Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Messages
30
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming SLI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Intel UHD 630
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello @Mini2y,

There are several posts in this thread about Azul Frame Buffer and the 4xxx Intel CPU. Have you searched this thread for those keywords?
Please sir help me>>>>
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
3
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9560 4k
CPU
i7 7700HQ @2.8GHz
Graphics
HD Graphics 630
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello, I am trying to patch my HDMI based on this guide, on my Dell XPS 15 9560 4k i7-7700HQ, HD630 and GTX 1050 (disabled).
If I plug in the HDMI the built in screen turns black a few times for a couple sec, but in the external 4k monitor I get no signal.
What you should know, that this notebook only has HDMI 1.4 port, so only 4k@30Hz should work. It has an USB-C port also, but I don't have the cables for it.
I have tried whatevergreen enable-hdmi20, disabled-external-gpu, enable-hdmi-dividers-fix, enabled-dpcd-max-link-rate-fix, with no luck. Actually what I always get is a no signal on the external monitor.
The HDMI should work, because when I boot up the system with my HDMI plugged in I got picture only in the external screen, but after logging in, in a few seconds the system reboots.

I attach my clover folder, maybe someone can help.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 28, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
Sys.62121
CPU
i5 4250u
Graphics
iris 5100
Hello @Mini2y,

There are several posts in this thread about Azul Frame Buffer and the 4xxx Intel CPU. Have you searched this thread for those keywords?
Hello CaseySJ
I have read these posts yet ,And i try with them
My pc can not enter desktop
Stop IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0 now 0 sm 0x0
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2015
Messages
55
Motherboard
ASUS B85M-G
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD4600
Mobile Phone
Android
Dear community,
This is a long pending display issue, I'm facing since Mojave and now also on Catalina as well.
The monitor blacks out for few seconds, no pattern to it... however, have noticed it also happens whenever any switch in my house is turned on or off... The blackout happens too often while I transfer data between my external HDD as well and I can't do anything else.

My System Config:
Asus Motherboard: B85M-G
Processor: i5-4460
Graphics: HD4600
VRAM (Dynamic, Max): 1536 MB
Vendor: Intel
Device ID: 0x0412
Revision ID: 0x0006
Memory: 24 GB DDR3
Monitor: BenQ VZ2350 (Using HDMI port, tried other HDMI cables... same issue))
OS: Catalina 10.15.3
All Kexts are updated to latest release: AppleALC (1.4.8), FakeSMC (1800), Lilu (1.4.3), RealtekRTL8111 (2.2.2), USBInjectall (0.7.5), WhateverGreen(1.3.8)
Clover: 5108 (skipped 5109 due to issues as per forum)

Have also attached my config.plist along with Framebuffer, connector & patch screenshots (from Hackintool) to help me for any change in the settings required to fix the issue. Please help me if any further detail is required.
Any help in this regard is appreciated.
Framebuffer.png
Connectors.png
Patch.png
 

Attachments

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
22,935
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
however, have noticed it also happens whenever any switch in my house is turned on or off.
Consult an electrician, nothing that you do on the computer will resolve that problem.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
GIGABYTE H370M-DS3H
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 1050TI
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Wow it worked on GIGABYTE H370M-DS3H
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
41
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270N Gaming 5
CPU
i7-7700T
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I can't make it work on Gigabyte z270n Gaming 5 with i7-7700T. Always black screen or no acceleration. I use 00001259 as platform. Anyone has similar CPU and made it work? there is no dGPU in the system, just iGPU HD630
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
67
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M D3H
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
@CaseySJ, Great instructional post on Framebuffer Patching. Also, a big thanks to headkaze for Hackintool and jaymonkey for both Lilu and Whatevergreen. I have learned a lot more on my second build.

Second and Current Build:
ASRock B365M Pro 4
Core i3-9100
Intel UHD 630

I have read through the General Framebuffer Patch Guide a couple times getting ready to give it a go, but I am left with one question from my end before I begin. I did my best to try to find an answer to this on the forum, but I did not find anything. In the "About This Mac" my graphics show up as Intel UHD 630 as it should. But when looking at the Framebuffer Patching Guide, Step #6, using Hackintool to determine if the proper display patch is being used, I am getting an odd value, "Intel 8th Gen Core Processor Gaussian Mixture Model". Pics attached.

If anyone has any ideas why it says that or if it is not important, I would appreciate the help

I have tried using different system definitions, such as macmini8,1, iMac19,1 and iMac19,2. Nothing changes with these different system definitions.

And, just as a side question as I am trying to learn more about using this forum, I have my first system build showing to the left. When I try to add my second build under "Build Signature", you can see that the MB just comes up as "Other". I understand it is not available as a choice as it is not on the recommended parts guide. Is there a way to manually put this information in? I see many members with many different types of build information in their signature.

Thanks
Thaigyver
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
8,877
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision-D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello, I am trying to patch my HDMI based on this guide, on my Dell XPS 15 9560 4k i7-7700HQ, HD630 and GTX 1050 (disabled).
If I plug in the HDMI the built in screen turns black a few times for a couple sec, but in the external 4k monitor I get no signal.
What you should know, that this notebook only has HDMI 1.4 port, so only 4k@30Hz should work. It has an USB-C port also, but I don't have the cables for it.
I have tried whatevergreen enable-hdmi20, disabled-external-gpu, enable-hdmi-dividers-fix, enabled-dpcd-max-link-rate-fix, with no luck. Actually what I always get is a no signal on the external monitor.
The HDMI should work, because when I boot up the system with my HDMI plugged in I got picture only in the external screen, but after logging in, in a few seconds the system reboots.

I attach my clover folder, maybe someone can help.
Have you experimented with different Platform IDs and Bus IDs?

Also note that there are several complete EFI folders for Dell XPS 9xxx laptops on both YouTube and GitHub. It's good to examine the config.plist in those folders, specifically the Devices --> Properties section, to see how they're activating the external video ports.
 
Top