Contribute
Register

bitdoctor's MiniMacPro Build: intel Core i7-3770 - Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI - HD 4000 - 16 GB - 256 GB

Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
33
Motherboard
GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Classic
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have a similar build with same MB and 16MHz RAM from Kingston. In the UEFI I don't have the option to change RAM speed and there's no menu with XMP Profile1 (as far as I can tell)
You said that your system is quite similar, so you'll also likely have a similar UEFI DualBIOS. With the GA-H77N-WIFI UEFI DualBIOS (BIOS Version F2) there are two sections where these settings can be altered.

SECTION 1: On the M.I.T. (main or home screen) you'll see a menu entry "Advanced Memory Settings." Hitting enter will show the "\M.I.T.\Advanced Memory Settings" screen where the "Extreme Memory Profile(X.M.P.)" setting can be changed from "Disabled" to "Profile1" (using the -/+ keys). Alternatively, you could change the "System Memory Multiplier" from "Auto" (13.33) to "16" which also changes the greyed out "Memory Frequency(MHz)" from "13333MHz" to "1600MHz." Note that changing the "Extreme Memory Profile(X.M.P.)" to "Profile1" also changes the greyed out "Profile VTT Voltage" from "1.05V" (default) to "1.20V."

[IMGLightBox]http://www.tonymacx86.com/members/bitdoctor/albums/minimacpro-2012/50452-minimacpro-2012-bios-m-i-t-main-screen.png[/IMGLightBox]

[IMGLightBox]http://www.tonymacx86.com/members/bitdoctor/albums/minimacpro-2012/50453-minimacpro-2012-bios-advanced-memory-settings-x-m-p.png[/IMGLightBox]

[IMGLightBox]http://www.tonymacx86.com/members/bitdoctor/albums/minimacpro-2012/50454-minimacpro-2012-bios-advanced-memory-settings-system-memory-multiplier.png[/IMGLightBox]

MiniMacPro 2012: BIOS M.I.T. (Main Screen) and Advanced Memory Settings

SECTION 2: Alternatively, on the M.I.T. (main or home screen) you'll also notice a menu entry "Advanced Frequency Settings." This "M.I.T.\Advanced Frequency Settings" screen also provides access to the "Extreme Memory Profile(X.M.P.)" and "System Memory Multiplier" settings.

[IMGLightBox]http://www.tonymacx86.com/members/bitdoctor/albums/minimacpro-2012/50455-minimacpro-2012-bios-advanced-frequency-settings.png[/IMGLightBox]

MiniMacPro 2012: BIOS Advanced Frequency Settings

Does anyone know how to resize images in forum posts? I tried standard BBCode size options inside the IMG (and IMGLightBox) tag, but these were ignored (at least in the preview post). Basic HTML <img> tags also appear to be ignored.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2010
Messages
50
Motherboard
GA-H67MA-USB3-B3
CPU
i5 2400
Graphics
Gigabyte ATi5770
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
hi, i have the same motherboard with i5 2400+hd5770, i found some weird thing on my setup. i installed ML on my system and i tested it with geekbench, if i run geekbench when i just start my system up, i only get around 4k of score, but if i put my system sleep and wake it up and re-run the geekbench, it can hit around 9k of score. do u have this problem?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2013
Messages
7
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
EVGA 670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello everyone,

I have a similar build to the OP but with the 3770k instead and an extra hdd for storage. This is my first attempt ever at building a computer so please bare with me. I know that the PSU is rated at 90 w for the 110 Vesa case and the CPU is already using about 77 w. My dumb question is whether adding the lowest recommended graphic card by Tony, the Evga Geforce gt 640 be overkill for the PSU? It's rated at 65w. I'm thinking yes because by doing some basic math, adding the graphic card would go above the 90w psu limit. At this point, I'm assuming I need a new case that can house a stronger PSU if I want to power my ips monitor.:banghead: Oh, the reason I want to add the graphic card is because I would like to use it with my 27'' ips monitor.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,444
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello everyone,

I have a similar build to the OP but with the 3770k instead and an extra hdd for storage. This is my first attempt ever at building a computer so please bare with me. I know that the PSU is rated at 90 w for the 110 Vesa case and the CPU is already using about 77 w. My dumb question is whether adding the lowest recommended graphic card by Tony, the Evga Geforce gt 640 be overkill for the PSU? It's rated at 65w. I'm thinking yes because by doing some basic math, adding the graphic card would go above the 90w psu limit. At this point, I'm assuming I need a new case that can house a stronger PSU if I want to power my ips monitor.:banghead: Oh, the reason I want to add the graphic card is because I would like to use it with my 27'' ips monitor.
IIRC, the HD4000 will power the new, dual link IPS 27" monitors thought the DVI port. You may want to check that out and save yourself the cost of a graphics card.

There are lots of PSU calculators out there and a simple Google search will turn up some good ones. Here's the one from Newegg: http://images10.newegg.com/BizIntell/tool/psucalc/index.html
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2013
Messages
7
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
EVGA 670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
IIRC, the HD4000 will power the new, dual link IPS 27" monitors thought the DVI port. You may want to check that out and save yourself the cost of a graphics card.

There are lots of PSU calculators out there and a simple Google search will turn up some good ones. Here's the one from Newegg: http://images10.newegg.com/BizIntell/tool/psucalc/index.html
I'll give it a shot once the monitor is delivered. Would it be possible to run [FONT=helvetica, arial, sans-serif]2560x1440 resolution though considering the fact that the H77n doesn't have dual link? That's one of the reason I wanted to get a graphic card with dual link. On a side note, the calculator you provided stated that I need a 273 W PSU (without a graphic card) but my current PSU is only 90 W. Other are utilizing the same setup just fine which really confused me. [/FONT]o_O
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,444
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ouch! I didn't know that the H77N-WIFI didn't have a Dual Link DVI. :crazy: My apologies. So, you'll need a graphics card. I recommend you pose your graphics card requirement in the Buyer's Advice forum section to get feedback on the make & model of graphics card Forum members know will give you Dual Link DVI resolutions.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte H77N-WIFI 10.8.2
CPU
i3-3225
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi bitdoctor!
I'd like to build a customac similar to yours:
intel core i3-3225
ga-h77n-wifi
8gb 1600mhz ddr3
sata 6gb/s 120gb ssd
tp-link tl-wdn4800 dual band wireless n900 pci express adapter,
Antec Mini-ITX Case ISK110-VESA

I need to know if the airplay video works because I have to duplicate my pc screen with my tv by Apple TV3 for job demostration.
I read about the user BitterMelon's "Chip" build: GA-Z77N-WIFI - i5-3570K - HD 6870 and his airplay video doesn't works.

As you can notice, I'd like to change the i3 with intel core i5-3570k. Is it possible?

I have never build a customac, therefore I'd like to know if It's difficult to install Lion and if it can works properly.

Thank you.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2012
Messages
388
Motherboard
GA-H170N
CPU
i7 6700
Graphics
GTX 950
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi bitdoctor!
I'd like to build a customac similar to yours:
intel core i3-3225
ga-h77n-wifi
8gb 1600mhz ddr3
sata 6gb/s 120gb ssd
tp-link tl-wdn4800 dual band wireless n900 pci express adapter,
Antec Mini-ITX Case ISK110-VESA

I need to know if the airplay video works because I have to duplicate my pc screen with my tv by Apple TV3 for job demostration.
I read about the user BitterMelon's "Chip" build: GA-Z77N-WIFI - i5-3570K - HD 6870 and his airplay video doesn't works.

As you can notice, I'd like to change the i3 with intel core i5-3570k. Is it possible?

I have never build a customac, therefore I'd like to know if It's difficult to install Lion and if it can works properly.

Thank you.
Tp-link wdn 4800 pci express doesn't fit on that case. You need a half mini ar9280 instead.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte H77N-WIFI 10.8.2
CPU
i3-3225
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Tp-link wdn 4800 pci express doesn't fit on that case. You need a half mini ar9280 instead.
Thank jmpa! Your build is interesting too. Just one question...have you try airplay video and sound...is It work?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2013
Messages
7
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
EVGA 670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Ouch! I didn't know that the H77N-WIFI didn't have a Dual Link DVI. :crazy: My apologies. So, you'll need a graphics card. I recommend you pose your graphics card requirement in the Buyer's Advice forum section to get feedback on the make & model of graphics card Forum members know will give you Dual Link DVI resolutions.
Haha, no problem. Thanks for your help, I'll check out the buyer's forum.
 
Top