Contribute
Register

[Guide] 2015 X1 Carbon Yosemite

Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
OSX 10.10.3
CPU
Intel Core i5 5200U
Graphics
Intel HD 5500 and Geforce 820M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Real story like a lie:thumbup:


Premise
1. my Thinkpad Carbon X1 Gen3 is, BIOS is locked
2.Dedicated Video Memory is, is 0MB -> DVMT pre-allocated: 32MB?
3. [GUIDE] Intel HD Graphics 5500 , it has STEP 2.2.
(However, it seems that it has not been set correctly)


What you need
1.CLOVER rev.3202
2.LED access lamp marked with WiFi USB dongle
3. patience (few minutes)


Guide


Part # 0


First, [Guide] 2015 X1 Carbon Yosemite is all of the BASE!
Part # 1 -> to Part 14, 0x16160002 of ig-platform-id of You set /EFI/Clover/config.plist that do not set!


Reboot


Once you have verified that you can start at the /EFI/Clover/config.plist,
to copy and /EFI/Clover/config.plist the /EFI/Clover/config5500.plist.
To /EFI/Clover/config5500.plist, it sets the 0x16160002 of ig-platform-id.


CLOVER of Boot at, select the option,
Code:
Config: config5500
is set to return
Started in "Boot Mac OS X from ***"


Part # 1


Status bar is displayed for a moment to the screen to black out
But, it will be sure that the WiFi USB dongle with a LED access lamp rather than a system hang-up is flashing
Wait for 2 minutes
After flashing WiFi USB dongle with a LED access lamp it is calm,
[Ctrl]+[Win Key]+[Insert]? [Command] + [Option] + [Insert]

[Insert] is, it seems [Eject]???

My press slowly. You can easily find useless, still waiting.


Start!


In my environment, this in, will start almost 95%.:clap:

View attachment 135901View attachment 135902View attachment 135903
It seems i have the same problem with you. Black-out occurs in the middle of the boot. At the time of the black screen, i can Print screen by combo key "Shift + Alt + 4" and Shutdown by "Ctrl + Power button" then Enter. Although, i can't see anything but can take screen shot and take a look:



And i think the BIOS is locked so, it is that the rewriting from the outside is prohibited. But i don't have Dongle USB Wifi.
Any idea to fix this error?
I posted my error in here:
1. http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-...0-os-x-yosemite-10-10-3-a-17.html#post1038555
2. http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-...0-os-x-yosemite-10-10-3-a-18.html#post1038818
Thanks!
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon Japan Limited Edition 2015 Gen 3
CPU
Intel Core i7-5500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500 8GB
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It seems i have the same problem with you. Black-out occurs in the middle of the boot. At the time of the black screen, i can Print screen by combo key "Shift + Alt + 4" and Shutdown by "Ctrl + Power button" then Enter. Although, i can't see anything but can take screen shot and take a look:



And i think the BIOS is locked so, it is that the rewriting from the outside is prohibited. But i don't have Dongle USB Wifi.
Any idea to fix this error?
I posted my error in here:
1. http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-...0-os-x-yosemite-10-10-3-a-17.html#post1038555
2. http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-...0-os-x-yosemite-10-10-3-a-18.html#post1038818
Thanks!

How does it do?


I am also currently hit the same problem. All, but I think because not increase the DVMT memory, but there is no technology to BIOS hack. My X1C are also locked the BIOS.


In my interim correspondence, Dongle USB Wifi is not required. However, the means to make sure that you do not hang up, only access lamp of Dongle USB Wifi.


After the blackout, in about 10 seconds later,
[Command] + [Option] + [Insert]
Try to implement. Maybe then, may screen is restored.
[Command] [Option] is the key that you set in OS X.


However, this restoration state is very unstable. Again, if you do not solve the DVMT problem, we have determined that it is not possible to normal operation.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
OSX 10.10.3
CPU
Intel Core i5 5200U
Graphics
Intel HD 5500 and Geforce 820M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How does it do?


I am also currently hit the same problem. All, but I think because not increase the DVMT memory, but there is no technology to BIOS hack. My X1C are also locked the BIOS.


In my interim correspondence, Dongle USB Wifi is not required. However, the means to make sure that you do not hang up, only access lamp of Dongle USB Wifi.


After the blackout, in about 10 seconds later,
[Command] + [Option] + [Insert]
Try to implement. Maybe then, may screen is restored.
[Command] [Option] is the key that you set in OS X.


However, this restoration state is very unstable. Again, if you do not solve the DVMT problem, we have determined that it is not possible to normal operation.
I tried to move mouse cursor to top-left screen and open "About this Mac". Then print screen by combo keys that you known. Of course, i did it while i couldn't see anything.
Unfortunately, i still can't restore screen. I tried press [Command] + [Option] + [Insert] but nothing is appeared. This's my keyboard layout:
- Option = Windows key
- Command = Alt
- Insert = "Delete" or "0" (I dont know, i attached a image. It seems Thinkpad has dedicated "Insert" button)


I very very want to see beautiful screen once time. Then, we will find out a way to fix that error forever.
Could you record totally video about processing you did it? It will help me can do it properly.
Thanks.
P/s: Do you have Skype?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon Japan Limited Edition 2015 Gen 3
CPU
Intel Core i7-5500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500 8GB
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried to move mouse cursor to top-left screen and open "About this Mac". Then print screen by combo keys that you known. Of course, i did it while i couldn't see anything.
Unfortunately, i still can't restore screen. I tried press [Command] + [Option] + [Insert] but nothing is appeared. This's my keyboard layout:
- Option = Windows key
- Command = Alt
- Insert = "Delete" or "0" (I dont know, i attached a image. It seems Thinkpad has dedicated "Insert" button)

I very very want to see beautiful screen once time. Then, we will find out a way to fix that error forever.
Could you record totally video about processing you did it? It will help me can do it properly.
Thanks.
P/s: Do you have Skype?

It was tentatively analysis.


My X1C Gen 3 is the latest version of the RehabMan / OS-X-Voodoo-PS2-Controller, Karabiner (KeyRemap4MacBook) is automatically run at startup.


In Karabiner of Key code EventViewer, even if you press the [Insert], was puzzled because the code does not appear.


From the motion of [Command] + [Option] + [Insert], so I thought I have to cancel the sleep mode, Apple of OSX: in keyboard shortcuts page, where it was confirmed, of X1C Gen 3 [Insert] is, It was found that it is the power button.
In [Command] + [Insert], because the restart / sleep / system the end of the dialog box is displayed, it seems to be no doubt.


In your PC, and I what the key is not known or are assigned to the power button, if find it, what has been forced sleep at startup, it be possible to cause again.


---
My X1C Gen 3 is badly reflection of the liquid crystal, the video does not take well.


After, I can not talk because it is Japanese. I am sorry.
 
Joined
May 24, 2015
Messages
166
Motherboard
ThinkPad X1c 2015
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
In my interim correspondence, Dongle USB Wifi is not required. However, the means to make sure that you do not hang up, only access lamp of Dongle USB Wifi.


After the blackout, in about 10 seconds later,
[Command] + [Option] + [Insert]
Try to implement. Maybe then, may screen is restored.
[Command] [Option] is the key that you set in OS X.
This works with the laptop power button. I press the button for around 0.75 seconds, then press Shift. The Shift key acts like I am waking from display sleep.

Is it possible the BIOS/DSDT is sleeping the machine or the display?

However, this restoration state is very unstable. Again, if you do not solve the DVMT problem, we have determined that it is not possible to normal operation.

I have a bug sometimes: video page flipping gets out of sync.

I don't understand what causes this bug. I thought it might be animations with transparency. But I also suspect the Edimax EW-7711MAC USB Wifi dongle. When I had it in Power-Saving mode, I had more problems than when it was in Constantly Awake Mode (CAM). I know many systems cannot tolerate interrupt latency. Perhaps this dongle keeps interrupts off long enough to upset ACPI. I am investigating further.

This is the QHD screen. I am using SwitchResX to create scaled 3200x1800 and 3840x2160 video modes for HiDPI, which is beautiful. But I have many other bug candidates for video.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
thinkpad X1 carbon
CPU
i7
Graphics
5500u
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Off-topic. Please open a separate thread. This is a guide for X1 Carbon.


Hi can you help me with my bios? I don't know how to use AMI BIOS Utility I've tried . (2) Dump/Fetch a completed BIOS file.
You can use specific BIOS utility to save a copy of your BIOS on Desktop.
e.g. For AMI Aptio UEFI BIOS, you can use AMI BIOS Utility. I'm stuck here.

my ThinkPad is CPU: i7-5500U/Broadwell-U can someone post a working configured copy for their bios so I can put it on a usb stick and replace my bios with it? I'm stuck- once I get pass this point I'll be ok.
please help with bios.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon Japan Limited Edition 2015 Gen 3
CPU
Intel Core i7-5500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500 8GB
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am sorry. So can not be stable operation at their X1C Gen 3, and sold X1C Gen 3,
it was decided to buy a Macbook Pro 13r.
When you are moving, and X1C Gen 3 screen display was really beautiful
It is I'm afraid to let go, because it is unpleasant to struggle any more.


Until now, thank you.
 
Joined
May 24, 2015
Messages
166
Motherboard
ThinkPad X1c 2015
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I am sorry. So can not be stable operation at their X1C Gen 3, and sold X1C Gen 3,
it was decided to buy a Macbook Pro 13r.
When you are moving, and X1C Gen 3 screen display was really beautiful
It is I'm afraid to let go, because it is unpleasant to struggle any more.
Thank you for your help, Makoto-san. I hope to see you again someday.

gfoury said:
> EDIMAX wifi
> video
No, I think my lock-up problem is thermal management or SpeedStep. I have the problem when load changes rapidly. I can run an hour of Geekbench 3's Stress Test. I have a 5200U @ 2.2GHz. (During Stress Test, the CPU sits at 2.5GHz, according to the Intel Power Widget.) Apple sells a CPU like this as the 5250U @ 1.6GHz. I will try decreasing TDP and clock rates in the SSDT.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Messages
21
Motherboard
Dell Mini 9 running Mac OSX 10.6.7
CPU
1.6ghz Atom
Graphics
GMA3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Finally, navigate into the EFI/EFI/Clover/Drivers64UEFI folder and delete VFSBox file if it exists.

Is the VFSBox file "VBoxHfs-64.efi"?
 
Top