Contribute
Register

[Guide] Broadwell HD5500 Setting DVMT in InsydeH20 BIOS Laptops

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
608
Motherboard
<< need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
CPU
I3 5020U
Graphics
Hd5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Please help. I can not find the FExxxxx.rom 555kb file.
My Lenovo Yoga 500 i3-5020u
 

Attachments

  • BIOS.zip
    13 MB · Views: 124
Joined
Jun 18, 2016
Messages
8
CPU
Intel i5-5200U
Graphics
Intel HD 5500 1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for this guide!
It was very easy to follow, I like how you included steps like sorting after size, etc. Very helpful.
Thanks again.

- Ben
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2016
Messages
20
Motherboard
HP 80D1
CPU
i5-6200U(Skylake-U)
Graphics
HD Graphics 520
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
One of my friends was successful. But, as you can see, he uses "setup_var2".
And, in accordance with his test, if you start with Clover, then restart to "shell grub" will fail. If you do not pass clover, directly into the WIN, and then restart to enter the "shell grub" has a certain chance of success!
Although I also think this is no reason, but the fact is that.:eek:
Unfortunately, I have only one MAC system. Tested with PE system, still fail.:eek:
Hope that the above information on the dual system of friends to help.
080345vqqfz65oqdvrz75f.jpg
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,805
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
One of my friends was successful. But, as you can see, he uses "setup_var2".
And, in accordance with his test, if you start with Clover, then restart to "shell grub" will fail. If you do not pass clover, directly into the WIN, and then restart to enter the "shell grub" has a certain chance of success!
Although I also think this is no reason, but the fact is that.:eek:
Unfortunately, I have only one MAC system. Tested with PE system, still fail.:eek:
Hope that the above information on the dual system of friends to help.View attachment 215935

Good info. I added a link to this post from post #1.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2016
Messages
20
Motherboard
HP 80D1
CPU
i5-6200U(Skylake-U)
Graphics
HD Graphics 520
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Good info. I added a link to this post from post #1.
Glad that this is a useful information.
But please note that his error message has been the end of the '08'. Most of the error message is not so, the general is' 1A '.
He has repeatedly tested this, as shown in figure. 'setup_var' never came into effect.
The same msg as '08', can try it.
22.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
1
Hi,
My current DVMT is set to 96MB which gives 64MB in Windows 8.1.

View attachment 139604

To change my DVMT setting to 128MB, I entered
Code:
 setup_var 0x18C 0x4

This is how the output looks like when successfully changed at the DOS prompt.

View attachment 139606

And here is what it looks like in Windows:

View attachment 139605

So obviously as this doesn’t work in OSX I had to return it to 96MB, using the following

Code:
setup_var 0x18C 0x3

This gives the following result when successfully changed.

View attachment 139607

Note that the only interaction I have is typing in the setup_var 0x18C 0x3 and when its finished typed in reboot. No other input is required.

With 128MB OSX boots but I get a black screen with only the mouse pointer hence why I had to revert to 96MB.

Hope this helps….

I follow all your guide, but when i setuup the varialble, i get a message like this


--> GUID does not match expected GUID, taking it nevertheless...
expected a different size of the Setup variable (got 1350 (0x546) bytes).
Continue with care...
successfully obtained "Setup" variable from VSS (got 1350 (0x546) bytes).
offset 0x1ee is: 0x04
setting offset 0x1ee to 0x04
var name: Setup, var size: 12, var guid: 80e1202e-2697-4264 -
9c-c9-80-76-2c-3e-58-63

Any help?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,805
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I follow all your guide, but when i setuup the varialble, i get a message like this


--> GUID does not match expected GUID, taking it nevertheless...
expected a different size of the Setup variable (got 1350 (0x546) bytes).
Continue with care...
successfully obtained "Setup" variable from VSS (got 1350 (0x546) bytes).
offset 0x1ee is: 0x04
setting offset 0x1ee to 0x04
var name: Setup, var size: 12, var guid: 80e1202e-2697-4264 -
9c-c9-80-76-2c-3e-58-63

Any help?

Seems like it worked.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
38
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Just clarifying. I am not using the minStolenSize patch on 10.12.1 . Mac shows "VRAM (Dynamic, Max): 1536 MB". QE/CI works. Windows shows 128 MB Dedicated Video Memory.

This means, I do not need to patch my BIOS, right?

===================

I would just like to point out one thing. Hope it helps anybody else facing any issues.

I was working on my BIOS of the Lenovo Yoga 710-15, following the guide.

First difference: The EXE you get from Lenovo is not the actual BIOS EXE. You need to run the EXE, which will extract the actual BIOS EXE (single file). And this extraction is not possible using WinRAR or 7zip. You HAVE to run the downloaded EXE to get the BIOS EXE.

This BIOS EXE can then be "unzipped" using 7zip. The extracted contents contain a BIN file (maximum size of all the extracted files), which is the BIOS file (equivalent to the "FD" file referred in the guide). This BIN file can be opened in the Phoenix tool.

The rest of the guide matched exactly for me, till the point where we use the IFR tool. The attached IFR tool (v0.6) kept crashing consistently when I clicked on the extract button. I kept trying over and over, and it worked ONCE. I have attached the output text file. Searching this file, I found no "DVMT"!

Then I downloaded the IFR tool from the Github link (https://github.com/donovan6000/Universal-IFR-Extractor). This was an older version (v0.5). But this version worked right away. The extracted file had two "DVMT" strings: "DVMT Pre-Allocated" and "DVMT Total Gfx Mem". File attached.

One more strange thing: the "DVMT Pre-Allocated" options are not as shown in the guide. The highest option is 64 MB. The "DVMT Total Gfx Mem" setting has "128M", "256M" and "Max" as options. So, in case I do need to patch my BIOS, how do I do it?
 

Attachments

  • variable_extract_0.5.txt.zip
    187.9 KB · Views: 149
  • variable_extract_0.6.txt.zip
    172.9 KB · Views: 174
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
608
Motherboard
<< need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
CPU
I3 5020U
Graphics
Hd5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
yoga 710 same as 500
I use kext patch
Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 12.51.07.png
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top