Has anyone ever attempted a imac G3 casemod?

Discussion in 'iMac Mods' started by zpowell1, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. minihack

    minihack

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Mobo:
    Zotac Z77-ITX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    Integrated HD 3000 + MSI Twin Frozr GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Jun 23, 2013 at 8:46 PM #41
    minihack

    minihack

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Mobo:
    Zotac Z77-ITX
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    Integrated HD 3000 + MSI Twin Frozr GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Ha!

    I have had one of these sat on top of my wardrobe for the last 3 years since it was taken out of service.

    But mine is not going to happen anytime soon.:)
     
  2. spadefist2

    spadefist2

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Asus P7H57D-V EVO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-880
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 24, 2013 at 12:08 PM #42
    spadefist2

    spadefist2

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Asus P7H57D-V EVO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-880
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ok here are some pics of the project thus far... I wasn't documenting the earlier stages of the build, hence my numerous f*** ups aren't shown :D also I have been very dremmel-happy in places which has resulted in having to purchase a 2nd 15" LCD. In short once I'd cut everything into shape I noticed two lines on the screen making it unacceptable, luckily the guy who sold the screen on eBay had another for sale.

    2nd Donor iMac (it was already dead, the first one wasn't but I salvaged parts and re-distributed)
    IMG_0332.jpg
    Donor LCD (2nd one)
    IMG_0328.jpg
    The first iMac had been dropped and hence the inner plastic (sh!tty grey stuff) had shattered, I attempted a fix but the power button was also FUBAR'd hence iMac 2 was needed. Bar this in mind if you plan a mod yourself!
    IMG_0336.jpg
    Underside of the metal separator shelf with the hacked to pieces ATX PSU attached (I had planned on getting an iTX PSU but couldn't get one that would fit and ship to the UK!)
    IMG_0316.jpg
    The SATA cables run between the PSU and the separator and the pop up thru a natural hole
    IMG_0317.jpg
    I also cut a hole in the separator (where the CPU cooler attached) and routed the ATX and 12V power thru it
    IMG_0321.jpg
    Next was connecting the power button, PWR PED and speakers via the nice 26 pin connector Apple left for me :) (pin out if here http://etech.dyndns.org/index.php?page=vcr.php)
    IMG_0323.jpg
    LCD stripped naked, I've kept most of the LCD mounting plate although significant hack-sawing/dremmel-ing was required to get it to fit...
    IMG_0329.jpg
    LCD Amp connected to the iMac speakers and powered up and working (also you can see the LED working - this made me very happy as I had a 'blonde moment' with ground connections...)
    IMG_0294.jpg
    I also (sloppily) customised the side panel:
    IMG_0314.jpg
    Once I figure out final placings of everything I will need to mount the below to the side panel, also I need to figure out how to connect the side panel as previously it attached via the iMac logic board... any ideas?
    IMG_0330.jpg
    The two halves waiting to be slapped back together
    IMG_0331.jpg IMG_0335.jpg
    Finally a request for you all, I created the below in an attempt to get the iMac microphone working, however it's a stab in the dark because I don't know what the microphone is expecting on it's 3 wires (red, white, black) does anyone have any ideas? It would be nice to get this working but pretty non-essential
    IMG_0325.jpg
    Other than the microphone cable I'm just waiting on the d-Sub to HDMI cable so I can hopefully shortcut the this (http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/101878-forcing-1024x768x32-intel-hd-graphics-4000-a.html) problem and then it's ready to be finished.

    hope you enjoy
    Steve
     

    Attached Files:

    • IMG_0334.jpg  (1 MB, 177 views)
  3. Olli73

    Olli73

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 OSX10.6.8 & 10.9.2
    CPU:
    i5 2500k@3.6GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS EN210 Silent DI 1GD3/V2 LP 1024MB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 24, 2013 at 12:33 PM #43
    Olli73

    Olli73

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 OSX10.6.8 & 10.9.2
    CPU:
    i5 2500k@3.6GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS EN210 Silent DI 1GD3/V2 LP 1024MB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Thanks Spadefist,
    might not be complete but still gives some reference though! I got a 600MHz G3 e few years back, maxed out RAM and put in a fan. Put OSX 10.4 on it and it runs like charm. Guess i won´t be hacking this one soon, guess my eMac will be first. Maybe Minihack will be faster?
    What resolution will be possible for You on that LCD?

    Olli
     
  4. spadefist2

    spadefist2

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Asus P7H57D-V EVO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-880
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 24, 2013 at 8:50 PM #44
    spadefist2

    spadefist2

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Asus P7H57D-V EVO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-880
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The (soon to be) internal LCD will only do 1024x768 as you just can't get higher res 15" panels. I have an external 22" monitor so screen estate won't be too bad though.
     
  5. spadefist2

    spadefist2

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Asus P7H57D-V EVO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-880
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 25, 2013 at 3:35 PM #45
    spadefist2

    spadefist2

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Asus P7H57D-V EVO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-880
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Microphone is now working, if you're interested you need to wire the follow to get it going:

    iMac Microphone White -to- White cable in 3.5mm which is the left channel
    iMac Microphone Black -to- Red cable in 3.5mm which is the right channel
    iMac Microphone Red -to- Ground cable in 3.5mm which is the ground sleeve

    449404_com_3m5jack.jpg
     
  6. rehpotsirhc

    rehpotsirhc

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2550K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 28, 2013 at 4:21 PM #46
    rehpotsirhc

    rehpotsirhc

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2550K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    You should start your own thread on this!
     
  7. FireGate13

    FireGate13

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Imac G3 Slot Loading
    CPU:
    PowerPC 400Mhz
    Graphics:
    ATI Rage
    Mar 28, 2017 at 8:05 AM #47
    FireGate13

    FireGate13

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Imac G3 Slot Loading
    CPU:
    PowerPC 400Mhz
    Graphics:
    ATI Rage
    Next was connecting the power button, PWR PED and speakers via the nice 26 pin connector Apple left for me :) (pin out if here http://etech.dyndns.org/index.php?page=vcr.php)

    I cannot open the link and i need this pinout. Can you help me?:(:(:(:(:(
     
  8. iCan-Mac

    iCan-Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H87M- H3D
    CPU:
    3.2Ghz Core i5 Quad Haswell
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 650
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 10, 2017 at 5:17 PM #48
    iCan-Mac

    iCan-Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H87M- H3D
    CPU:
    3.2Ghz Core i5 Quad Haswell
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 650
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have completed a Green iMac case mod - replaced the crt with a 15" dell LCD - tons of space after that, fitted a PSU 4 fans, gigabyte morther board - 3.2 quad core i5 - 8gb ram - nvidia graphic card GT 650 Ti with 1gb cram - two 500gb SSD hard drives - sadly and for this sorry - I have had previously installed MacOSX - but it's just not very stable and have now reverted to Windows 10 pro 64bit - sorry - but I do have a brand good MacBook Pro 2017! - I'll post some pictures later on.
     

Share This Page