Hackintosh & RAID 0

Discussion in 'Mountain Lion Desktop Support' started by repez, Jul 2, 2013.

  1. repez

    repez

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    HD Graphics 4600
    Jul 2, 2013 at 12:30 AM #1
    repez

    repez

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    HD Graphics 4600
  2. repez

    repez

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    HD Graphics 4600
    Jul 4, 2013 at 12:30 AM #2
    repez

    repez

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    HD Graphics 4600
    Up
     
  3. repez

    repez

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    HD Graphics 4600
    Jul 7, 2013 at 11:24 AM #3
    repez

    repez

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    HD Graphics 4600
    Up
     
  4. repez

    repez

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    HD Graphics 4600
    Jul 9, 2013 at 11:57 AM #4
    repez

    repez

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    HD Graphics 4600
    So, this silent mean that nobody has never made an hackintosh with a raid 0 array with OS X installed on it?
     
  5. Adrian B

    Adrian B Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6,838
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
    CPU:
    G2020 Dual Core
    Graphics:
    Asus EAH5570
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Jul 9, 2013 at 12:05 PM #5
    Adrian B

    Adrian B Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6,838
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
    CPU:
    G2020 Dual Core
    Graphics:
    Asus EAH5570
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Raid 0 - Lose one drive and lose everything. I doubt if anyone wants to support it, best to learn to walk before you can run.

    Use the search facility - you will find experienced individuals that have done it.

    http://www.tonymacx86.com/user-buil...pro-3930k-gtx670-sabertooth-x79-56k-warn.html


    Adrian B
     
  6. mandy41

    mandy41 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    osx
    CPU:
    i7 Mobile
    Graphics:
    Nvidia FX2800M
    Jul 27, 2013 at 5:15 AM #6
    mandy41

    mandy41 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    osx
    CPU:
    i7 Mobile
    Graphics:
    Nvidia FX2800M
    Adrian,

    you are not really getting the point of the starting topic, do you?

    He asked for the RAID 0 and I bet he knows that RAID 0 does not go hand in hand to be reliable, it is about the performance. RAID 0 will speed up your system disks a lot and if you want reliability you go for raid 5.

    I tried installing OSX ML on Raid 0 on TWO 128GB Samsung 840 PRO but can't figure it out. Getting errors after installer reboots the system.

    Would love to know as well how to set it up.

    Thanks
     
  7. Adrian B

    Adrian B Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6,838
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
    CPU:
    G2020 Dual Core
    Graphics:
    Asus EAH5570
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Jul 27, 2013 at 1:36 PM #7
    Adrian B

    Adrian B Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6,838
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
    CPU:
    G2020 Dual Core
    Graphics:
    Asus EAH5570
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Mandy, I do, I have talked with repez a number of times. I am not convinced that he is aware of the downsides of doing Raid 0. The upside is pretty minimal.

    I did post a link to creating a raid 0 very soon after his original comment - it didn't get past moderation. You will need to use the search facility, there are raid 0 arrays being used on this site.


    Adrian B
     
  8. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,744
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Jul 27, 2013 at 3:06 PM #8
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,744
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    There are many downsides to a RAID0 array and the only reason to use one is if you really need fast read/write from the drives. This was in issue with platter drives, but not with SSDs. There is really no need to RAID0 your SSDs to get faster performance. In fact, there are times when the performance will actually drop due to transmission rates through the SATA ports. If you do use RAID0, then be prepared to rebuild the array and reinstall frequently and make sure you back up your work files, never keeping your files stored on the array.

    If you really want to put SSDs in RAID0, then you do it the same way you do HDDs. neilhart did a very good walk-through here - http://www.tonymacx86.com/mountain-...-0-os-x-10-8-5-using-tonymacx86-tool-set.html
     
  9. samsunix

    samsunix

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    3,5 Ghz Inter Core i7
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 760
    Mobile Phone:
    Windows Phone
    Feb 26, 2014 at 1:45 PM #9
    samsunix

    samsunix

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    3,5 Ghz Inter Core i7
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 760
    Mobile Phone:
    Windows Phone
    Hi

    nevermind
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1911848_413834258762712_297459004_n.jpg  (47.2 KB, 2,134 views)
  10. Adrian B

    Adrian B Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6,838
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
    CPU:
    G2020 Dual Core
    Graphics:
    Asus EAH5570
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Mar 1, 2014 at 9:38 AM #10
    Adrian B

    Adrian B Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6,838
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
    CPU:
    G2020 Dual Core
    Graphics:
    Asus EAH5570
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    The advice that I gave was for the thread OP, given after many similar discussions - it was my choice to NOT recommend that the OP attempt a RAID 0 as at the time of writing it was my understanding that it was beyond the understanding of the OP. I was not prepared to provide support in the OP doing a RAID 0 array at that point in time.

    Adrian B
     

Share This Page