Contribute
Register

Gigabyte X299X - Catalina Support

Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
397
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey guys!

I just started to configure my Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G and flashed the Thunderbolt EEPROM with the file from the 1st post:


Afterwards I open the SSDT-X299X-DESIGNARE10G-THUNDERBOLT-SIMPLIFIED edited the five values, recalculated the checksum and added the aml to my config.plist

Unfortunately, I get this error message while booting the system:
Code:
Thunderbolt 255 PCI - LS=0x7043 LC=0x0040 SS=0x0050 SC=0x0008 PMCSR=0x0000...
[PCI configuration end, bridge 19, device 125]
IOThunderboltSwitch<0>(0x0)::listenerCallback - Thunderbolt HPD packet for route = 0x0 port = 5 unplug = 0
IOThunderboltSwitch<0>(0x0)::listenerCallback - Thunderbolt HPD packet for route = 0x0 port = 6 unplug = 0
IOThunderboltEEPROM::getDROM - Error getting DROM from I/O Resistry (0xe00002be)

What did I miss?
Thanks!
You should be good to go with the files provided... Let's see:
Code:
Thunderbolt 255 PCI - LS=0x7043 LC=0x0040 SS=0x0050 SC=0x0008 PMCSR=0x0000...
Are you using SSDT-RTC0.aml from first post?

[PCI configuration end, bridge 19, device 125]
Are you on OC? Have you enabled Aboge4G decoding in BIOS? Perhaps (based on your hardware) you should activate "IncreasePciBarSize" under Kernel/Quirks..

IOThunderboltSwitch<0>(0x0)::listenerCallback - Thunderbolt HPD packet for route = 0x0 port = 5 unplug = 0 IOThunderboltSwitch<0>(0x0)::listenerCallback - Thunderbolt HPD packet for route = 0x0 port = 6 unplug = 0 IOThunderboltEEPROM::getDROM - Error getting DROM from I/O Resistry (0xe00002be)
Are you certain you have correctly done the byte changes...? Try with the original file just for testing.

Remember to do a "CleanNVRam" after making changes to your ACPI tables. You haven't been switching from OC to Clover right?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
397
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@tutu13 , to answer your questions all I can say is that almost any board can be used for a hackintosh, it all comes down to your skills, well, more your reading and comprehension skills. Everyone starts at the bottom and learns as they go.

I think you should go with whatever hardware you fancy the most, going for a HEDT is a bit redundant at the moment, new 10000 series CPU (e: i7 10700K) for consumer are improving a lot if you ask me and prices are more or less okay.

If you are undecided and are not very skill full I'd suggest going with a "Z" series, perhaps are easier to handle and because they are more "pocket friendly" the community has more content on it. Us lovers of the difficult are a rare breed that likes to kill their brains trying to make things work as intended.

But here are my two recommendations for HEDT: X299X Designare 10G (hard cookie to crack) and X299 ASRock Creator, a little easier but not problem free.

On "Z" chipsets you have plenty to chose, is only limited by your budget.

Do a little research, see successful posts from other users, don't just ask what to buy, I don't see the point in buying parts for a build if you don't search for what you actually need, others might get offended if they only see basic questions with no background done and might just not answer any of your questions.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
37
Motherboard
Asus z390 maximus xi extreme
CPU
I9-9900k
Graphics
UHD 630
@tutu13 , to answer your questions all I can say is that almost any board can be used for a hackintosh, it all comes down to your skills, well, more your reading and comprehension skills. Everyone starts at the bottom and learns as they go.

I think you should go with whatever hardware you fancy the most, going for a HEDT is a bit redundant at the moment, new 10000 series CPU (e: i7 10700K) for consumer are improving a lot if you ask me and prices are more or less okay.

If you are undecided and are not very skill full I'd suggest going with a "Z" series, perhaps are easier to handle and because they are more "pocket friendly" the community has more content on it. Us lovers of the difficult are a rare breed that likes to kill their brains trying to make things work as intended.

But here are my two recommendations for HEDT: X299X Designare 10G (hard cookie to crack) and X299 ASRock Creator, a little easier but not problem free.

On "Z" chipsets you have plenty to chose, is only limited by your budget.

Do a little research, see successful posts from other users, don't just ask what to buy, I don't see the point in buying parts for a build if you don't search for what you actually need, others might get offended if they only see basic questions with no background done and might just not answer any of your questions.
Firm but fair and well said...took me a week to figure out my Asus z390 Maximus Xi Extreme when it was just a month into the release, feeling phrisky to try the X299 Prime Edition 30 ..Good luck!
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
Intel i9-10900X
Graphics
Vega
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hey @dolgarrenan

Thank you for your answer!
Let me provide some more information: I never used clover on this system. I've got one USB stick with your EFI and one with a fresh OC 0.5.9.
I added the compiled RTC0 to ACPI and config.plist
I enabled Above4G Decoding in BIOS
I enabled IncreasePciBarSize in config.plist
I tested the unmodified SSDT-X299X-DESIGNARE10G-THUNDERBOLT-SIMPLIFIED.aml
I cleaned the NVRAM
But still the same error:
IOThunderboltEEPROM::getDROM - Error getting DROM from I/O Resistry (0xe00002be)

But I retried your EFI again and it boots. Unfortunately, my Radeon VII has a black screen or the system crashes as soon as the graphics should start :/
What else did you change to get Thunderbolt working?

EDIT:
I checked the logs with your EFI folder and that
IOThunderboltEEPROM::parseDROMData - Failed CRC8 Verification: 0xb != 0xd6 IOThunderboltEEPROM::getDROM - Error getting DROM from I/O Resistry (0xe0000001)

EDIT2:
Do you have these annoying "BIOS crashes" while BIOS boot up or in OpenCore selection that leads to the "Boot Failure detected" -> "Load Optimized Defaults then boot", "Load Optimized Defaults then reboot" and "Enter BIOS"? Do you know how to solve this? Firmware is F3B with your settings.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
Asus Z370-a Prime
CPU
I7-8700
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
G'day All, and special thanks to @dolgarrenan for this awesome and very informative writeup....

working away to get this build working also, seems to be running quite well though after flashing the modified thunderbolt firmware I've also lost DisplayPort encapsulation.

I've the Gigabyte X299X motherboard with a Radeon VII. prior to flashing I had the monitor plugged into the motherboard TB3.

Post flashing. I no longer have an image, though macOS does detect the USB devices connected to the monitors USB C output. (Speakers, iSight camera, mouse, keyboard etc are all functioning)

any hints in order to reactivate this lost feature?
 
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Aorus Master
CPU
10980 XE
Graphics
Sapphire 5700 XT Nitro+
I don't know if you have two separate 970 EVO or it's just a replica of the same device, but that itself is a problem. Having Windows (unless you are on 0.5.8 n-d-k fork), you won't be able to boot any drive and you will get the error that you are being presented with.

Remove the Windows 10 drive, do a clean BIOS setup (CMOS) and try to boot from the 970 (if there is an EFI inside, or if you have a USB drive with the EFI then it might be just a little tricky if there is any trace of a boot in the main drive), if everything boots fine, then you will have make a OC 0.5.8 n-d-k fork EFI for your system for dual boot.

Reason is because the n-d-k fork has a special quirk to prevent ACPI tables or configuration overall to be loaded onto Windows boot (you don't want to load an SSDT changing IDs and stuff to Windows), that's why you couldn't boot Windows from OC in the first place.

That is the only solution I have found for dual booting on a GB X299X Designare 10G, or for booting anything else. Hope this helps.
I also had Windows on a NVMe and could not get the installer to launch. It would, but would restart after a few seconds.
I pulled the Windows drive, did a CMOS reset botted to the USB stick, but still just resets after 5 seconds.

I am not sure if I am missing some fundamental thing here, I've read through the guides, and several threads. I think I have a handle on the basics, but I still can't get past step one and it's driving me nuts.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
397
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Everything related to BIOS corruption/reset/french language and what not, is mostly due to:
  • Bad BIOS config.
    • Go through the painful process of configuring your BIOS.
  • Dual boot detected while trying to use OC or clover.
    • Try to remove any other boot device, e.g. USB with bootloader, other drives with Linux, windows or whatever else is there. The important part is to not try to boot with other bootloaders attached to your system.
  • Unsupported or non configured devices.
    • A PCI device might be giving you trouble to boot, check log.
  • BIOS rev 3c, known to be buggy, I had to revert to 3b to get it stable again.
    • I attached the 3b in the first post if I recall.
  • Switching from Clover to OC back and forth.
    • Every time you do that, you should also perform a CMOS and configure BIOS again, seriously, it can mess with your boot.
This sums up the issues we should try to avoid. For those of us with a multi boot I would recommend using n-d-k's fork of OC which currently sits at 0.5.8 since it has an option to block ACPI tables from loading on different partitions (which is what is happening every time you try to load e.g windows, from OC boot screen and fails), unless the main fork has added the feature embedded in and I'm not aware :lol:.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
397
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
But I retried your EFI again and it boots. Unfortunately, my Radeon VII has a black screen or the system crashes as soon as the graphics should start :/
What else did you change to get Thunderbolt working?

EDIT:
I checked the logs with your EFI folder and that
IOThunderboltEEPROM::parseDROMData - Failed CRC8 Verification: 0xb != 0xd6 IOThunderboltEEPROM::getDROM - Error getting DROM from I/O Resistry (0xe0000001)

EDIT2:
Do you have these annoying "BIOS crashes" while BIOS boot up or in OpenCore selection that leads to the "Boot Failure detected" -> "Load Optimized Defaults then boot", "Load Optimized Defaults then reboot" and "Enter BIOS"? Do you know how to solve this? Firmware is F3B with your settings.
Have you followed @CaseySJ guide on thunderbolt DROM..? Might have missed something, I get no such errors at boot.
I certainly did have problems in the beginning, check previous post, it sums the issues as best I could
I've the Gigabyte X299X motherboard with a Radeon VII. prior to flashing I had the monitor plugged into the motherboard TB3.

Post flashing. I no longer have an image, though macOS does detect the USB devices connected to the monitors USB C output. (Speakers, iSight camera, mouse, keyboard etc are all functioning)

any hints in order to reactivate this lost feature?
What firmware have you used? Did you follow the CRC8 guide to the point? Perhaps you could try to change some BIOS settings and try on cold boot.. Take a pic of your TB settings in BIOS and post here.
I also had Windows on a NVMe and could not get the installer to launch. It would, but would restart after a few seconds.
I pulled the Windows drive, did a CMOS reset botted to the USB stick, but still just resets after 5 seconds.

I am not sure if I am missing some fundamental thing here, I've read through the guides, and several threads. I think I have a handle on the basics, but I still can't get past step one and it's driving me nuts.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
With two drives with bootloader, or even a USB drive, be it windows or any other OS you will get issues unless using n-d-k's fork of OC.

It is a requirement to boot only with one bootloader drive attached with this damn BIOS, I can't stress this enough.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 8, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
Intel i9-10900X
Graphics
Vega
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @dolgarrenan!

Thank you for you explanation! For me, the BIOS corruption/reset/French happens, when I open the Boot Menu by pressing F12 (or F10? I forgot) to boot from my backup boot stick. I can select the OC entry but then the system reboots and I get the message. But if just boot my internal drive, everything works like a charm. Until I made a mistake and need to reboot by my Thumb drive again ;)

As you can see, I managed to boot properly. My SSDT-AWAC.aml need to be altered. In fact, my _SB.PCI0 firmware entries are called _SB.PC00. Crazy, since we both use the Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G with BIOS version F3b and a i9-10900X.

One question: Does sleep and wakeup work for you? Going to sleep works for me, but when I wakeup to system, it kind of freezes: Fans go on and my mouse leds turn on and after a few seconds turn off again. The screen stays dark all the time. darkwake=0 is in my boot entry. Any other ideas?

Cheers
Dogman
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
397
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thank you for you explanation! For me, the BIOS corruption/reset/French happens, when I open the Boot Menu by pressing F12 (or F10? I forgot) to boot from my backup boot stick. I can select the OC entry but then the system reboots and I get the message. But if just boot my internal drive, everything works like a charm. Until I made a mistake and need to reboot by my Thumb drive again ;)
And that is why you have the BIOS error, two bootloaders. I'm gonna give you a little tip, if you have another Apple OS computer, then you should remove your EFI from your main drive on your X299X build (completely delete what's inside your EFI folder, not the partition itself. To check everything has been deleted, do 'shift'+'command'+'.' at the same time, then you should be able to see invisible files, delete everything except trash folder -you won't be able to- and empty the bin, use the same key press to hide invisible files again) and move it to a USB drive, then make all the necessary changes inside the USB EFI folder, so that you can easily try configurations without having to unplug stuff from your mobo every time you make a bad config.

As you can see, I managed to boot properly. My SSDT-AWAC.aml need to be altered. In fact, my _SB.PCI0 firmware entries are called _SB.PC00. Crazy, since we both use the Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G with BIOS version F3b and a i9-10900X.
I believe you might have missed the renaming part of the .plist. Under ACPI (in your .plist) there should be a section called "Patch", there you should rename PC00 to PCI0, you should use a text to hex editor to get the values you need, there should be enough info around to get you going. An example below.
Screenshot 2020-06-30 at 10.20.09.png

One question: Does sleep and wakeup work for you? Going to sleep works for me, but when I wakeup to system, it kind of freezes: Fans go on and my mouse leds turn on and after a few seconds turn off again. The screen stays dark all the time. darkwake=0 is in my boot entry. Any other ideas?
Sleep works for me, sleep is very related to USB, or even Thunderbolt (since thunderbolt also uses a USB bus), so I would start looking at the way you are approaching your USB functionality, kext, patches, SSDT tables loading with wrong device rename etc..
 
Top