Contribute
Register

HP ProBook Installer 6.1: 4x30s and 4x40s support

Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
HP Probook 4530S
CPU
Intel Core i3 2350M 2.3GHz
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The external monitor is connected with hdmi. The internal lcd is completely broken and does not show anything. I plan to use it as a desktop.

I have given up, reinstalled Mountain Lion and am currently booting with the installer usb with -x. It works for now. I have ordered a replacement cpu from eBay, and will reinstall when it arrives. Hopefully I can then follow the guide without any issues.

Thanks for all your help!
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Messages
110
Motherboard
GA-H61N-USB3
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K, Apple, LC, Plus, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, SE/30
Mobile Phone
Android
Any chance of a Yosemite upgrade for the 4530s?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
HP Probook 4530S
CPU
Intel Core i3 2350M 2.3GHz
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
OK! So my replacement cpu has arrived. I have installed it and checked in BIOS that it really is an i3 2.3GHz this time.

I have tried this:

I have been running Mountain Lion, booting from the installer USB since I gave up. I have not run any ProBook Installer on that. Today I ran the PBI with all the suggested settings. It succeeded.

I can now boot it without the -x option. It boots with and Apple-logo showing, but when the login should appear, the screen goes to sleep. I suppose it switches to the internal lcd for login, but that is broken and I cannot use that.

I can login to the computer using vnc from my macbook, and I checked out the display settings. The strange this, is that it actually shows my Dell 19" monitor as the screen. It doesn't show the internal lcd at all, no mirror or extend functions.

How can I get the installation to use only my external monitor?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,259
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK! So my replacement cpu has arrived. I have installed it and checked in BIOS that it really is an i3 2.3GHz this time.

I have tried this:

I have been running Mountain Lion, booting from the installer USB since I gave up. I have not run any ProBook Installer on that. Today I ran the PBI with all the suggested settings. It succeeded.

I can now boot it without the -x option. It boots with and Apple-logo showing, but when the login should appear, the screen goes to sleep. I suppose it switches to the internal lcd for login, but that is broken and I cannot use that.

I can login to the computer using vnc from my macbook, and I checked out the display settings. The strange this, is that it actually shows my Dell 19" monitor as the screen. It doesn't show the internal lcd at all, no mirror or extend functions.

How can I get the installation to use only my external monitor?
Try using a desktop snb-platform-id.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
HP Probook 4530S
CPU
Intel Core i3 2350M 2.3GHz
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I got it working. In a way...

If I do not press Fn+F4 at boot for the external display to show the HP logo + boot process, it works. The screen stays black, until the logonscreen appears. Then the screen wakes up and everything works.

If I press Fn+F4 at boot the screen goes to sleep when the loginscreen should have appeared.

I can live with that!

Thanks for all the help!
 
Joined
May 8, 2010
Messages
22
Motherboard
HP ProBook 6460b (Clover)
CPU
i7
Graphics
HD3000, 1366x768
Mobile Phone
iOS
I just bought a used hp 6460b laptop secondhand. Thanks to 6.1.13 installer, the maverick install went very well :)
Thank you!
Before the osx install I made some small changes: HDD to SSD, BIOS upgrade to F60, and WIFI card changed to BCM 943224 HMS (HP). So no whitelist problem at all. I found that FireWire and SD card reader does not work together, so I must switch the ports in BIOS. That is OK...
But, the bluetooth is far from perfect.
I can not use my apple magic trackpad nor the keyboard. I tried to add my vendor and product IDs to IOBluetoothFamily.kext/plugins/BroadcomBluetoothHostControllerUSBTransport.kext .
Is there any solution? Vendor is (0x03F0) - 1008, Product is (0x231D) - 8989 ...

Otherwise it works perfectly, and fast !

I did not tried the Display/HDMI port yet... I do hope it will work.
I have no camera (yet). I wish to upgrade my display with webcam, and the resolution to dual link... Is is true that only a dual link cable can add higher resolution ?

Hoping your reaction! Thank you!
 
Joined
May 8, 2010
Messages
22
Motherboard
HP ProBook 6460b (Clover)
CPU
i7
Graphics
HD3000, 1366x768
Mobile Phone
iOS
just a small question.
In the generated DSDT I found 4 warnings : Wait (F4EV, 0x0500) warning is: 4293, 1105, Possible operator timeout is ignored
I have changed the 0x0500 to 0xffff is it correct? Anyway the warnings have gone. :)


(ProBook installer 6.1.13)
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,259
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
just a small question.
In the generated DSDT I found 4 warnings : Wait (F4EV, 0x0500) warning is: 4293, 1105, Possible operator timeout is ignored
I have changed the 0x0500 to 0xffff is it correct? Anyway the warnings have gone. :)


(ProBook installer 6.1.13)
No need to fix warnings.
 
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
39
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Kext removed and here is the image of the tree I am pasting from:
View attachment 45729
Code:
[B]USB High-Speed Bus:[/B]

  Host Controller Location:    Built-in USB
  Host Controller Driver:    AppleUSBEHCI
  PCI Device ID:    0x1e26 
  PCI Revision ID:    0x0004 
  PCI Vendor ID:    0x8086 
  Bus Number:    0x1d 


[B]Hub:[/B]


  Product ID:    0x0024
  Vendor ID:    0x8087  (Intel Corporation)
  Version:     0.00
  Speed:    Up to 480 Mb/sec
  Location ID:    0x1d100000 / 2
  Current Available (mA):    500
  Current Required (mA):    0


[B]Bluetooth USB Host Controller:[/B]


  Product ID:    0x3002
  Vendor ID:    0x0cf3  (Atheros Communications, Inc.)
  Version:     0.01
  Speed:    Up to 12 Mb/sec
  Location ID:    0x1d160000 / 3
  Current Available (mA):    500
  Current Required (mA):    100
and the second

Code:
[B]USB High-Speed Bus:[/B]

  Host Controller Location:    Built-in USB
  Host Controller Driver:    AppleUSBEHCI
  PCI Device ID:    0x7f9800001e2d 
  PCI Revision ID:    0x7f9800000004 
  PCI Vendor ID:    0x7f9800008086 
  Bus Number:    0x1a 


[B]Hub:[/B]


  Product ID:    0x0024
  Vendor ID:    0x8087  (Intel Corporation)
  Version:     0.00
  Speed:    Up to 480 Mb/sec
  Location ID:    0x1a100000 / 2
  Current Available (mA):    500
  Current Required (mA):    0


[B]Vendor-Specific Device:[/B]


  Product ID:    0x003d
  Vendor ID:    0x138a
  Version:     1.04
  Serial Number:    00a0e44f0c8d
  Speed:    Up to 12 Mb/sec
  Location ID:    0x1a110000 / 4
  Current Available (mA):    500
  Current Required (mA):    Unknown (Device has not been configured)


[B]HP HD Webcam [Fixed]:[/B]


  Product ID:    0x2c2a
  Vendor ID:    0x1bcf  (Sunplus Innovation Technology Inc.)
  Version:    24.02
  Speed:    Up to 480 Mb/sec
  Manufacturer:    DDEJL019I3M5G1
  Location ID:    0x1a130000 / 3
  Current Available (mA):    500
  Current Required (mA):    500
What exactly is it that IOath3kfrmwr does again?

How did you get that HP HD Webcam fixed? Is it another device? My webcam in the HP laptop looks the same as your vendor specific device and I'm wondering whether you got it working?
 
Top