
  5. voidfahrenheit

    voidfahrenheit

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    170
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus Viii Gene
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Evga 980Ti Classified
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 18, 2016 at 9:56 AM #5
    voidfahrenheit

    voidfahrenheit

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    170
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus Viii Gene
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Evga 980Ti Classified
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi Vovanych0! I am thinking of the same as my boss gave me his defective iMac 2009. still wanna know if it's really defective or only HDD problem. If I confirmed that the board is the main problem, then I'll just follow what Neilhart said...I'll use it as a target display for my G5 mod. but haven't tried it yet.

    my next option is to switch the put the led panel of my Asus VG278HE inside the iMac 2009. XD but most probably not.
    I really want to have a 1440p resolution.

    Hope you will be successful with your plan. i suggest use an itx motherboard and low profile rams and a pcie riser for the gpu if you want to put one.

    For the connection, i will follow your build to get idea too. XD
     
  6. pit512

    pit512

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
    CPU:
    Core i7 6700K @4.6GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 970 Windforce
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 18, 2016 at 1:18 PM #6
    pit512

    pit512

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
    CPU:
    Core i7 6700K @4.6GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 970 Windforce
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Voidfahrenheit, note that your iMac needs to be functional (system must be running) to enable Target Display...
     
  7. Vovanych0

    Vovanych0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    661-5577 MC511LL/A, A1312, EMC 2390
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 870
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD5750
    Sep 18, 2016 at 2:53 PM #7
    Vovanych0

    Vovanych0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    661-5577 MC511LL/A, A1312, EMC 2390
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 870
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD5750
    Hi Voidfahrenheit and all!
    I have not yet arrived at any definite decision which way to go, but found out several options/possibilities:
    Option 1 - new MB+CPU+RAM to be used in existing iMac housing with existing display, power supply, fans, Wifi, Blutooth adapters, camera, loudspeakers. Here we need to understand whether we can insert new equipment into the old space physically and how to connect it first of all to the LCD:
    1) If a new MB supports USB 3.0 and USB 3.1, Thunderbolt 3, then HDD and optical disc can be moved outside of the iMac case. With Apple logic board, HDD and DVD out there will be space enough not only for a ITX or mATX but for an ATX MB (length x width = 304x244mm).The only concern will be the height (thickness).
    With a low profile DDR and SSD into a M.2 slot a new MB (presumably Gigabyte GA Z170X- UD5 TH) will be within 40 mm, while the inside of the case is more than 50mm in the middle area.
    2) In iMac 27" A 1312 an LG manufactured LCD display LM27OWQ1 (2560x1440 pixels) is used in conjunction with LED inverter, and a 30 pin JAE FI-X30SSL-HF connector to the Apple logic board where the video controller is incorporated. So the task is to find a controller used with LG display in non -Apple monitors.
    I found a
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/DisplayPort...SDA2-LM270WQ1-SDB1-2560-1440-DP-/371341924001
    But although it is stated that it is exactly for the LM27OWQ1 display it uses 26 pins which do not correspond to the 30 pin configuration of the display.
    I attach both pin configurations - maybe anyone can comment or advise which controller to use with the
    LM27OWQ1 display?

    Maybe this one? Does anyone have more technical info on it?
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/HDMI-DVI-VG...24120?pt=US_Server_Boards&hash=item19df01deb8

    I don`t think there will be problems in connecting WiFi and Bluetoth adapters. Even if the Mac ones will not fit we can use quite cheap intended for the PC board with flexible extension cables to fit them into iMac body..

    3) Of course there is a question of imputs/outputs. On the Apple logic board they are perpendicular (90 degrees) to the MB. In PC boards they are in parallel to the board. The decision here may be to orientate the new MB with the I/Os going through the right side where there is a slot for optical disc and card reader. In such MB placement we will have the DDR slots practically in the center of the case where it is most roomy!
    Of course we will need to cut new holes on the side. But we can use a backside shield which comes with every MB to nicely close all I/Os.
    Another decision here is to use extensions to the existing I/Os but in any case we will need to add several more cuttings for the USB 3, USB 3.1 type C.
    By the way we can keep the existing FireWire 800 - we will need a FiWi controller with a flexible PCI-e ribbon extension cable - for example like this one
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/3-Ports-Fir...910742?hash=item20d5434b96:g:uikAAOxyqGdR49ba

    Option 2 is to use a NUC6i7KYK which is 211x116x28 mm !!! and will easily fit into the place of the Apple MB and you can even keep HDD and DVD in place. It has already WiFi and Bluetooth on board, but.... it will be nearly 2 times more expensive !
     

    Attached Files:

    • 30pin LM270WQ1 .jpg  (301 KB, 87 views)
    • DisplayPort для 27 «LM270WQ1-SDA2 LM270WQ1-SDB1 2560 * 1440 DP.jpg  (164.5 KB, 88 views)
  8. Danois

    Danois

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Dec 27, 2016 at 12:30 PM #8
    Danois

    Danois

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I've been thinking about something similar to what you are.

    I want to use a ITX Board for the i5-4670 (from a 2011 iMac), and install my current GTX 1070 in it.
    I was planning to use my current Samsung display, as it's a lot thinner and most likely easier to make it work. Problem is cabling from the GFX to the monitor - i'll need a short HDMI cable, but should be doable.

    About the I/O issue you're mentioning, i was thinking about getting panel mount extension ports, like this: http://www.datapro.net/products/coupler-panel-mount-cat6.html

    And using these http://www.frozencpu.com/products/8...le_-_38_Clip_Style_-_Black.html?tl=g44c34s806 and http://www.frozencpu.com/products/2...Stealth_-_24-Pin_-_Black_.html?tl=g44c34s2206 for cable management.

    Power Supply, i found some 1U power supplies on eBay at around $75-$100 at 500W, which should be enough to power it all, maybe except the panel.

    My problem is fitting it all in there, and finding sufficient cooling for the CPU. I was thinking about using the original CPU heatsink, but that's installed at an angle, which makes connecting the GFX a bit of a challenge.


    Let me know if you have any thoughts or questions. :)

    If you have any measurements of the iMac case, i'd love to get them from you, as mine are very unprecise! :-/
     
  9. Vovanych0

    Vovanych0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    661-5577 MC511LL/A, A1312, EMC 2390
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 870
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD5750
    Dec 27, 2016 at 3:43 PM #9
    Vovanych0

    Vovanych0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    661-5577 MC511LL/A, A1312, EMC 2390
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 870
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD5750
    Here is iMac 27" mid 2010 layout without display.
    Width is 650 mm, height 448 mm measured between the outer edges. Depth is 26 mm at the edges. In the middle approximately 55 mm.
     

    Attached Files:

    • layout1.jpg  (964.5 KB, 144 views)
  10. Danois

    Danois

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Dec 27, 2016 at 11:42 PM #10
    Danois

    Danois

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks mate. I'll see if I have an empty case to make some more measurements.

    Cause those numbers is excluding panel and glass thickness I reckon.

    RAM will probably be a challenge as well, unless it's possible to get some itx board with SO-DIMM modules..

    Also, about cooling I was thinking about the Corsair H5 SF, and replacing the tubing so it's more flexible. That might work I think.

    I'll keep you posted, and looking forward to read more about your project too! :)
     

Share This Page