Contribute
Register

CustoMac Mini 2013: GA-H87N-WIFI - Core i3-4340 - Intel HD 4600

Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
8
Motherboard
H87n (took out bt card)
CPU
I3 4330
Graphics
Zotac Gts 250 not installed
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I get this from time to Time I do a hard reset, a couple times then it just goes in, wish I knew
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
8
Motherboard
H87n (took out bt card)
CPU
I3 4330
Graphics
Zotac Gts 250 not installed
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had to set bios to igfx rather then Pcie,
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
43
Motherboard
10.8.2
CPU
i5 3570K
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
10.9.2 and my "James Brown" build (ga h87n-wifi / i5 4440 / 1 x 8GB ram / SSD) just don't get along... I'm running into the draded HD4600 HDMI blank screen issue.

Has anyone found a fix for this that can easily be described and implemented. It's driving me nuts.

Toleda's frame buffer instructions are very terse and leave a lot up to guesswork.
Likewise I've tried a few variations of IGPlatformID with no results.

Would anyone like to share their working solutions to this?

Thanks
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,569
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
10.9.2 and my "James Brown" build (ga h87n-wifi / i5 4440 / 1 x 8GB ram / SSD) just don't get along... I'm running into the draded HD4600 HDMI blank screen issue.

Has anyone found a fix for this that can easily be described and implemented. It's driving me nuts.

Toleda's frame buffer instructions are very terse and leave a lot up to guesswork.
Likewise I've tried a few variations of IGPlatformID with no results.

Would anyone like to share their working solutions to this?

Thanks

Patching the AppleIntelFrambufferAzul.kext is the best route to take, read the guide thoroughly and only implement the instructions for this part skipping the AppleHDA.kext patch. Make sure you find the relevant kext to patch listed in his guide, right click on the kext (in S/L/E>get info) for which edition of OS X you have installed and use the appropriate patch for your build. Repair permissions and reboot.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
43
Motherboard
10.8.2
CPU
i5 3570K
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Patching the AppleIntelFrambufferAzul.kext is the best route to take, read the guide thoroughly and only implement the instructions for this part skipping the AppleHDA.kext patch. Make sure you find the relevant kext to patch listed in his guide, right click on the kext (in S/L/E>get info) for which edition of OS X you have installed and use the appropriate patch for your build. Repair permissions and reboot.

OK so these instructions are extremely vague. I cannot boot to the 10.9.2 system but I have an exact duplicate with 10.9 that I can boot from.

I have IOJones installed but when I search for GFX it turns up GFX0@2. fine... there are 3 framebuffers 0,1,2 2 is the one with the display, but the property is 0X0 and not 0X7 but someone else in that forum assumed that these were equivalent and took a gamble, which worked... so that leads me to believe I need patch "a" as I just have one screeen connected to the lower HDMI port

I know my way around the terminal so I can change the paths to affect the external (non-bootable) install's directory. "/Volumes/mrBrown/S/L/E/Azul.kext"

Confused. I have two Azul kexts at my disposal, which one should I edit and install?

bootable machine (10.9) Azul v8.18.26
non-bootable machine (10.9.2) Azul v8.24.11

My efforts have so far gone unrewarded.
-D
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,569
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
OK so these instructions are extremely vague. I cannot boot to the 10.9.2 system but I have an exact duplicate with 10.9 that I can boot from.

I have IOJones installed but when I search for GFX it turns up GFX0@2. fine... there are 3 framebuffers 0,1,2 2 is the one with the display, but the property is 0X0 and not 0X7 but someone else in that forum assumed that these were equivalent and took a gamble, which worked... so that leads me to believe I need patch "a" as I just have one screeen connected to the lower HDMI port

I know my way around the terminal so I can change the paths to affect the external (non-bootable) install's directory. "/Volumes/mrBrown/S/L/E/Azul.kext"

Confused. I have two Azul kexts at my disposal, which one should I edit and install?

bootable machine (10.9) Azul v8.18.26
non-bootable machine (10.9.2) Azul v8.24.11

My efforts have so far gone unrewarded.
-D

You need to edit the Azul for 10.9.2. As this is the one you are trying to fix. I patched this kext already using the guide for HD4600 and its if you would like to take a look here #388

Also have you tried using the top HDMI port. Please do not disconnect the HDMI whilst booted, shut down the system before moving the HDMI cable.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
43
Motherboard
10.8.2
CPU
i5 3570K
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I patched this kext already using the guide for HD4600, take a look here #388

Awesome, WORKS! Thanks so much. I wish I'd known that at the start of a weekend trying to resurrect a blind hackintosh. Maybe that should find it's way into the first post?
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
35
Motherboard
ThinkPad W520
CPU
Core i7 6720
Graphics
Nvidia Quadro 1000M
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
GA-H87N-WIFI, GA-H87N, HD 4600; Clover Broken after a few boots!

Hi all,


I wondered if anyone was venturing to use Clover to UEFI boot this machine. In my experience, it worked and then it didn't.

Step 1: I succeed in installing 10.9.2 on GA-H87N. Since I'm getting all of the OSes up to date, I also update the BIOS from F2 to F4. I save a backup, but delete it when I don't see anything wrong.

Step 2: A few reboots later, Clover hangs...not during boot-up, but after the cached (or un-cached) drivers are loaded into the kernel. I think it hangs at the resolution-changing bit.

Step 3: I move the drive to a different board, the GA-H87N-WIFI, and Clover boots just fine. I thank my lucky stars noting BIOS F4.

Step 4: I update to BIOS F5, and with the first boot, Clover doesn't load at all. After a reboot, it loads the OS just fine. A couple DSDT edits later, I reboot, and then I get the same issue. Note that if I boot via legacy/CSM mode, I can get into the OS just fine via Clover's boot0af loader.

Step 5: Endless iterations of targeted BIOS, DSDT, and Clover settings. Nothing works. (Back to BIOS F4, then F5 again. Problem remains.)

Step 6: Wait for Clover to be updated or Gigabyte to re-jigger its BIOSes. How could this break in a way that resetting the CMOS couldn't fix? Is there a separate way to reset the NVRAM? (my boot order settings seem to get stored across a clear CMOS, interestingly)

Ideas:
* Intel ME interface is borked because I installed drivers too new for the firmware. (I got a weird error about POST not being reported to ME and the system halting)
* When the Intel VBIOS gets updated, something in Clover doesn't take
* CSM, Clover's CSM driver, and all configurations not involving CSM culminate in a disaster on these new Gigabyte mobos
* Interestingly, I get kernel panics when I patch my DSDT. Ultimately I now neither patch it on-the-fly nor with iASL. Still hoping for HDMI Audio, but clearly I want to be able to boot first.
* I should settle for CSM entry to OS X for now, sadly
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2011
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H67N-USB3-B3
CPU
i3-2105
Graphics
HD3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
If anyone is having trouble with Finder freezing up after connecting a USB3 hard drive, install the "USB 3.0 - Universal" driver in Multibeast.

Also, if you're trying to use the on-board HD4600 graphics, I think it works best to set the System Definition to Mac Mini 5,1.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
18
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
With the z87 version of this motherboard, can I follow this guide and settings?
 
Top