Contribute
Register

Can i update to Sierra without any issues from Yosemite?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
406
Motherboard
GA-Z87-HD3
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
GTX 750 TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Since Apple introduced SIP(System Integrity Protected) Chimera hasn't been updated to work with either El Capitan or macOS Sierra. So a requirement of updating to either is updating your boot loader to Clover.
ohh right. so how would i switch? and also can i change the skin of clover? just wondering :p
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,560
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
ohh right. so how would i switch? and also can i change the skin of clover? just wondering :p
I added some links in Post#7 for you to take a look at, advice and switching. To change the skin of Clover you can do this in Themes and via your config.plist. Similar to org.chameleon.Boot.plist
awaiting moderation?
Not waiting moderation here unless our Admins approved it.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
406
Motherboard
GA-Z87-HD3
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
GTX 750 TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I added some links in Post#7 for you to take a look at, advice and switching. To change the skin of Clover you can do this in Themes and via your config.plist. Similar to org.chameleon.Boot.plist

Not waiting moderation here unless our Admins approved it.
yup they just approved it i think.

so do i update and then switch? or switch and then update?

what ive gathered from that page, is i have to make a unibeast installer for el capitan, and boot to that drive and see if it works? yes?
and if it does, delete the kexts and switch over?
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,560
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
so do i update and then switch? or switch and then update?

what ive gathered from that page, is i have to make a unibeast installer for el capitan, and boot to that drive and see if it works? yes?
and if it does, delete the kexts and switch over?
I would switch to UniBeast/Clover and test it can boot your current Yosemite installation. Once you can boot it with UniBeast/Clover, then you can remove the kexts that have been installed to /S/L/E or L/E. The guide is relevant to UniBeast and macOS Sierra too. It was written when El Capitan was released, just replace EL Capitan with macOS Sierra.
Using UniBeast and MultiBeast will minimise any errors you might get if you installed Clover directly, since a good config.plist to start is mandatory, this is created with UniBeast and MultiBeast. Just the EFI Partition from UniBeast should allow your Yosemite partition to boot.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
406
Motherboard
GA-Z87-HD3
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
GTX 750 TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I would switch to UniBeast/Clover and test it can boot your current Yosemite installation. Once you can boot it with UniBeast/Clover, then you can remove the kexts that have been installed to /S/L/E or L/E. The guide is relevant to UniBeast and macOS Sierra too. It was written when El Capitan was released, just replace EL Capitan with macOS Sierra.
Using UniBeast and MultiBeast will minimise any errors you might get if you installed Clover directly, since a good config.plist to start is mandatory, this is created with UniBeast and MultiBeast. Just the EFI Partition from UniBeast should allow your Yosemite partition to boot.
ok, im a little confused about how to switch tho.
would you be able to explain briefly how i would go about testing/switching?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
406
Motherboard
GA-Z87-HD3
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
GTX 750 TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,475
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i need nvda_drv=1 because im using a 750ti, it wont run without the nvidia drivers.

Boot with nv_disable=1 instead of nvda_drv=1 until you have installed the operating system and the web drivers.
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,560
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Download macOS Sierra (quit the App, compress it and back it up)
Download and run UniBeast to your computer specs, i.e graphics.
When UniBeast completes, restart pressing F12 - select your UEFI UniBeast drive.
At the Clover boot screen select your Yosemite drive and test booting it.
You've installed the web drivers for your 750 but the UniBeast default is nv_disable=1 so you won't have accelerated graphics unless you change the boot argument to nvda_drv=1
If you are able to boot consistently, you can begin to remove old files/kexts.
When you're happy boot your Yosemite drive with UniBeast and run the Install.app in /Applications.
When it reboots select Install macOS from your Yosemite drive.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top