[Guide] Avoid APFS conversion on High Sierra update or fresh install

Discussion in 'High Sierra Laptop Support' started by RehabMan, Sep 26, 2017.

  1. gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Sep 10, 2018 at 9:28 PM #391
    gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Is there any hope of disabling TRIM on APFS drives in the future with a kext or something or is it too low level? Ideally I could have the speed of an NVME, the niceties of APFS, but skip the boot time required for TRIM
     
  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,501
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 11, 2018 at 12:31 AM #392
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,501
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It is probably possible to create such a patch. I haven't read about anyone doing it though. And the TRIM issue is not the only NVMe issue anyway.
     
  3. Mrhashishah

    Mrhashishah

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Motherboard:
    Asus G750JW
    CPU:
    i7-4700MQ
    Graphics:
    GTX 765M
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 14, 2018 at 11:18 PM #393
    Mrhashishah

    Mrhashishah

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Motherboard:
    Asus G750JW
    CPU:
    i7-4700MQ
    Graphics:
    GTX 765M
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    i tried to do first method and then i got error no such file or directory
    then i said let's try the second method i get same error when using cd command
     
  4. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,501
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 14, 2018 at 11:23 PM #394
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,501
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You will need to provide images that show exactly what you're doing.
     
  5. Mrhashishah

    Mrhashishah

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Motherboard:
    Asus G750JW
    CPU:
    i7-4700MQ
    Graphics:
    GTX 765M
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 14, 2018 at 11:28 PM #395
    Mrhashishah

    Mrhashishah

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Motherboard:
    Asus G750JW
    CPU:
    i7-4700MQ
    Graphics:
    GTX 765M
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Check this out
    And thank you In advance

    Edit:
    i guess i fixed that out by running LS and CD command
    but what worked for my case is CD /Volumes/os2/"macos high.. .."
    then i used the provided command
    it worked
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1F8EA9A8-9C4D-412E-A2AE-EDF9203676D5.jpeg  (7.6 MB, 101 views)
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2018
  6. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,501
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 15, 2018 at 5:29 AM #396
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,501
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    374?
    ls -l /Volumes shows no volume named '374'.
     
  7. gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Oct 1, 2018 at 6:15 AM #397
    gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    I saw RegabMan's recommendation to use carbon copy cloner to just copy a APFS container to an HFS_J+ one, and low and behold it worked perfectly.

    Luckily, my boot NVME SSD was less than 50% full, so the steps were simple:
    1. Create a new HFS partition on the boot disk
    2. Copy over all data to it from APFS partition (using super duper instead of carbon copy cloner)
    3. Boot into the new HFS partition
    4. Delete APFS partition, create new HFS partition in its place
    5. Copy all data to the new HFS partition
    6. Boot into the new HFS partition and delete the old one
    7. Now that the empty space is in front of the HFS partition, you can grow the volume with ease

    Now I have my APFS boot drive fully converted to HFS_J+ and boot went from around 60s to 20s which is awesome!

    I suppose I can update to Mojave so long as I follow the steps in this thread to avoid conversion, although I may just stick to high sierra since it works fine for me.
     
  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,501
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 1, 2018 at 12:46 PM #398
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,501
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This guide applies only to High Sierra.
    The Mojave installer will force convert to APFS.
     
  9. crackself

    crackself

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Motherboard:
    Dell Inspiron 7559 (BIOS Ver 1.0.1) Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 6300HQ Skylake-H
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530+NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M,1920x1080
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 4, 2018 at 2:21 PM #399
    crackself

    crackself

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Motherboard:
    Dell Inspiron 7559 (BIOS Ver 1.0.1) Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 6300HQ Skylake-H
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530+NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M,1920x1080
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    yeah,I have try on fresh install Mojave, still covert to apfs. Mojava's apfs disk still slower than HFS_J on my NVme ssd.
     
  10. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,501
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 4, 2018 at 3:46 PM #400
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    188,501
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    As is clearly stated in post #1, this guide applies only to High Sierra.
    Always try to read carefully.

     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice