Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Skylake NUC6 (and Skull Canyon) using Clover UEFI (NUC6i5SYK, NUC6i7KYK, etc)

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
48
Motherboard
Gigabyte B365M-H
CPU
i5-9600KF
Graphics
RX-580
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Would this work for NUC6i3syh/k? I followed the process, but I can't seem to get past the line of plus signs. I did try copying my El capitan EFI settings which worked perfectlyto the USB OS installer, but still didn't work with High Sierra. I originally tried the direct update from El Capitan to High Sierra, but messed up the drive in the process and lost El Capitan - but I still have the EFI partition intact.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Would this work for NUC6i3syh/k? I followed the process, but I can't seem to get past the line of plus signs. I did try copying my El capitan EFI settings which worked perfectlyto the USB OS installer, but still didn't work with High Sierra. I originally tried the direct update from El Capitan to High Sierra, but messed up the drive in the process and lost El Capitan - but I still have the EFI partition intact.
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
48
Motherboard
Gigabyte B365M-H
CPU
i5-9600KF
Graphics
RX-580
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. Android

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks, but I sorted it out. Needed to add usb ownership and USB injection in PCI device settings in clover and it worked!

Those settings are already there and enabled in the guide's config_install_nuc6.plist.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
10
Motherboard
NUC6i7KYK (Clover)
CPU
i7-6770HQ
Graphics
Iris Pro 580 3840x2160
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi -

I've been running High Sierra since shortly after it was released on my Skull Canyon NUC pretty successfully. Audio worked great (and had full sound - bass came through strong). I use wired ethernet and a Bluetooth dongle. I use the HDMI and mini-DP ports for displays, the former to a 4k TV, the latter to a 1080p display via a mini-DP to HDMI adapter. The only hiccup is that if I booted with the mini-DP display attached, it wouldn't work properly. Not a big deal. I don't reboot that often, so I just needed to remember to unplug it before rebooting and plug it back in when the system was up. It lit right up.

I updated to Mojave this afternoon. I've been using RehabMan's nuc.git for a while, so I pulled updates, downloaded the tools, installed them, did the make clean, make install_nuc6sc. I updated the config.plist to match config_nuc6_sc.plist, with the exceptions being the serial numbers and my default volume.

The primary display works at 4k (but seems a little sluggish -- e.g. launchpad takes a few seconds to fully render, but Chrome scrolling is fine). I *think* prior to updating it reported as "Intel Iris Pro Graphics 530 1536 MB" but now it reports as "Intel Iris Pro Graphics 580 31 MB." I could be wrong about the 530 vs 580 but can't easily go back to confirm it. Audio "works" in that I hear sound coming from the speakers attached to line out but (as I've seen others report) there's a noticeable lack of bass where the bass was fine prior to updating. Using the headphone jack improves the bass situation, so there's at least a workaround.

So, it's mostly there.

The big issue I'm facing is that the mini-DP -attached display isn't recognized at all, whether I boot with it plugged in or not. Strangely, the display icon in the menu bar reports a projector is attached. It's enabled as a separate display but the cursor doesn't leave the primary display and the options to position a secondary display aren't presented in system preferences.

I tried booting with my old clover config.plist (and manually re-enabling the ig-platform-id to what it was prior to updating) but nothing has had any effect.

I've attached the output of black.dragon74's script. Hopefully there's something in there that can provide a hint as to why the second display isn't working anymore.

Thanks for any help,

-Jeff
 

Attachments

  • debug_429.zip
    2.6 MB · Views: 60
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
10
Motherboard
NUC6i7KYK (Clover)
CPU
i7-6770HQ
Graphics
Iris Pro 580 3840x2160
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi -
The primary display works at 4k (but seems a little sluggish -- e.g. launchpad takes a few seconds to fully render, but Chrome scrolling is fine). I *think* prior to updating it reported as "Intel Iris Pro Graphics 530 1536 MB" but now it reports as "Intel Iris Pro Graphics 580 31 MB."

As I use this more, it looks like this is probably the generic frame buffer driver instead of an intel gpu driver. The Slack app is probably the worst behaving and it looks exactly like Chrome does when it has GPU acceleration enabled. That's to say it's completely incoherent.

kextstat shows that com.apple.driver.AppleIntelSKLGraphicsFramebuffer is loaded but com.apple.driver.AppleIntelSKLGraphics isn't.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi -

I've been running High Sierra since shortly after it was released on my Skull Canyon NUC pretty successfully. Audio worked great (and had full sound - bass came through strong). I use wired ethernet and a Bluetooth dongle. I use the HDMI and mini-DP ports for displays, the former to a 4k TV, the latter to a 1080p display via a mini-DP to HDMI adapter. The only hiccup is that if I booted with the mini-DP display attached, it wouldn't work properly. Not a big deal. I don't reboot that often, so I just needed to remember to unplug it before rebooting and plug it back in when the system was up. It lit right up.

I updated to Mojave this afternoon. I've been using RehabMan's nuc.git for a while, so I pulled updates, downloaded the tools, installed them, did the make clean, make install_nuc6sc. I updated the config.plist to match config_nuc6_sc.plist, with the exceptions being the serial numbers and my default volume.

The primary display works at 4k (but seems a little sluggish -- e.g. launchpad takes a few seconds to fully render, but Chrome scrolling is fine). I *think* prior to updating it reported as "Intel Iris Pro Graphics 530 1536 MB" but now it reports as "Intel Iris Pro Graphics 580 31 MB." I could be wrong about the 530 vs 580 but can't easily go back to confirm it. Audio "works" in that I hear sound coming from the speakers attached to line out but (as I've seen others report) there's a noticeable lack of bass where the bass was fine prior to updating. Using the headphone jack improves the bass situation, so there's at least a workaround.

So, it's mostly there.

The big issue I'm facing is that the mini-DP -attached display isn't recognized at all, whether I boot with it plugged in or not. Strangely, the display icon in the menu bar reports a projector is attached. It's enabled as a separate display but the cursor doesn't leave the primary display and the options to position a secondary display aren't presented in system preferences.

I tried booting with my old clover config.plist (and manually re-enabling the ig-platform-id to what it was prior to updating) but nothing has had any effect.

I've attached the output of black.dragon74's script. Hopefully there's something in there that can provide a hint as to why the second display isn't working anymore.

Thanks for any help,

-Jeff

No ioreg in the debug zip. Please check your files before upload.

Note: Your config.plist is corrupt. Read post #1, "Final config.plist"
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
10
Motherboard
NUC6i7KYK (Clover)
CPU
i7-6770HQ
Graphics
Iris Pro 580 3840x2160
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, I'm confused. I tried my damnedest to follow the instructions.

generic_ioreg.txt is in the archive, which looks like it contains enough of my own info to be from my system.

My config.plist is exactly as I described:
Code:
--- /Users/me/nuc.git/config_nuc6_sc.plist
+++ config.plist
@@ -93,6 +93,8 @@
        <false/>
        <key>Timeout</key>
        <integer>5</integer>
+        <key>DefaultVolume</key>
+        <string>Mac SATA</string>
    </dict>
    <key>CPU</key>
    <dict>
@@ -250,6 +252,12 @@
        <key>ProductName</key>
        <string>iMac16,2</string>
        <key>Trust</key>
+        <key>SerialNumber</key>
+        <string>serial</string>
+        <key>BoardSerialNumber</key>
+        <string>serial</string>
+        <key>SmUUID</key>
+        <string>uuid</string>
        <true/>
    </dict>
    <key>SystemParameters</key>
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, I'm confused. I tried my damnedest to follow the instructions.

generic_ioreg.txt is in the archive, which looks like it contains enough of my own info to be from my system.

My config.plist is exactly as I described:
Code:
--- /Users/me/nuc.git/config_nuc6_sc.plist
+++ config.plist
@@ -93,6 +93,8 @@
        <false/>
        <key>Timeout</key>
        <integer>5</integer>
+        <key>DefaultVolume</key>
+        <string>Mac SATA</string>
    </dict>
    <key>CPU</key>
    <dict>
@@ -250,6 +252,12 @@
        <key>ProductName</key>
        <string>iMac16,2</string>
        <key>Trust</key>
+        <key>SerialNumber</key>
+        <string>serial</string>
+        <key>BoardSerialNumber</key>
+        <string>serial</string>
+        <key>SmUUID</key>
+        <string>uuid</string>
        <true/>
    </dict>
    <key>SystemParameters</key>

Your problem is caused by using a text editor to edit your config.plist and then breaking plist syntax.
You inserted things in between <key>Trust</key> and <true/> that you should not have.

Using a plist editor such as Xcode or PlistEdit Pro will avoid such mistakes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top