bitdoctor's MiniMacPro Build: intel Core i7-3770 - Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI - HD 4000 - 16 GB - 256 GB

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by bitdoctor, Jan 5, 2013.

  1. bitdoctor

    bitdoctor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 23, 2013 at 4:10 AM #31
    bitdoctor

    bitdoctor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You said that your system is quite similar, so you'll also likely have a similar UEFI DualBIOS. With the GA-H77N-WIFI UEFI DualBIOS (BIOS Version F2) there are two sections where these settings can be altered.

    SECTION 1: On the M.I.T. (main or home screen) you'll see a menu entry "Advanced Memory Settings." Hitting enter will show the "\M.I.T.\Advanced Memory Settings" screen where the "Extreme Memory Profile(X.M.P.)" setting can be changed from "Disabled" to "Profile1" (using the -/+ keys). Alternatively, you could change the "System Memory Multiplier" from "Auto" (13.33) to "16" which also changes the greyed out "Memory Frequency(MHz)" from "13333MHz" to "1600MHz." Note that changing the "Extreme Memory Profile(X.M.P.)" to "Profile1" also changes the greyed out "Profile VTT Voltage" from "1.05V" (default) to "1.20V."

    [IMGLightBox]http://www.tonymacx86.com/members/bitdoctor/albums/minimacpro-2012/50452-minimacpro-2012-bios-m-i-t-main-screen.png[/IMGLightBox]

    [IMGLightBox]http://www.tonymacx86.com/members/bitdoctor/albums/minimacpro-2012/50453-minimacpro-2012-bios-advanced-memory-settings-x-m-p.png[/IMGLightBox]

    [IMGLightBox]http://www.tonymacx86.com/members/bitdoctor/albums/minimacpro-2012/50454-minimacpro-2012-bios-advanced-memory-settings-system-memory-multiplier.png[/IMGLightBox]

    MiniMacPro 2012: BIOS M.I.T. (Main Screen) and Advanced Memory Settings

    SECTION 2: Alternatively, on the M.I.T. (main or home screen) you'll also notice a menu entry "Advanced Frequency Settings." This "M.I.T.\Advanced Frequency Settings" screen also provides access to the "Extreme Memory Profile(X.M.P.)" and "System Memory Multiplier" settings.

    [IMGLightBox]http://www.tonymacx86.com/members/bitdoctor/albums/minimacpro-2012/50455-minimacpro-2012-bios-advanced-frequency-settings.png[/IMGLightBox]

    MiniMacPro 2012: BIOS Advanced Frequency Settings

    Does anyone know how to resize images in forum posts? I tried standard BBCode size options inside the IMG (and IMGLightBox) tag, but these were ignored (at least in the preview post). Basic HTML <img> tags also appear to be ignored.
     
  2. foosi

    foosi

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    GA-H67MA-USB3-B3
    CPU:
    i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte ATi5770
    Mar 24, 2013 at 1:53 AM #32
    foosi

    foosi

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    GA-H67MA-USB3-B3
    CPU:
    i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte ATi5770
    hi, i have the same motherboard with i5 2400+hd5770, i found some weird thing on my setup. i installed ML on my system and i tested it with geekbench, if i run geekbench when i just start my system up, i only get around 4k of score, but if i put my system sleep and wake it up and re-run the geekbench, it can hit around 9k of score. do u have this problem?
     
  3. mrmatt

    mrmatt

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA 670
    Mar 30, 2013 at 5:48 AM #33
    mrmatt

    mrmatt

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA 670
    Hello everyone,

    I have a similar build to the OP but with the 3770k instead and an extra hdd for storage. This is my first attempt ever at building a computer so please bare with me. I know that the PSU is rated at 90 w for the 110 Vesa case and the CPU is already using about 77 w. My dumb question is whether adding the lowest recommended graphic card by Tony, the Evga Geforce gt 640 be overkill for the PSU? It's rated at 65w. I'm thinking yes because by doing some basic math, adding the graphic card would go above the 90w psu limit. At this point, I'm assuming I need a new case that can house a stronger PSU if I want to power my ips monitor.:banghead: Oh, the reason I want to add the graphic card is because I would like to use it with my 27'' ips monitor.
     
  4. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,182
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 30, 2013 at 1:28 PM #34
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,182
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    IIRC, the HD4000 will power the new, dual link IPS 27" monitors thought the DVI port. You may want to check that out and save yourself the cost of a graphics card.

    There are lots of PSU calculators out there and a simple Google search will turn up some good ones. Here's the one from Newegg: http://images10.newegg.com/BizIntell/tool/psucalc/index.html
     
  5. mrmatt

    mrmatt

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA 670
    Mar 31, 2013 at 12:37 AM #35
    mrmatt

    mrmatt

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA 670
    I'll give it a shot once the monitor is delivered. Would it be possible to run [FONT=helvetica, arial, sans-serif]2560x1440 resolution though considering the fact that the H77n doesn't have dual link? That's one of the reason I wanted to get a graphic card with dual link. On a side note, the calculator you provided stated that I need a 273 W PSU (without a graphic card) but my current PSU is only 90 W. Other are utilizing the same setup just fine which really confused me. [/FONT]o_O
     
  6. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,182
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 31, 2013 at 2:06 AM #36
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,182
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ouch! I didn't know that the H77N-WIFI didn't have a Dual Link DVI. :crazy: My apologies. So, you'll need a graphics card. I recommend you pose your graphics card requirement in the Buyer's Advice forum section to get feedback on the make & model of graphics card Forum members know will give you Dual Link DVI resolutions.
     
  7. magdale

    magdale

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H77N-WIFI 10.8.2
    CPU:
    i3-3225
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 31, 2013 at 7:53 PM #37
    magdale

    magdale

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H77N-WIFI 10.8.2
    CPU:
    i3-3225
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi bitdoctor!
    I'd like to build a customac similar to yours:
    intel core i3-3225
    ga-h77n-wifi
    8gb 1600mhz ddr3
    sata 6gb/s 120gb ssd
    tp-link tl-wdn4800 dual band wireless n900 pci express adapter,
    Antec Mini-ITX Case ISK110-VESA

    I need to know if the airplay video works because I have to duplicate my pc screen with my tv by Apple TV3 for job demostration.
    I read about the user BitterMelon's "Chip" build: GA-Z77N-WIFI - i5-3570K - HD 6870 and his airplay video doesn't works.

    As you can notice, I'd like to change the i3 with intel core i5-3570k. Is it possible?

    I have never build a customac, therefore I'd like to know if It's difficult to install Lion and if it can works properly.

    Thank you.
     
  8. jmpa

    jmpa

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    389
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N
    CPU:
    i7 6700
    Graphics:
    GTX 950
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 31, 2013 at 8:25 PM #38
    jmpa

    jmpa

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    389
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N
    CPU:
    i7 6700
    Graphics:
    GTX 950
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Tp-link wdn 4800 pci express doesn't fit on that case. You need a half mini ar9280 instead.
     
  9. magdale

    magdale

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H77N-WIFI 10.8.2
    CPU:
    i3-3225
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 31, 2013 at 8:44 PM #39
    magdale

    magdale

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H77N-WIFI 10.8.2
    CPU:
    i3-3225
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thank jmpa! Your build is interesting too. Just one question...have you try airplay video and sound...is It work?
     
  10. mrmatt

    mrmatt

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA 670
    Apr 1, 2013 at 1:51 AM #40
    mrmatt

    mrmatt

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA 670
    Haha, no problem. Thanks for your help, I'll check out the buyer's forum.
     

Share This Page