Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,313
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
733
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M D3H GSM
CPU
i5 8500
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
60
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
I7-3770
Graphics
GTX 1030
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac, Plus, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
It would be interesting to see if one of these HP drives would do about 3GB/s reads in the PCIe 3.0 x16 slot.
These are selling for an amazingly low 50 USD right now at Newegg. 256 GB size too.


TRS, what NVMe PCIe card would use use for the SFF 8300? i didnt think those were supported (booting) yet.

oh and i guess I would lose graphics on that slot?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,313
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
what NVMe PCIe card would use use for the SFF 8300? i didnt think those were supported (booting) yet.
oh and i guess I would lose graphics on that slot?
You don't boot directly from the NVMe drive. Boot first from a Sata SSD with Clover installed. Then at the CBM you choose your NVMe drive. Requires install of the specific NVMe driver in drivers64UEFI folder on your EFI partition.

You don't have to use the x16 slot your 8300 has a x4 slot which works too with a PCIe adapter card installed to it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
60
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
I7-3770
Graphics
GTX 1030
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac, Plus, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
I made the upgrade from a HP 8300 USDT (i5-3570K, HD4000) to a HP 800 G1 USDT (i5-4570S). It was a very easy move. SSD out of the 8300 in the 800G1 and working. The only adjustment was the graphical reference for the HD4600 in the config.plist. The reason for this upgrade was my Dell U3415W. The HD4000 supported 3440x1440 at only 50Hz. The HD4600 does it at 60Hz.

just curious of you geekbench score for that CPU, i always wandered if going to the i5-4xxx would make any difference
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
60
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
I7-3770
Graphics
GTX 1030
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac, Plus, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
You don't boot directly from the NVMe drive. Boot first from a Sata SSD with Clover installed. Then at the CBM you choose your NVMe drive. You don't have to use the x16 slot your 8300 has a x4 slot which works too with a PCIe adapter card installed to it.

and the 4x is enough bandwidth for a NVM? what adapter card is recommended?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,313
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
and the 4x is enough bandwidth for a NVM? what adapter card is recommended?
Most people use the Silverstone cards from Amazon. Cost is about 17 or 18 dollars. Yes x4 is enough lanes for NVMe drives.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01798WOJ0/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
Remember that the NVMe upgrade is only useful if you work with very large video and/or photo files or use the machine for pro audio production. For a general use CustoMac they are overkill. Sure your boot times will speed up but it's really a waste of money if you already have a 2.5" Sata 3 SSD for a boot drive. Big numbers in Black Magic Disk Speed Test are impressive but in your everyday experience on the 8300 they don't matter much. Only when working with reading and writing large files when using Pro level video and photo editing programs like Adobe Suite and FCP X.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
60
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
I7-3770
Graphics
GTX 1030
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac, Plus, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Most people use the Silverstone cards from Amazon. Cost is about 17 or 18 dollars. Yes x4 is enough lanes for NVMe drives.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01798WOJ0/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
Remember that the NVMe upgrade is only useful if you work with very large video and/or photo files or use the machine for pro audio production. For a general use CustoMac they are overkill. Sure your boot times will speed up but it's really a waste of money if you already have a Sata 3 SSD for a boot drive.
i also use mine for a Plex media server so video files are always being transferred and i'm using a 7200rpm HD now as the main storage drive, it would be nice to move my boot to a NVM and use my 1tb SSD for "serving" video files, it would cut down the transfer time between the 2 drives. ( i also has an older NAS for long term storage but it seems to choke on even 1080p files but that for a different thread)
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,313
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
nice to move my boot to a NVM and use my 1tb SSD for "serving" video files, it would cut down the transfer time between the 2 drives.
You would need to install Clover to your Sata SSD if it isn't already, and then it could work. That's a good use scenario that I hadn't thought of. At 50 dollars for a 256GB NVMe the choice is a no-brainer when you compare the speeds to 500 MB/s sata SSDs that aren't much less expensive. Read speeds on the EX920 drive are 6x faster. You have to figure in the cost of the SilverStone adapter too though.
 
Last edited:
Top