Contribute
Register

Black Screen After Updating to 10.12.5

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170-HD3
CPU
Core i5 6600K
Graphics
Gigabyte 1080 Ti OC
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Is anyone using a Maxwell and a Pascal at the same time?

Like, one for OS X and one for Windows?

Is that even possible? Wouldn't OS X Crash if it finds the Pascal card?
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2015
Messages
39
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170 UD5-TH
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti SC ACX 2.0 6GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
For some reason after updating , I cannot get the Nvidia Web drivers to work.

I have removed the NV_disable in the boot args. And I have put in place
<key>SystemParameters</key>
<dict>
<key>InjectKexts</key>
<string>YES</string>
<key>InjectSystemID</key>
<true/>
<key>NvidiaWeb</key>
<true/>
</dict>

Any Help?

Running a GA Z170 - UD5 TH
6700
Gtx 980Ti SC

Attached is my plist!
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    4.9 KB · Views: 335

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
26,074
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
For some reason after updating , I cannot get the Nvidia Web drivers to work.

I have removed the NV_disable in the boot args. And I have put in place
<key>SystemParameters</key>
<dict>
<key>InjectKexts</key>
<string>YES</string>
<key>InjectSystemID</key>
<true/>
<key>NvidiaWeb</key>
<true/>
</dict>

Any Help?

Running a GA Z170 - UD5 TH
6700
Gtx 980Ti SC

Attached is my plist!

Your config.plist is corrupt and that is the same as having no file at all.

"Found non-key inside <dict> at line 98"
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,204
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
Your config.plist is corrupt and that is the same as having no file at all.

"Found non-key inside <dict> at line 98"
Arguments key had no corresponding value tag.
 

Attachments

  • config-chilloutsessions.plist
    4.9 KB · Views: 236
Joined
Sep 30, 2013
Messages
62
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700k
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is anyone using a Maxwell and a Pascal at the same time?

Like, one for OS X and one for Windows?

Is that even possible? Wouldn't OS X Crash if it finds the Pascal card?
I have GTX 645 Kepler and GTX 1080 Pascal at the same time, OS X doesn't detect the Pascal at all, only Kepler, unless I remove the Kepler. I have the Kepler installed on the top x16 PCIe and the Pascal is on the next below. This should work for the Maxwell-Pascal combination. I'm using my monitor's multiple inputs and they display whichever signal comes to them from the OS.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170-HD3
CPU
Core i5 6600K
Graphics
Gigabyte 1080 Ti OC
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have GTX 645 Kepler and GTX 1080 Pascal at the same time, OS X doesn't detect the Pascal at all, only Kepler, unless I remove the Kepler. I have the Kepler installed on the top x16 PCIe and the Pascal is on the next below. This should work for the Maxwell-Pascal combination. I'm using my monitor's multiple inputs and they display whichever signal comes to them from the OS.

Thank you thank thank you, this is exactly what i've been searching for but couldn't find!

I play a lot of VR but use OS X for work and the 970 just doesn't cut it any more for VR ;)
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170-HD3
CPU
Core i5 6600K
Graphics
Gigabyte 1080 Ti OC
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have GTX 645 Kepler and GTX 1080 Pascal at the same time, OS X doesn't detect the Pascal at all, only Kepler, unless I remove the Kepler. I have the Kepler installed on the top x16 PCIe and the Pascal is on the next below. This should work for the Maxwell-Pascal combination. I'm using my monitor's multiple inputs and they display whichever signal comes to them from the OS.

By the way, do you know if it's possible to run this with one AMD and one NVIDIA card? Or must it be the same?
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
8
I have GTX 645 Kepler and GTX 1080 Pascal at the same time, OS X doesn't detect the Pascal at all, only Kepler, unless I remove the Kepler. I have the Kepler installed on the top x16 PCIe and the Pascal is on the next below. This should work for the Maxwell-Pascal combination. I'm using my monitor's multiple inputs and they display whichever signal comes to them from the OS.
I'm thinking of getting the 1080 ti as I am making a machine for deep learning. From what I am reading , theres no way to make the pascal card work on max osx? Or has there been some development on that front?
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2013
Messages
62
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700k
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you thank thank you, this is exactly what i've been searching for but couldn't find!

I play a lot of VR but use OS X for work and the 970 just doesn't cut it any more for VR ;)
You're most welcome! My configuration is working like a charm. I hope yours will too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top