Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] Sierra on the GA-Z170X-UD3

Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
298
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
Core i7 6700K @4.6GHz
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 970 Windforce
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
18
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7- 6700
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Just like a CMOS reset ?
Never thought of that ^^

Edit : set up everything as should be for El Capitan =>> stuck on Apple logo screen, no progress bar.
I'll simulate install from USB stick to see if I can boot from there (I still have my El Capitan install stick).

Edit 2 : I tryed USB install following the guide with Clover 2.3 =>> stuck at 75% on progress bar on apple logo loading screen or I-don't-know-where in verbose
I updated my Clover to 2.4 (sad there is no link/thread here to find the last version easily or I'm dumb and didn't found it ^^) and Sierra install screen popped up :D :D
I was afraid to be in Murphy's thing : don't try to change/fix something working :)
Now installing on secondary HDD before updating my original one. Maybe just updating Clover on my El Capitan setup was just needed...
Edit 3 : After reboot from new installed system I tryed to go back to my El Capitan install : Worked !
Now I'm updating to Sierra...
Edit 4 : El Capitan updated to Sierra, Nvidia driver finding update by itself, minor softwares updates to do (Wacom driver...) :)
Edit 5 (last one ^^) : links to audio_CloverALC-xxx.comman.zip and Audio_CloverHDMI-xxx.command are brokent (on the first post). Here are the links for GitHub pages : audio_CloverALC-xxx.comman.zip and Audio_CloverHDMI-xxx.command.
On respective page, click on the download button on the right.
Works fine for me herr, got sound back.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
29
Motherboard
Ga-z170x-ud3 ultra
CPU
i7 7600
Graphics
Evga geforce gtx 1050 ti
Mac
iMac
I think I'm on F22, haven't seen any problems looks like it's work good
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
142
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3 - F23g
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
HD530 + RX 570
Mobile Phone
Android
eddieboy, starting with F23b BIOS fixed a serious Skylake CPU error (fix HT flaw issue). Therefore it is reasonable to upgrade BIOS to F23b or F23d for GA-Z170-UD3 MB or to F23c (or F23e) for GA-Z170-UD3 Ultra MB.
I'm working fine with the BIOS version F23b on my GA-Z170-UD3
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3 Rev.1.0
CPU
Intel Core i7, 7700K, 4.2 GHz
Graphics
2 x MSI 1070 AERO ITX
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi guys, I need your help please.
I had a good system, working without big problems on Sierra.
I switched to High Sierra with the same configuration and everything worked too.
Then I decided to upgrade my computer and replaced the CPU with a 7700k and my gtx 950 with two 1070s...
Then I tried to install everything from the beginning through 10.13.2, last clover and my old configuration...
Well... I screwed all the things up for good XD
Please, can someone post his EFI (Z170X-UD3 plus nVidia) and tell me what to do with the last Clover?
I'm no expert but I was lucky...
Now I don't know what to do anymore :\
Thanks : )
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3 Rev.1.0
CPU
Intel Core i7, 7700K, 4.2 GHz
Graphics
2 x MSI 1070 AERO ITX
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Oh My God I don't wanna open everything up again lol
When I replaced the CPU everything worked fine...
My problem came from the impossibility to update GPU driver and OSX.
I needed to install the last GPU driver because I wanted to check something but in order to do that, I had to update OSX.
I tried but 10.13.2 didn't want to be installed...
The process looked like it was complete but that was not true... so I thought to do everything from the beginning... and now I don't know what to do because it doesn't work, even if I use UniBeast (never used that before).
If someone has a working efi or at least can tell me which build of Clover works (because the last one I think has some problems with our motherboard...)
BTW now I'm gonna try with 10.12...6? I don't remember... perhaps that's the last one...
If that works I'll try to update from there...
Now I'm thinking about that... if I'm not wrong that's what I did the first time because High Sierra didn't wanna boot directly so I updated from Sierra...
Any suggestions would be very appreciated XD
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD3
CPU
Core i5-6500 LG1151
Graphics
eVGA Geforce GTX 950
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Out of curiosity can this guide be used to do a fresh install of HS 10.13.3? If not what steps need to be changed?
I’d be interested in this too!
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
142
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3 - F23g
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
HD530 + RX 570
Mobile Phone
Android
Unfortunately, the Manual is almost useless for installing 10.13.3.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD3
CPU
Core i5-6500 LG1151
Graphics
eVGA Geforce GTX 950
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I decided to tackle this again with a fresh build of High Sierra. I followed the generic installation instructions using UniBeast and Multibeast, and am happy to report some success. The basic build works (video, networking, audio, usb2, sleep). I haven't tested usb3/usb3.1 or every USB port.

The one lingering issue I have noticed is that after wake the audio is dead until a reboot. I recall this problem in the past. I did find and try Codec Commander (https://bitbucket.org/RehabMan/os-x-eapd-codec-commander/overview) but am in a bit over-my-head there. If anyone is interested I have attached my Multibeast settings. If anyone has suggestions on troubleshooting the audio-after-sleep issue, I am happy to read them.

BTW I use HDMI for video, and whether on Hackintosh or PC, sometimes after sleep I have to toggle the source to get it to "wake" the monitor. I assume this is my monitor rather than anything else, but if you get the dreaded "black screen" after wake, you might try that before you mess with your settings.
 

Attachments

Top