Contribute
Register

Intel HD520 on Toshiba Satellite Pro A50-C

unb

Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
2
I am working on getting the above laptop to work with QE/CI for the Intel HD520.

The computer specifications are:

Model: Toshiba Satellite Pro A50-C
CPU: Intel i5-6200U
Graphics Card: Integrated HD 520

I have tried the following "solutions" leading to the same kernel panic over and over again:

ig-platform: 0x19160000 <---- kernel panic
ig-platform: 0x19160002 <---- kernel panic
DVMT-alloc: [find: 39cf763c --> replace: 9cf773c] (as per this guide: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-intel-hd-graphics-5500-on-os-x-yosemite-10-10-3.162062/) + [ig-platform: 0x19160000/2] <---- kernel panic

I am currently running out of options that I can find on the internet, hence the opening post.

The installation was installed with Unibeast 7.x for macOS Sierra with FakeSMC + Voodoo2PSController installed.

ig-platform: 0x00000000 boots perfectly fine though with only 7MB of VRAM and slow graphic processing, -v on boot shows an error message : [IGPU] Graphics driver failed to load:could not register with Framebuffer driver.

I will add the kernel panic log later on.

Edit:B6dAZkn.jpg
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,419
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am working on getting the above laptop to work with QE/CI for the Intel HD520.

The computer specifications are:

Model: Toshiba Satellite Pro A50-C
CPU: Intel i5-6200U
Graphics Card: Integrated HD 520

I have tried the following "solutions" leading to the same kernel panic over and over again:

ig-platform: 0x19160000 <---- kernel panic
ig-platform: 0x19160002 <---- kernel panic
DVMT-alloc: [find: 39cf763c --> replace: 9cf773c] (as per this guide: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-intel-hd-graphics-5500-on-os-x-yosemite-10-10-3.162062/) + [ig-platform: 0x19160000/2] <---- kernel panic

I am currently running out of options that I can find on the internet, hence the opening post.

The installation was installed with Unibeast 7.x for macOS Sierra with FakeSMC + Voodoo2PSController installed.

ig-platform: 0x00000000 boots perfectly fine though with only 7MB of VRAM and slow graphic processing, -v on boot shows an error message : [IGPU] Graphics driver failed to load:could not register with Framebuffer driver.

I will add the kernel panic log later on.

Edit:B6dAZkn.jpg
The minStolenSize patch is different for 10.12 vs. 10.11. Trying to use a patch for 10.11 with 10.12 will not work.
It is best that you set DVMT-prealloc as required. See FAQ: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 

unb

Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
2
I have tried the following guide for the graphics sections but still gives me the same kernel panic.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-dell-inspiron-i5559-on-macos-sierra-gm.203688/

Fixing Intel HD 520 Graphics
There are 2 ways to fix the graphics on this machine. Please note that setting the DVMT-Prealloc is recommended although it involves editing the BIOS through a UEFI Shell, so if you're not comfortable with that please use the minStolenSize patch method.
1. Use one of the following following methods to fix the graphics
1. Put ig-platform-id 0x12345678 in clover to boot into the OS
2. Add the minStolenSize Patch for Sierra from here through Clover Configurator
3. Force load AppleIntelSKLGraphicsFramebuffer.kext through the ForceKextsToLoad area in Clover Configurator
3. Boot MacOS Sierra WITHOUT CACHES
4. After booting to rebuild cache by entering "sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u /" into the Terminal
5. Replace ig-platform-id 0x12345678 with normal 0x19160000
2.Reboot without using FakeID for clover in Graphics(i.e FakeID set to "0x00000000")
3. Your Graphics should be working now, verify by going to "About This Mac" and ensuring that your graphics card and 1500mb of graphics memory is displayed correctly.
4. Please note that there is a small graphics glitching on the top left of the screen on the menu bar. This is a known issue in MacOS Sierra. Use the dark theme for the menu bar and it will be barely noticeable.
EDIT: Yay, got it working. Forgot to Enable the ForceKextsToLoad :banghead:.
 
Last edited:
Top