Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] Sierra on the GA-Z170X-UD3

Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
GigaByte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
Skylake 6700K
Graphics
PNY GeForce GTX-970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Quick question for folks on this board: any issues with the optical drive disappearing? I've had fairly persistent issues. Typically what I'll do is rip a movie from a DVD in the optical drive (a bluray-read, dvd-write capable drive connected via AHCI using ATAPI, bd-rom hl-dt-st bd-re UH10LS20 LG drive), the rip will finish, I'll right-click the drive on the desktop and select eject, and the disk will disappear but the drive bay won't open. After that, the OS doesn't even see the drive any more. If I force the drive bay open and put in a different disk nothing happens, the drive just dies. In fact I think it loses power. I seem to have to reboot. Sometimes when I reboot the drive will get power but disks won't mount. Time passing and reboots are the only resolution.

I followed the directions in this guide, so I didn't install any ahci_thirdparty sata whatever kexts.

Could it have anything to do with how the BIOS is set up with respect to UEFI/legacy? Frustrating issue. Thanks.
Just curious, did you ever get anywhere with this? From other places I've read that disabling "put hard disks to sleep" in the energy settings can fix this. But I need to put disks to sleep, as my machine is on 24/7, and I have four HDDs in...
 

aol

Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
512
Motherboard
GA-Z370-HD3P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570 + GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just curious, did you ever get anywhere with this? From other places I've read that disabling "put hard disks to sleep" in the energy settings can fix this. But I need to put disks to sleep, as my machine is on 24/7, and I have four HDDs in...
Nope, still getting the issue sporadically on Sierra. I'm in progress moving to High Sierra, hoping that maybe the issue will resolve itself, and I don't rip many DVDs, so it's something that comes up every few months. I'll make a note to try turning off put hard disks to sleep.. but that seems excessive. If I have to choose, I guess I'd rather take the wonky won't eject every couple months behavior. Thanks though.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
26
Motherboard
z170x ud3
CPU
Intel i5
Graphics
Nvidia 970
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS

What is the model number? there are several of them through the link and some of the does not have bluetooth capability
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
26
Motherboard
z170x ud3
CPU
Intel i5
Graphics
Nvidia 970
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
doesn't look likes it at that link anymore.

the card i have is:
Fenvi FV-T919
Seems like it is no longer available. Don't know where else can I get it.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2017
Messages
21
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Seems like it is no longer available. Don't know where else can I get it.
I got mine on aliexpress and although is no longer available (the exact same model T919) there's this one that's also hackintosh compatible:

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/300Mbps-PCI-Express-PCI-e-Dual-band-802-11a-b-g-n-Wireless-WiFi-Atheros-AR9280/32663210802.html

IRL Fenvi is an aliexpress shop so all the amazon links are guys who purchased through there first.

The downside is that shipping is slow :/ mine took around 40 days to arrive. On the plus side it worked perfectly
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
29
Motherboard
Ga-z170x-ud3 ultra
CPU
i7 7600
Graphics
Evga geforce gtx 1050 ti
Mac
iMac
What is the model number? there are several of them through the link and some of the does not have bluetooth capability
I have the TP-Link N900 Wireless Dual Band PCI-Express Adapter (TL-WDN4800)
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
1
Motherboard
10.7.4
CPU
I7 Ivybridge
Graphics
GeForce GT 430
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Has anyone had any experience with the F23d BIOS on the GA-170X-UD3? I am currently on the F6 BIOS and am concerned that if I upgrade above F20, Gigabyte states that the BIOS cannot be downgraded to anything earlier. I am on 10.12.3 with an NVIDIA GeForce GT 740.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
426
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3 F23g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX-580
Mac
iMac
I am using the F23d Bios with no problems
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
18
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7- 6700
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi, I was with El Capitan with F6 bios.
I wanted to update to Sierra so I first updated to F7c Bios (before any Clover update) =>> boot stoped with Apple logo on black background and with a progress bar not progressing.
I updated to the latest Bios (F23d) as someone wrote here it was safe. =>> boot loop between Apple logo screen and GigaByte logo...
Any one to help me either go back to F6 bios (and my working El Capitan up to date) or to get out of this loop ?
I have acces to Clover menu (with F8, version 2.3k rev 3761)

Edit : My working El Capitan is from cnrd install thread.
 
Last edited:
Top