Black Screen After Updating to 10.12.5

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by tonymacx86, Mar 28, 2017.

  1. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,568
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 4, 2017 at 10:54 AM #41
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,568
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Good news, the config.plist (Property List not Playlist) that you uploaded is no longer corrupt.
    I have made a few changes to it.
     
    Chilloutsessions likes this.

    Attached Files:

  2. Chilloutsessions

    Chilloutsessions

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z170 UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti SC ACX 2.0 6GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 4, 2017 at 10:57 AM #42
    Chilloutsessions

    Chilloutsessions

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z170 UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti SC ACX 2.0 6GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'll give it a try , I don't mean to seem soo Hackintosh illiterate , I have been using my Hackintosh for 2 years and updated a small Sierra update and the entire pc wouldnt boot properly.

    I have replace the old PLIST , what step should I follow next?
     
  3. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,568
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 4, 2017 at 11:10 AM #43
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,568
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Really ?
    Try and boot with it.
     
    Chilloutsessions and Stork like this.
  4. 4ourMor

    4ourMor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K 3,49Ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 770 4gb OC Rev.2
    Apr 4, 2017 at 3:44 PM #44
    4ourMor

    4ourMor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K 3,49Ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 770 4gb OC Rev.2
    Hello.I have just made a fresh install of macOS Sierra.
    I have a Gigabyte GTX 770. After the installing of nvidia web drivers package, do I need to remove boot/Arguments/nvda_drv=1 ?
    is still have it on the clover boot options..
    I see Nvidia web drivers from system preferences (also on the bar on the desktop), and they are selected. Does it means that it is all working fine?
    Thank you.

    PS: I have strange things happening on the previews of video files, also sometimes on youtube videos. Ii had this problem since always on my mackintosh... but now this "unrendered" image is also at fullscreen on the Log-In screen at the start up..
    it's like when you can't get good signals on the TV.. but the image is froozen here.
     
  5. Chilloutsessions

    Chilloutsessions

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z170 UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti SC ACX 2.0 6GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 5, 2017 at 12:30 AM #45
    Chilloutsessions

    Chilloutsessions

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z170 UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti SC ACX 2.0 6GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes obviously I Rebooted and no luck , what I mean was with the changes which step I should follow to get the drivers working.

    When I reboot It goes to default.
    Thats a given, :) but after reboot still OSX Default Driver for graphics.
    What I meant was should I try another solution on top of your changes?
     
  6. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,568
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 5, 2017 at 12:35 AM #46
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,568
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I suspect that you are not booting from the config.plist that you think you are.
    Any easy way to check is to edit the config.plist and toggle the verbose mode.
    That is to say if it is on then turn it off or if it is off then turn it on.
    If nothing changes when you next boot then you are editing the wrong config.plist.
     
  7. zvaniel

    zvaniel

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Motherboard:
    Asrock Taichi x99
    CPU:
    i7 6800K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Apr 5, 2017 at 1:08 PM #47
    zvaniel

    zvaniel

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Motherboard:
    Asrock Taichi x99
    CPU:
    i7 6800K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    No problem! But I really hope with the next 10.12.5 update NVidia will provide Pascal drivers so I can empty that PCIe for SLI, but if not - so be it!
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2017
  8. broumbroum23

    broumbroum23

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    H61M ITX from ASRock
    CPU:
    Intel Ivy Bridge (i3)
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 - (SMBIOS MacPro 4,1)
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac Pro
    Apr 8, 2017 at 10:03 AM #48
    broumbroum23

    broumbroum23

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    H61M ITX from ASRock
    CPU:
    Intel Ivy Bridge (i3)
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 - (SMBIOS MacPro 4,1)
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac Pro
    Hi ) I experience some issue with the graphics drivers released from Nvidia for Sierra latest update 4. I have got a NV Quadro 600 on Fake Mac 6,1 and it looked fine with the update 2. But now that I've installed the nvidia web driver it displays like texture errors on desktop and snapshot utility, image preview, chrome etc. So bad that it won't even be readable.. Safari is ok, and so as other apps that don't work with graphics accelerated drivers.
    what's wrong with those drivers update plz ?
     

    Attached Files:

    • glitch.png  (96.7 KB, 298 views)
  9. chris7418

    chris7418

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Motherboard:
    Z170M-D3H
    CPU:
    Skylake i7
    Graphics:
    Zotac GTX 750 Display Port
    Mac:
    iMac
    Apr 8, 2017 at 1:08 PM #49
    chris7418

    chris7418

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Motherboard:
    Z170M-D3H
    CPU:
    Skylake i7
    Graphics:
    Zotac GTX 750 Display Port
    Mac:
    iMac
    So my hassle now is that I install the newest Clover, install the update, and I get a log in loop at start. Here's something strange - when I go into System Preferences and change it so that I don't need to enter a password when macOS starts, it still asks for one....
    To complicate things, I'm on an old X58 board with a Xeon 6 core, and a Maxwell graphics card for which I need alternative drivers. All seems good, except I can't get past the log in. Another weird thing is that all of the normal log in notifications appear too - Little Snitch has started, Dropbox has started, etc, notifications that you wouldn't normally see until you get to your desktop.
    Yes, I know it's time to upgrade, but that board has been wonderful - it owes me nothing. I'd still like to see if I can keep going though. Any clues about the log in screen, wise ones?
     
  10. LionXD

    LionXD

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Apr 8, 2017 at 5:10 PM #50
    LionXD

    LionXD

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Hi all, first of all I'm sorry for my English.
    I'm using an old GTX 560 that works OOB in OS X (Sierra included) but I'll change it soon with a GTX 970 (that needs Nvidia Web Drivers). So my question is: can I install Nvidia Web Driver to be ready when GTX 970 arrives to me, and use it with GTX 560?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice