Contribute
Register

GTX 970 / GTX 980 are here

Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
72
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
CPU
i7 4930K
Graphics
GTX 980
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm having the same experience.

I have a GTX 980 with the latest nVidia and CUDA drivers.

CUDA is not working overall. I got it to show up in Premiere and AE. In AE though it errors when I try to use it.

Does not work with Octane render.

Cinebench tests do not show any GPU enchancement.

Cuda-Z reports no Cuda recognized.

If I boot up my Windows drive the GPU Cinebench tests fly to almost twice as fast.

I've been having trouble finding any answers as well. Please let me know if anyone figures out a solution.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
72
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
CPU
i7 4930K
Graphics
GTX 980
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've got CUDA working in 10.10.1. Cuda-Z picks it up, although Cuda Pref Panel shows an update is required. It still works though, and I'm able to get Adobe CC/PP to use CUDA in unsupported GPU mode (expected).

Tim

What did you have to do to get Cuda-Z to recognize it? Is there a specific kext that needs to be installed?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
72
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
CPU
i7 4930K
Graphics
GTX 980
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
New cable arrived this morning. No dice, still only able to select 1080p over HDMI. I'm using 'Display Menu' from the App Store and that doesn't give me any extra resolutions either.

Any ideas?

The only way I got above 1080 res was with a display port cable. DVI and HDMI gave me 1080 max. Display port worked, giving 2560 x 1440 on my 27" Dell. Beyond that res, I'm not sure. This cable worked for me:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005H3Q5E0/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
24,818
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What did you have to do to get Cuda-Z to recognize it? Is there a specific kext that needs to be installed?

What version of Cuda-Z do you have ?

0.9.231 is available on Sourceforge.net and seems to detect ok now.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
Asus P7P55-D
CPU
i5
Graphics
ATI 5770
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello itimjim

Cuda working for you with After Effects CC 2014' ? with your GTX 970 ?
Best regards


It appears to be. Although I can't really comment on how well it is performing as its not officially supported yet. I'll have to do some more testing.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
72
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
CPU
i7 4930K
Graphics
GTX 980
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What version of Cuda-Z do you have ?

0.9.231 is available on Sourceforge.net and seems to detect ok now.

I was running .8###### from a few days ago. Just tried 0.9.231 and it's detecting now. I don't have time to test out CUDA but I'll report back tonight when I get home.

I did notice that under Integrated GPU it says "no." Not sure if that has any meaning.

I attached the report.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4468.JPG
    IMG_4468.JPG
    720.8 KB · Views: 260
Joined
Sep 6, 2012
Messages
3
Motherboard
10.10.2
CPU
i7 4770k - 3,99 GHz
Graphics
GTX 970 SC (EVGA)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Joined
Nov 11, 2011
Messages
85
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-DESIGNARE
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
Geforce GTX 1080ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This is what AE CC 2014 sees in attachment.

Exactly, I have the same option and message. Have you tried using that setting for Raytracing? You can download a test file here:

http://www.teddygage.com/AEBENCHCS6/

My AE won't render it with the setting on. It just won't effectively use the CUDA cores and fully recognize the GPu.

AE's next update may include this, but it might also be an Nvidia CUDA or driver problem. That 's why I updated to the latest version, I know for sure that the graphics card/CUDA is fully recognized on windows 8 64 bit, so you would assume it should work for OSX and the GTX 970 too.

Previewing and raytracing is a disaster now.

Aris
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
6
Motherboard
asus
CPU
4790K
Graphics
970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
970 Help needed

I have been trying to install Yosemite and Mavericks using the uni/multibeast drives that have worked for friends of mine. No matter what I do, the install always hangs about 1/4 of the way through at the initial symbol screen. Are there any other boot options i need to use at the initial drive selection screen to enable the installation? I've tried using 'GraphicsEnabler=1' and 'PCIRootUID=1' but those made no difference in the process.
I have a compatible build:
Asus Hero, 4790K, and Corsair DDR3

Everything has been set to default multipliers and settings, disabling secure boot mode, and CFG lock disabled.

The only issue i see here is the Asus 970 I'm using.

Can you help me out?

Thanks
 
Top