Contribute
Register

Considering doing a g5 mod, advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Motherboard OR System/Laptop make and model names > See Forum Rules!
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
GTX 550 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey guys, I was thinking about doing a g5 case mod, but I was wondering if anybody could give me an idea of roughly how much it will cost? Is there any way that I could cut out the old io panel and put a new one in? Would it be easiest to use one of the motherboard trays? I am completely new to this, but I want to give it a go. And what tools should I aquire before moving?

To start, here's a money saving tip that I found out. I've built two G5 mods.

Buy a complete G5, dead or alive as long as its cosmetically acceptable to your standard. Tearing it down be sure to save all parts, properly bag all screws and don't rip the welded standoffs off of the case wall until youre absolutely certain that each isn't required in its original location. Again, save them when u take them off. There's one very long screwdriver you'll need to get the heat sinks off, I forget the head, a torx I think. After careful disassembly, you can always sell excess parts if you want to recoup some cost. Having a complete set of screws and other parts at your disposal during your build is terrific, and allows you to be creative in using existing parts.

I paid 175 Cdn dollars for an absolutely pristine late 2005 G5. Completely operational and not a mark on it.

When looking at the G5 before purchase, make sure the front power panel has an 18-pin cable attached. If there's no cable, that means its a late 2005 model and you'll have to buy an older front panel separately. It'll cost you about thirty bucks, so consider that prior to purchase. My late 2005 case required the older panel.

This is a start, take your time and enjoy every step, from purchase all the way to its first boot!

Good Luck...