Contribute
Register

Audio - HDMI Audio AppleHDA [Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,092
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
However, there is no audio source available for the DisplayPort option. I tried two different DP cables with the same result.
The HDMI option only appears in the sound preferences when a HDMI connection is actually there.
HDMI audio only shows when a HDMI audio device is attached by design.
The DP cable must say it supports DP audio, many do not. What DP device is connected?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
505
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have a monitor connected via DP, an Asus PB238Q.

http://www.asus.com/Monitors_Projectors/PB238Q/specifications/

I do not know much about the stock DP cable that it ships with other than it says BizLink on one side of the connector and has the DP symbol on the other side.

But, I am currently using a StarTech DISPLPORT6L 6 foot cable which claims the following:

"The DP cable supports high resolutions of up to 4k x 2k (3840 x 2160) @ 60Hz with a maximum HBR2 bandwidth of 21.6 Gbps. The cable also supports Multi-Stream (MST) for daisy chaining multiple monitors and provides optional audio support."

http://www.startech.com/Cables/Audio-Video/DisplayPort/6ft-DisplayPort-Cable-with-Latches-Male-to-Male-DP-to-DP~DISPLPORT6L
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H87M-D3H
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi Toleda,

I need help. I've been able to doing the HDMI for Mavericks, but no for Yosemite, because i have errors:
1. Run MaciASL and in preferences i put https://raw.github.com/toleda/audio_hdmi_8series_master;
2. Patch;
3. 8series-clean-compile then apply, close;
4. Compile;

Screen Shot 2014-10-30 at 19.27.00.jpg
5. Patch again and select Audio_ID: 1 supports HD4600/Nvidia HDMI and 3,5 and 6 port ALC8XX onboard audio;
6. Compile again and now the problem:

Screen Shot 2014-10-30 at 19.27.51.jpg

7. I have a dsdt.aml create for first time that is /Extra
8. Launch DCPIManager and click Rebuid cache;
9. Restart. Here my DCPI info:

Screen Shot 2014-10-30 at 19.34.20.jpg

... but i can't have HDMI audio in my monitor like i was before. Something wrong with this approach?

Thanks,
LP
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H87M-D3H
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Ok, Toleda

Send you the dsdt.aml file.

LP
 

Attachments

  • DSDT.aml
    51.5 KB · Views: 145

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,092
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Send you the dsdt.aml file.
Clean_Compile 3 times, once is recommended.
Click on the error: Name already exists in scope ....
Remove the line
Repeat until 0 errors
Save and Install.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top