Has anyone ever attempted a imac G3 casemod?

Discussion in 'iMac Mods' started by zpowell1, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. Metalsonic20

    Metalsonic20

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 25, 2013 at 10:23 PM #31
    Metalsonic20

    Metalsonic20

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I've been talking to my friend, and he said he'd be willing to help on an iMac G3 project. We have to discuss funds still, and ask our parents. (we're not living alone yet)
     
  2. rick26

    rick26

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-170X-UD3\ Define R5 Case\ HP 8200 Elite SFF
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K \ i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Evga Geforce GTX970 FTW \ MSI GT710
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 25, 2013 at 10:42 PM #32
    rick26

    rick26

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-170X-UD3\ Define R5 Case\ HP 8200 Elite SFF
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K \ i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Evga Geforce GTX970 FTW \ MSI GT710
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Wel that would be great!

    Me too, I still live with my parents.


    Rick,
     
  3. rick26

    rick26

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-170X-UD3\ Define R5 Case\ HP 8200 Elite SFF
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K \ i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Evga Geforce GTX970 FTW \ MSI GT710
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 26, 2013 at 6:46 PM #33
    rick26

    rick26

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-170X-UD3\ Define R5 Case\ HP 8200 Elite SFF
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K \ i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Evga Geforce GTX970 FTW \ MSI GT710
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    My G3 just arived!

    I have already updated the ram to 512Mb.

    And now I make a Tiger install dvd.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Rick,
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2016
  4. Metalsonic20

    Metalsonic20

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 27, 2013 at 1:20 AM #34
    Metalsonic20

    Metalsonic20

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    While this technically wouldn't be a Hackintosh, it would still count as a casemod if my friend and I took an iMac G3 and put a C2D Mac mini in it, with LCD, and setting up the ports and all that crap, wouldn't it?
     
  5. rick26

    rick26

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-170X-UD3\ Define R5 Case\ HP 8200 Elite SFF
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K \ i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Evga Geforce GTX970 FTW \ MSI GT710
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 27, 2013 at 1:13 PM #35
    rick26

    rick26

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-170X-UD3\ Define R5 Case\ HP 8200 Elite SFF
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K \ i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Evga Geforce GTX970 FTW \ MSI GT710
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hmm nehh don't think so..

    but you can put in a Intel DQ77KB with i3-3225 then it would be a great machine!:D

    Rick,
     
  6. Metalsonic20

    Metalsonic20

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 27, 2013 at 10:46 PM #36
    Metalsonic20

    Metalsonic20

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    whispers(Yeah, but it's cheaper, so :p. Plus, I'll finally own a real Mac.)
     
  7. potemkin

    potemkin

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    740
    Mobo:
    gigabyte ga-b75m-d3v
    CPU:
    3350p
    Graphics:
    galaxy gt 640
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Apr 7, 2013 at 4:20 PM #37
    potemkin

    potemkin

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    740
    Mobo:
    gigabyte ga-b75m-d3v
    CPU:
    3350p
    Graphics:
    galaxy gt 640
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    I am sure someone has attempted this mod.
    I remember reading thread. I used to be able to pick these up for $25.
    The main drawback is curved front.
    Some G4 mods (flower pot) were able to salvage display for Hackintosh. Not simple !!

    But with thin board and that has flat screen outputs possible. There is a thread that hints at coding needed for LVDS.
    I had an Apple CRT I was thinking of gutting and turning into Hack.
    It did not look like a good idea then because of power supply.
    It still might work now with thin board.

    Search on AIO all in ones.
     
  8. spadefist2

    spadefist2

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Asus P7H57D-V EVO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-880
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 21, 2013 at 1:36 PM #38
    spadefist2

    spadefist2

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Asus P7H57D-V EVO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-880
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm actually in (fingers crossed) final stages of an iMac G3 hackintosh mod, I've essentially put the CustoMac Mini Deluxe in an old G3 I bought and gutted (actually 2 x G3's as the internal (sh!tty grey plastic) screen surround was knackered on the first one, as was the power button). I'm also switching the CRT for an LCD that has inbuilt amp/speakers, I'm reusing the iMac speakers and I'm driving them with the LCD amp. I'm just waiting on a HDMI to D-Sub adaptor for the display and I still need to figure out the wiring for the mic.

    If anyone's interested I'm sure I could post some pics...

    Steve
     
  9. minihack

    minihack

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Mobo:
    Zotac Z77-ITX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    Integrated HD 3000 + MSI Twin Frozr GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Jun 22, 2013 at 2:19 PM #39
    minihack

    minihack

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Mobo:
    Zotac Z77-ITX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    Integrated HD 3000 + MSI Twin Frozr GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    What do you mean if anyone's interested??? Of course we are. Post 'em! Why not start a new thread though?
     
  10. Olli73

    Olli73

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 OSX10.6.8 & 10.9.2
    CPU:
    i5 2500k@3.6GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS EN210 Silent DI 1GD3/V2 LP 1024MB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 22, 2013 at 2:50 PM #40
    Olli73

    Olli73

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 OSX10.6.8 & 10.9.2
    CPU:
    i5 2500k@3.6GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS EN210 Silent DI 1GD3/V2 LP 1024MB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Uhm, what were we rambling about yesterday again, David? :lol:

    Could this be a new trend?

    I think, apart from the screen-problem, these G3s are quite well suited, at least as far as cooling is concerned. Got those nice grips/ ventilation-slits on top... I´ve been thinking some on what to do about cooling if i were to start on my eMac.
     

Share This Page