Contribute
Register

[Guide] Avoid APFS conversion on High Sierra update or fresh install

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @RehabMan, I changed the SIP Settings to 0x67 after comparing the plist on github and reinstalled the os on the new drive after erasing it. But it still show that error.

What sort of logs should i show you if required to diagnose this problem?
You will need to explain exactly what you're doing and attach problem reporting files.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2019
Messages
17
Motherboard
Lenovo Y700
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
GTX 960M - HD 530
I am installing Mojave on the same drive with existing Windows 10 and Linux distributions on it. Are there any special considerations I should take in following the steps laid out by @RehabMan ?

I want to make sure my Windows and Linux installations don't get trapped in an APFS container or anything like that.
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am installing Mojave on the same drive with existing Windows 10 and Linux distributions on it. Are there any special considerations I should take in following the steps laid out by @RehabMan ?

I want to make sure my Windows and Linux installations don't get trapped in an APFS container or anything like that.
APFS container goes to a new partition.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
So there is no risk of Windows or other partitions being formatted unintentionally?
User error is always a possibility. You should have a usable backup.
 
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
205
Motherboard
Lenovo Ideapad 320-14ikb
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620 (1920x1080)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Other
hi Rehabman when 1 run apfs conversion command using Mojave this issue occurred, in 10.14 was working well this command but in 10.14.3 permission denied issue
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 19, 2019
Messages
22
Motherboard
GIGABYTE AERO 15XV8
CPU
i7-8750H/HM370
Graphics
GTX 1070/ 4K
Hello everyone and thanks so much for this guide.
I try to go step by step with avoid Apfs with vi but after put all correct and press escape and wq I have this on terminal and nothing happen from long time now. Any idea what's going wrong here?
 

Attachments

Top