Contribute
Register

[Guide] Dell XPS 9530 Clover UEFI / Hotpatch

Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Messages
248
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9530 Clover
CPU
i7-4712HQ Haswell
Graphics
Intel HD4600 and NVIDIA 3840x2160
I have tried to do a fresh install with the files provided in this guide. i can install to a point where I have to select country but then i get a black screen. I cant use HDMI to monitor. Restart shows this :
 

Attachments

Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Messages
248
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9530 Clover
CPU
i7-4712HQ Haswell
Graphics
Intel HD4600 and NVIDIA 3840x2160
I have managed to do a fresh 10.13. I can't get BT working I have the latest FakePCIID.kext, FakePCIID_Broadcom_WiFi.kext IntelGraphicsFixup.kext and Lilu.kext in Clover/Kext/10.13. Also can't patch Boot graphics glitch.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have managed to do a fresh 10.13. I can't get BT working I have the latest FakePCIID.kext, FakePCIID_Broadcom_WiFi.kext IntelGraphicsFixup.kext and Lilu.kext in Clover/Kext/10.13. Also can't patch Boot graphics glitch.
"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
Dell Precision m3800
CPU
Core i7 4702HQ
Graphics
Quadro K1100m, Intel HD4600
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
hi @the-darkvoid , currently trying to unlock my bios. i have an m3800, the one with 4702hq processor and 3200 x 1800 touchscreen. when i "extract body" the compressed part of setup, i have setup.bin, i checked its MD5 and it's not the same as yours. but when i load it to the hexeditor, i can find 01 01 00 01 01 01 01 00 00 00, should i just change it? even if the unmodified setup.bin's MD5 does not match your's?

thanks
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
Dell Precision m3800
CPU
Core i7 4702HQ
Graphics
Quadro K1100m, Intel HD4600
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
took the plunge and just modded the bios, i've got the hidden menus now. flashed modded bios, even if my bios' unmodded MD5 does not match dark void's. i'm on bios version A09
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
Dell Precision m3800
CPU
Core i7 4702HQ
Graphics
Quadro K1100m, Intel HD4600
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Sorry for my late reply.
For right now I have a lot of work, but I succeed to launch the high sierra installer, so I put here my solution because it could be usefull for another one :
I downloaded High Sierra from Apple Store, but the version was the last one : 10.13.2.
This version is not compatible with the lilu version supplied (1.2), and it's need to update to 1.2.1.
hi @mopi did you still use the createinstallmedia method? or did you switch to basebinary method?

is lilu required in EFI/CLOVER/KEXTS/OTHERS in the installation usb?

thanks
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
Dell Precision m3800
CPU
Core i7 4702HQ
Graphics
Quadro K1100m, Intel HD4600
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
hi @RehabMan , need a little help please

having problems installing high sierra

my system is an m3800, 4702hq processor, 16gb ram, 3200x1800 touchscreen, on bios version a09


I have some trouble to boot on the high sierra installation...

- My bios is patched, and all settings are as mentionned in the #1 post, also noticed secureboot has to be disabled and load legacy option rom has to be enabled, if not, i get an error message saying i have to check secureboot
- I follow the instructions from Rehabman's Clover UEFI installation guide :
- I formated my USB disk in GPT mode
- I downloaded and installed Clover (the Rehabman's version)
- I added "HFSPlus.efi" to the /EFI/Clover/drivers64UEFI folder
- I only put FakeSMS.kext and VoodooPS2Controller.kext in the kexts/Other folder (there is only Other in my kexts folder)
- I used the config_installer.plist from dardvoid's repo and renamed to config.plist
- my DVMT-Prealocate is set to 128 mb in bios, also tried 96mb and 160mb
- I used the high sierra boot disk with the createinstallmedia method, my high sierra is 10.13.3

I'm not able to boot at all.


What I get is the apple logo, progress bar is 2/3, spinning load circle would appear but would get stuck. if i leave it for a long time, like 10 mins, screen would go blank, no text, not even backlight on the display, but laptop is still on.

if i do verbose boot, and leave it, it will also go to a blank screen

is lilu.kext required for installation?


thanks
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
hi @RehabMan , need a little help please

having problems installing high sierra

my system is an m3800, 4702hq processor, 16gb ram, 3200x1800 touchscreen, on bios version a09


I have some trouble to boot on the high sierra installation...

- My bios is patched, and all settings are as mentionned in the #1 post, also noticed secureboot has to be disabled and load legacy option rom has to be enabled, if not, i get an error message saying i have to check secureboot
- I follow the instructions from Rehabman's Clover UEFI installation guide :
- I formated my USB disk in GPT mode
- I downloaded and installed Clover (the Rehabman's version)
- I added "HFSPlus.efi" to the /EFI/Clover/drivers64UEFI folder
- I only put FakeSMS.kext and VoodooPS2Controller.kext in the kexts/Other folder (there is only Other in my kexts folder)
- I used the config_installer.plist from dardvoid's repo and renamed to config.plist
- my DVMT-Prealocate is set to 128 mb in bios, also tried 96mb and 160mb
- I used the high sierra boot disk with the createinstallmedia method, my high sierra is 10.13.3

I'm not able to boot at all.


What I get is the apple logo, progress bar is 2/3, spinning load circle would appear but would get stuck. if i leave it for a long time, like 10 mins, screen would go blank, no text, not even backlight on the display, but laptop is still on.

if i do verbose boot, and leave it, it will also go to a blank screen

is lilu.kext required for installation?


thanks
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
Dell Precision m3800
CPU
Core i7 4702HQ
Graphics
Quadro K1100m, Intel HD4600
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS

Attachments

Top