Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming build with working NVRAM

Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
Intel core i7-9700K
Graphics
XFX AMD Radeon RX580 8GB Black Edition
If your RX 580 is working, there's no need to change if you don't want to.

Since you are still on Mojave, do the following:

Download the newest OpenCore EFI from post #1.
Open the config.plist with OpenCore Configurator.
Copy/Paste your current Serial, Board Serial, and UUID to the new config.plist.
Change the following two fields to "-1":
View attachment 558858
Copy the EFI folder to the EFI partition of a USB flash drive.
Boot from the USB flash drive to make sure everything is working as it should.
Copy the new EFI folder to the EFI partition of your boot drive.
Update to Ventura as you would on a real Mac.

Hi, followed your instructions. I keep getting:

OCB: StartImage Failed - Already started
Halting on Critical error

...immediately upon attempting to load from the USB EFI. I was using iMac 19,1 before and not iMacPro 1,1...if that makes any difference when copying serials. Do I need to update opencore before attempting any of this?
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,837
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, followed your instructions. I keep getting:

OCB: StartImage Failed - Already started
Halting on Critical error

...immediately upon attempting to load from the USB EFI. I was using iMac 19,1 before and not iMacPro 1,1...if that makes any difference when copying serials. Do I need to update opencore before attempting any of this?

Does it get to the OpenCore Boot Picker?
 
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
Intel core i7-9700K
Graphics
XFX AMD Radeon RX580 8GB Black Edition
Does it get to the OpenCore Boot Picker?
Yes, it allows me to select the EFI partition and hit enter and as near as I can tell it's instant after that. Doesn't seem to have anything (or mostly anything) happening before the error.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,837
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, it allows me to select the EFI partition and hit enter and as near as I can tell it's instant after that. Doesn't seem to have anything (or mostly anything) happening before the error.

At the OpenCore Boot Picker, make sure you are selecting the macOS partition and not one of the EFI or Windows partitions.

Also, try clearing NVRAM.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
Intel core i7-9700K
Graphics
XFX AMD Radeon RX580 8GB Black Edition
At the OpenCore Boot Picker, make sure you are selecting the macOS partition and not one of the EFI or Windows partitions.

Also, try clearing NVRAM.
Ah, so I was an idiot. I forgot I needed to select the USB in the boot menu in BIOS first, then load my main drive. That works. Everything seems to load up and work, except about four of my USB ports (two 2.0 headers on the top of the case and the USB 3.1 type A and C ports). This updated OC configuration did fix my DRM, which is nice (I had been just accepting lower quality streaming in Chrome). I think I remember this being an issue before and 19,1 worked with all the ports but I had to sacrifice DRM...which I ended up doing. Simply plugging in iMac19,1 instead of iMacPro1,1 in this new config.plist does not solve the issue though. (I cleared NVRAM, too, if that matters.)
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,837
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ah, so I was an idiot. I forgot I needed to select the USB in the boot menu in BIOS first, then load my main drive. That works. Everything seems to load up and work, except about four of my USB ports (two 2.0 headers on the top of the case and the USB 3.1 type A and C ports). This updated OC configuration did fix my DRM, which is nice (I had been just accepting lower quality streaming in Chrome). I think I remember this being an issue before and 19,1 worked with all the ports but I had to sacrifice DRM...which I ended up doing. Simply plugging in iMac19,1 instead of iMacPro1,1 in this new config.plist does not solve the issue though. (I cleared NVRAM, too, if that matters.)

If you did your own custom USB port fix, you will have to move it over to the new EFI.

Once everything is working, you can go ahead and update to Ventura as you would on a real Mac.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,934
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for the information!
Here's a new post on the WD SN770 model. Your question got me thinking some more about NVMe choices for a boot drive.

 
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
Intel core i7-9700K
Graphics
XFX AMD Radeon RX580 8GB Black Edition
If you did your own custom USB port fix, you will have to move it over to the new EFI.

Once everything is working, you can go ahead and update to Ventura as you would on a real Mac.
So little update. I switched out the new USB kext with my old one to test it out. iMac18,2, iMac19,1, and iMacPro1,1 seem to be the only ones that will work for me (18,3 and 19,2 have broken Ethernet, and I'm pretty sure no DRM...MacPro7,1 won't even load). iMac19,1 and iMac18,2 have all my USB ports working (I think) but DRM is broken. iMacPro1,1 DRM works but like half the USB ports are out. So I think I'm going to try using iMacPro1,1 like you have set up, and custom map my USB ports following the Dortania guide. Worst comes to worst, I can continue with 19,1 and sacrifice DRM again, because that's what I've been doing up until now. But it would be nice to figure it out. I don't remember what I did before. However, I'm almost positive I never mapped them out from the ground up. I'll let you know how it goes. If this is not the way to go or you have another idea, feel free to let me know.

Thanks for your help thus far. :)
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,837
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So little update. I switched out the new USB kext with my old one to test it out. iMac18,2, iMac19,1, and iMacPro1,1 seem to be the only ones that will work for me (18,3 and 19,2 have broken Ethernet, and I'm pretty sure no DRM...MacPro7,1 won't even load). iMac19,1 and iMac18,2 have all my USB ports working (I think) but DRM is broken. iMacPro1,1 DRM works but like half the USB ports are out. So I think I'm going to try using iMacPro1,1 like you have set up, and custom map my USB ports following the Dortania guide. Worst comes to worst, I can continue with 19,1 and sacrifice DRM again, because that's what I've been doing up until now. But it would be nice to figure it out. I don't remember what I did before. However, I'm almost positive I never mapped them out from the ground up. I'll let you know how it goes. If this is not the way to go or you have another idea, feel free to let me know.

Thanks for your help thus far. :)

If you need DRM, use iMacPro1,1.

The system definition that you use may need to be included in your USB fix kext depending on which USB fix you decide to use. That's why you saw different USB behavior every time you switched system definitions.

The USB fix kext included in my EFIs is designed to work with iMacPro1,1, iMac18,1, and iMac19,1.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2020
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming
CPU
i3-9100F
Graphics
RX 580
So if I wanna change between iMac Pro to iMac 19,1 is there any problem?
 
Top