Contribute
Register

[Guide] Lenovo IdeaPad U330/U430/U530 using Clover UEFI

Joined
May 16, 2018
Messages
15
Motherboard
Lenovo U430P
CPU
i7-4500U
Graphics
GT 730M
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
There is no SSDT with _OFF method as was present in your previous ACPI/origin.
It implies the dump was made with Nvidia disabled in BIOS.
You asked to:
Remove the call to _OFF from SSDT-HACK.aml and see if you can boot.
That's why we don't have SSDT with _OFF method

I've double checked the BIOS conf (NVIDIA is enabled in BIOS) and retreived latest ACPI/Origin files.
The gen_debug report is attached.
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,977
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
You asked to:


That's why we don't have SSDT with _OFF method
No. SSDT-HACK.aml content has nothing to do with ACPI/origin content.

I've double checked the BIOS conf (NVIDIA is enabled in BIOS) and retreived latest ACPI/Origin files.
The gen_debug report is attached.
You might try calling _OFF from _INI in SSDT-4-CB-01.aml.
Maybe it works ok from there, but not from the SSDT-HACK.aml.

If so, we need to patch/replace _INI there... But that is something to do after testing that it works.

Note: I don't know why your system seems to have unique issues. You might want to check BIOS settings...

Why was preboot.log generated 6 minutes *after* ACPI/origin/*?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 16, 2018
Messages
15
Motherboard
Lenovo U430P
CPU
i7-4500U
Graphics
GT 730M
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Why was preboot.log generated 6 minutes *after* ACPI/origin/*?
The gen_debug recommend to restart system and renew preboot.log.

I'll patch the file you recommend and notify you about results
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,977
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
The gen_debug recommend to restart system and renew preboot.log.
As per FAQ, "Problem Reporting" F4 and F2 should both be used before collecting files via gen_debug.sh.

I'll patch the file you recommend and notify you about results
OK.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2014
Messages
5
Motherboard
Lenovo U430 Touch (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5-4200U/Haswell-ULT
Graphics
Intel HD 4400 integrated/1600X900
Mobile Phone
Android
I have followed, I think, the U430 guide and the guide for creating an USB install drive using Clover, however, I am unable to complete installation of High Sierra. I am able to startup into Clover UEFI, and the installation begins, but the U430 reboots into the Lenovo startup screen.

I have included a zip file of my Clover folder from the USB EFI partition, as well as screen shots of my Lenovo BIOS settings, and the High Sierra installation in verbose mode, up until the laptop reboots. Please forgive the quality of the photos, I tried many times to get a better shot of the 2nd screen, but it moves quickly, and I know of no way to pause the installation.

RehabMan, and everyone else who has contributed, thank you for all of the time you put into assisting!
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,977
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have followed, I think, the U430 guide and the guide for creating an USB install drive using Clover, however, I am unable to complete installation of High Sierra. I am able to startup into Clover UEFI, and the installation begins, but the U430 reboots into the Lenovo startup screen.

I have included a zip file of my Clover folder from the USB EFI partition, as well as screen shots of my Lenovo BIOS settings, and the High Sierra installation in verbose mode, up until the laptop reboots. Please forgive the quality of the photos, I tried many times to get a better shot of the 2nd screen, but it moves quickly, and I know of no way to pause the installation.

RehabMan, and everyone else who has contributed, thank you for all of the time you put into assisting!
Problem is obvious: You did not follow the guide!

Clover/kexts/Other does not have the correct kexts (wrong version of VoodooPS2Controller.kext).

Read the guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2014
Messages
45
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi there Rehabman,
Is there a way to check if Trim is enabled? Additionally, how would one disable if it is enabled? (I assume disabling Trim is still recommended?)

Thanks sir
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,977
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi there Rehabman,
Is there a way to check if Trim is enabled? Additionally, how would one disable if it is enabled? (I assume disabling Trim is still recommended?)

Thanks sir
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.

Note: If you followed this guide, exactly as written, TRIM is disabled as the TRIM patch in config.plist is disabled.
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2014
Messages
45
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.

Note: If you followed this guide, exactly as written, TRIM is disabled as the TRIM patch in config.plist is disabled.
Hi Rehabman,
Sorry, I should have been more clear. No problem to report thus nothing to attach. I was just asking a general question. Sorry for the troubles, I am running 10.13.5 without any issue. Thank you for all your hard work on this project.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,977
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Rehabman,
Sorry, I should have been more clear. No problem to report thus nothing to attach. I was just asking a general question. Sorry for the troubles, I am running 10.13.5 without any issue. Thank you for all your hard work on this project.
If you attach PR files, they will tell me conclusively whether you have trim enabled or not.
 
Top