bitdoctor's MiniMacPro Build: intel Core i7-3770 - Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI - HD 4000 - 16 GB - 256 GB

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by bitdoctor, Jan 5, 2013.

  1. jonnybleu

    jonnybleu

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Hack Mini
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Jan 25, 2013 at 10:29 AM #11
    jonnybleu

    jonnybleu

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Hack Mini
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    My H77N Wifi (exact same bios/version) has a 3570k processor and there is no VT-d setting in the bios. Manual says the setting will only appear if the processor supports VT-d. So does mine not? I wanted to disable the setting. System does not boot on its own, only with bootable media and then manually selecting the boot drive in Chameleon.

    Rest of the system works perfect. But the boot thing is pretty annoying. Ideas?
     
  2. DBP

    DBP

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,028
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH, -Z77-D3H, -H77N-WIFI, and Macs
    CPU:
    i7-3770K, i7-3770, i3-3225, i7-620M
    Graphics:
    HD4000 / GTX650 / GT440 / GT330M
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jan 25, 2013 at 10:43 AM #12
    DBP

    DBP

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,028
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH, -Z77-D3H, -H77N-WIFI, and Macs
    CPU:
    i7-3770K, i7-3770, i3-3225, i7-620M
    Graphics:
    HD4000 / GTX650 / GT440 / GT330M
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    No the i5-3570K does not have VT-d (it even says "No" on the Intel info page).

    If the system boots at all then this would not be the issue. Really sounds like something's screwed up with either the boot-code installation on the drive, or the BIOS selection of that drive as a Legacy device (or something similar).
     
  3. jonnybleu

    jonnybleu

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Hack Mini
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Jan 25, 2013 at 4:04 PM #13
    jonnybleu

    jonnybleu

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Hack Mini
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    BIOS is set to Optimized Defaults except for the changes that bitdoctor suggested. I have not touched anything else. With everyone else having successful booting machines on these settings I can't see that being the issue.

    It's gotta be the drive. I installed to a partition with the data from the previous system backed up to a separate partition. I'm guessing that something with this setup is not quite correct. I'm going to backup the data and wipe it all and start from scratch. Wish me luck.

    PS - On 10.8 now, I'd like to go to 10.8.2. Do I use my 10.8 install file and then update with a combo update or try to get a full install 10.8.2 file instead?
     
  4. teddykgb

    teddykgb

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    OSX
    CPU:
    Core i5 - 3500k
    Graphics:
    Integrated
    Jan 25, 2013 at 8:36 PM #14
    teddykgb

    teddykgb

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    OSX
    CPU:
    Core i5 - 3500k
    Graphics:
    Integrated
    How did you get the USB 3.0 ports working? Mine are not working (OSX doesn't see anything plugged into them). I've seen several other threads with the same issue, but apparently you didn't have it?
     
  5. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,949
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 25, 2013 at 11:20 PM #15
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,949
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Repair permissions (Disk Utility), 10.8.2 Combo Update (from Software Update) and, after rebooting, Repair permissions again. Lastly, you'll probably have to rerun MultiBeast only selecting the Audio for your motherboard. :thumbup:
     
  6. pinkmouse

    pinkmouse

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    CustoMac Mini 2012
    CPU:
    Intel i3 3225
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Jan 26, 2013 at 12:06 AM #16
    pinkmouse

    pinkmouse

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    CustoMac Mini 2012
    CPU:
    Intel i3 3225
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    I didn't either, I haven't tried the header on the MB yet, but the back panel ports work fine. Using the H77N board and an i3 3225, I just followed exactly the instructions in the guide.

    Nice neat build BD. :)
     
  7. jonnybleu

    jonnybleu

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Hack Mini
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    Jan 26, 2013 at 8:51 AM #17
    jonnybleu

    jonnybleu

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Hack Mini
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Intel 4000
    All my USB ports work fine front and back. But I don't have any USB 3.0 devices so that probably doesn't help your question. No idea if they would operate at 3.0 or not.
     
  8. s4ur0n

    s4ur0n

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    rMBP 15"
    CPU:
    i7-3720QM
    Graphics:
    GT 650M
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 27, 2013 at 7:22 PM #18
    s4ur0n

    s4ur0n

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    rMBP 15"
    CPU:
    i7-3720QM
    Graphics:
    GT 650M
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Great machine! I'm inspired and am going to build one using similar components! :)

    How hot does the power brick get after a few hours of operation under light to medium load? I'm debating between getting this or the M350 with a picoPSU.
     
  9. leefx

    leefx

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    acer aspire v3-471g
    CPU:
    intel core i7-3630qm
    Graphics:
    intel hd 4000 + nvidia gt 640m(optimus)
    Jan 30, 2013 at 1:05 PM #19
    leefx

    leefx

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    acer aspire v3-471g
    CPU:
    intel core i7-3630qm
    Graphics:
    intel hd 4000 + nvidia gt 640m(optimus)
    hi, i'm planning on building the same rig as yours, did you underclock your processor?
     
  10. bitdoctor

    bitdoctor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 4, 2013 at 5:53 AM #20
    bitdoctor

    bitdoctor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apologies for the late reply. I've only just returned from an overseas trip, where I didn't get a chance to check in to the forum. I'll try to reply to recent comments...

    No, the Atheros AR5BHB92 only supports 802.11a/b/g/n wireless and does not include Bluetooth. I attached an existing wireless antenna that I had lying around to the primary antenna port of the system board, but of course you could use the antennas supplied with the system board.

    Yes, sleep is fully operational.

    I've taken some measurements using a Digital Infrared Thermometer. For reference, the desk temperature is currently approx. 35 deg C (not using air conditioning). The temperature of the external power adapter is approx. 48 deg C. The system has been running for about 90 minutes under low to medium load. The M350 looks like a nice case too. The modular design offers some interesting options.

    No, the default BIOS is configured with CPU Clock Ratio 34, running CPU Frequency 3.40 GHz.

    I can also confirm that the back panel USB 3.0 ports are definitely working at both USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 speeds. I'll post some additional results separately below.
     

Share This Page