Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] Remove extra Clover BIOS boot entries & prevent further problems

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
1,388
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Running GA-H170N-WIFI, Skylake i7-6700 CPU. Pics below show progressive increases in boot "options, most of which are fake. Top pic is immediately after re-flash of Gigatbyte AMI UEFI "BIOS" version F4. Next is after 4 reboots. Last is after 6 reboots. The top picture is correct, or at least reasonable. I have two Samsung 850 EVO SSDs, on P0 and P1 ports, plus an optical drive on P4.
After BIOS Reflash.JPG
After 4 reboots.JPG
After 6 reboots.JPG
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2014
Messages
115
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
THIS WORKS (If you have Windows installed as well on a different drive):
In OSX:
1. Use EFI Mounter (download from Tonymacx86 downloads section) utility to open EFI and go to the BOOT folder.
2. Rename BOOT folder to LAUNCHER
3. Reboot to Windows
In Windows:
1. Download and use EasyUEFI utility to delete any extra boot options.
2. Use EasyUEFI to add a new boot entry, select other OS, name it what you want (I just called it El Capitan) so you can identify it when you boot, and click Browse and go through the file directory \EFI\LAUNCHER\BOOTX64.efi
3. Done

Reboot to OSX then restart several times and make sure you aren't getting extra boot options

This works perfectly. Win 10 on NVMe drive with windows EFI partition, OSX on other SSD with mac EFI partition that has clover. Renamed, no longer adds extra entries! THANK YOU!
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2016
Messages
2
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K 8M Skylake Quad-Core 4.0 GHz
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB
After removing bogus entries, is there a way to prevent it from continuing to happen? This method worked great for me for getting rid of them, but more bogus entries appear after I reboot.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170 Gaming 5
CPU
i7 6700
Graphics
GTX760
I have solved the problem of multiple entries, but now clover, does not start Sierra automatically.
I have no more timeout, so i have to select manually the icon of mac os and press Enter.
Any help?
Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA Z170 HD3
CPU
Intel i5 6400
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 950 Extreme Gaming
@pit512 did updating your bios reset defaults or did it keep all that you had changed?
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Everything is resetted so take note of each settings...
I was having this same problem. I have a Z170X-UD5 and a 1TB SSD and 2 4TB HDD. I flashed the motherboard with the latest available and all these problems went away. Boots every time.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
60
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5
CPU
I7-6700k
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX960 2 Gb SSC
I was having this same problem. I have a Z170X-UD5 and a 1TB SSD and 2 4TB HDD. I flashed the motherboard with the latest available and all these problems went away. Boots every time.

jginvc--I want to make sure I am understanding correctly: Did you flash your BIOS to f20e? When you say "all these problems went away" are you saying that you no longer have any extra UEFI boot entries after you reboot/restart?

Thank you, Jim
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
jginvc--I want to make sure I am understanding correctly: Did you flash your BIOS to f20e? When you say "all these problems went away" are you saying that you no longer have any extra UEFI boot entries after you reboot/restart?

Thank you, Jim
Yes, that is correct. Looks like the Bios treats these extra boot entries differently and the default is such that it disables them. So I no longer have any extra UEFI boot entries after I reboot. It works great now. Except for the fact that my network card keeps going down.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
64
Motherboard
GA Z170X-Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Glad I found this thread. I was up to 45 entries for my NVMe boot drive. It was lagging the bios, and also meant I couldn't press f12 to pick a boot device. The screen would just go blank instead. Crazy. I have deleted entries but not done the manual entry and renamed /boot yet. My build is a daw for the studio so I may try that tomorrow after my session.

My mobo: ga-z170x ultra gaming
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top