Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch (10.11)

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,989
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
RehabMan, Thank you so much for this extensive guide to installing El Capitan on an HP laptop. I just finished getting my HP Probook 4440s up and running with everything, as far as I can tell, working well. I installed a Broadcom BCM94350 wi-fi plus BT card and some how got the idea it would work right out of the box. The extra kexts were pretty much already installed to L/S so the card was identified and the wi-fi symbol appeared in the menu bar. Figuring out what to do with and identifying the "wireless_bcm94352-110-v4.0c" file was a little scary -- didn't really know what was happening or if that was the right file -- but a restart and there it was. Cloned my installation with CCC. Pretty terrific for a $135 ebay laptop. Thanks again
No need to apply any additional patches other than those already provided via the guide procedures in post #1.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
12
Motherboard
HP Probook 450G1
CPU
Intel Core i5 4210M
Graphics
AMD Radeon 8750M, Intel HD Graphics 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
any one help me install mac OS sierra 10.12.4 on my laptop?
Hp Probook 450 Core i5 4210M (2.6Ghz), Ram 4GB Buss 1600Mhz ,HDD 500GB, Display 15" Led (1366x768), Intel HD 4600
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
265
Motherboard
Hp Probook 450G4
CPU
Intel core i7 7500U
Graphics
Intel HD 620 & NVIDIA GeForce 930MX
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
Android
Call to RP01.PXSX.RDSS is missing in _REG (in SSDT-EC_REG.aml).
Try with current files from repo.
Thanks this worked, now we can say almost everything is working, shut down with AC connectioned working no restart, only 3 issues USB-C of which we can't say it's a problem untill i get a better working converter ie USB-C to USB 3.0, Issue 2, EmuVariableUefi-64 in the latest clover bootloader doesn't seem to work properly with this laptop have tried some from older clover bootloader still getting the same results @RehabMan can you please share your copy of Clover? Lastly HDMI audio..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
265
Motherboard
Hp Probook 450G4
CPU
Intel core i7 7500U
Graphics
Intel HD 620 & NVIDIA GeForce 930MX
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
Android
any one help me install mac OS sierra 10.12.4 on my laptop?
Hp Probook 450 Core i5 4210M (2.6Ghz), Ram 4GB Buss 1600Mhz ,HDD 500GB, Display 15" Led (1366x768), Intel HD 4600
Read post #1 follow the guide your laptop is supported
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
17
Motherboard
HP ProBook 430G3
CPU
Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Graphics
Intel HD 520
Mobile Phone
iOS
Run the OS X installer to refresh all kexts. Make sure you have the correct config.plist in place on your EFI partition. Run ./install_downloads.sh and ./pre-patch_hda.sh

Show output of ./pre-patch_hda.sh.

And... Attach "Problem Reporting" files...
Well, now the sound card is detected but no sound comes from the speakers or through the headphone connector.. Also the fnKeys trigger the on screen volume control but do not change the system volume. The mic seems active but I cannot change the volume as well.

Showing output of ./pre-patch_hda.sh.

Patching /System/Library/Extensions/AppleHDA.kext...

/Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/config.plist

Comment: AppleHDA .xml.zl to .zml.zl

find: '2e786d6c2e7a6c'

repl: '2e7a6d6c2e7a6c'

patching offset: 77198

patching offset: 581930

patching offset: 581961

Comment: CX20724 #1 of 1

find: '3d8b19d411'

repl: '3df450f114'

patching offset: 363139

patching offset: 372479

Here's my problem repo
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,989
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Well, now the sound card is detected but no sound comes from the speakers or through the headphone connector.. Also the fnKeys trigger the on screen volume control but do not change the system volume. The mic seems active but I cannot change the volume as well.

Showing output of ./pre-patch_hda.sh.

Patching /System/Library/Extensions/AppleHDA.kext...

/Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/config.plist

Comment: AppleHDA .xml.zl to .zml.zl

find: '2e786d6c2e7a6c'

repl: '2e7a6d6c2e7a6c'

patching offset: 77198

patching offset: 581930

patching offset: 581961

Comment: CX20724 #1 of 1

find: '3d8b19d411'

repl: '3df450f114'

patching offset: 363139

patching offset: 372479

Here's my problem repo
You could try layout-id 7 instead of layout-id 5.
Look in the SSDT-4x0-G3-Skylake.aml (it is the data that follows the first layout-id inside the _DSM for HDEF).

Also... you should be using the beta branch...
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,989
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks this worked, now we can say almost everything is working, shut down with AC connectioned working no restart, only 3 issues USB-C of which we can't say it's a problem untill i get a better working converter ie USB-C to USB 3.0, Issue 2, EmuVariableUefi-64 in the latest clover bootloader doesn't seem to work properly with this laptop have tried some from older clover bootloader still getting the same results @RehabMan can you please share your copy of Clover? Lastly HDMI audio..
Interesting that the "restart shortly after shutdown" is fixed... I didn't think I did anything to fix that...

The laptop has gone back to my neighbor, but I could probably borrow it again...

Attached is the EFI I was last using (without themes).
It is Clover r4052, and the ACPI/patched content is result of using the 'consolidate' branch.

Here are a few comments regarding the ProBook 440 G4 when I had it:
- USB-C not tested (I have no USB-C devices, no USB-C adapter)
- CMOS reset happened during an installation attempt (early on), maybe AppleRTC patch in Clover is not working with 10.12.4
- managed to get the BIOS stuck in a state that nothing can be changed (not even the admin password). The BIOS seems buggy. I may try a CMOS reset later and see if it fixes...
- intermittent problem where Clover would stick *before* the "+++++". This was correlated with a quick Clover launch from BIOS. In the case Clover came up right away (1 second), boot would fail (no "++++"). In the case Clover took longer (3 seconds), boot would work (would get "++++", followed shortly by boot process). This 440 G4 has a single RAM stick instead of dual, so that may have something to do with it.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
17
Motherboard
HP ProBook 430G3
CPU
Intel® Core™ i5-6200U
Graphics
Intel HD 520
Mobile Phone
iOS
You could try layout-id 7 instead of layout-id 5.
Look in the SSDT-4x0-G3-Skylake.aml (it is the data that follows the first layout-id inside the _DSM for HDEF).

Also... you should be using the beta branch...
Ok.. this freezes me. I've found something in SSDT-4x0-G3-Skylake.aml but I can't recognise what I need and where to put it..
:(
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,989
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok.. this freezes me. I've found something in SSDT-4x0-G3-Skylake.aml but I can't recognise what I need and where to put it..
:(
You should see something like this in the SSDT:
Code:
            "layout-id", 
            Buffer (0x04)
            {
                 0x05, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00                        
            },
The 0x05 is the layout-id. For your audio codec it can be either 5 or 7. So you can change to 7 and try it.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2013
Messages
109
Motherboard
HP EliteBook 830 G5
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Classic Mac
Performa
Mobile Phone
iOS
I already replied regarding the files you attached there.



You did not provide updated "Problem Reporting" files after you (supposedly) changed to using IntelBacklight.kext.



I never made any such suggestion.
My suggestion was IntelBacklight.kext + "Brightness" by bergdesign.

You need to learn to read carefully.
You're right. My bad. Did not saw IntelBacklight...

But nevertheless I did not start using IntelBacklight. I just removed AppleBacklight. I do not need to add IntelBacklight. For me the brightness with BKLT=1 and removed AppleBacklightInjector is working just fine.

So currently I would say all works great, except for the lid close sleep issue. I will try the different SMBIOS setting and will report as soon as I have news on that.

Thank you.
 
Top