Contribute
Register

Big Sur vs Monterey (Music Production)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH Mobo with Thunderbolt 3
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700K Processor (4 GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 8 MB cache, LGA1151 Socket Box)
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse Radeon Rx 570 4gb Gddr5 Graphics Card
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,

I just wanted to gauge some opinions on if it's worth going for a fresh install of Big Sur vs Monterey?

I'm a music producer and the plan is to create the most compatible setup for working flawlessly with audio programs. I am currently running High Seira which is working perfectly so I haven't needed to change anything, but I'm now being forced to upgrade the OS due to specific programs requiring a newer OS to run the latest versions.
  • MB: Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH Mobo with Thunderbolt 3
  • CPU: Intel Core i7 6700K Processor
  • GPU: Sapphire Pulse Radeon Rx 570 4gb Gddr5 Graphics Card
  • RAM: Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 64 GB Kit DDR4
  • Boot Drive: Samsung 860 Evo SSD
I'm considering Big Sur due to it being out for quite some time and would likely be the most stable and compatible with my current hardware.

Truly value any thoughts or suggestions you might have!

Thanks,
Dale

I'm considering Big Sur due to it being out for quite some time and would likely be the most stable and compatible with my current hardware.
That's probably the best way to go. You can always upgrade to Monterey later on if needed. Going back to Big Sur from Monterey is rather difficult to do. Easier to do that on a hackintosh than on a Mac but Big Sur still makes the most sense right now.

Thanks so much for the reply mate. Just to double check, all the hardware I currently have is 100% compatible with big sur? From all my research everything does seem to work but no harm in double checking.

Perfect, thanks again :)