Contribute
Register

Asus VivoBook S400CA - USB3 & RAM

Joined
Mar 19, 2014
Messages
1,007
Motherboard
Dell i7567 (Clover v4k+)
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 630 + nVidia GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi everybody,

I'm here to attempt to address 2 problem's I've been having with my Asus VivoBook S400CA lately. I got my Crucial 4GB RAM stick today and put it in the extra DIMM slot in my laptop, and while it performs like it should in OS X (it has 8GB memory, runs fine), it reports in System Information that I only have 1 DIMM (there's two: soldered and one I put in), and all the RAM info is off (Maker, RAM SN, etc.), and in GeekBench it reports "8GB 0MHz RAM"... Clearly a problem here... :lol:

The other problem that I have is USB3. Yes, I know USB3 is a notoriously bad problem on OS X, but I'm wondering if there's any well-knowledged person that would like to help me out here. The USB chipset is Intel (so it should work natively, but doesn't :think:) Ivy Bridge, 7 Series. Currently, anything I plug into the USB3 hub (even USB3 things), get loaded onto the USB2 (USBEHCI) controller, and for USB3 to work optimally it would load on the USB3 (USBXHCI) controller, although it's very complicated to get working...

If anyone would help that would be extremely appreciated!

Cheers!

-Duncan

EDIT: Forgot to mention that I'm running Clover v3174 on OS X Yosemite. Whoops :p
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,716
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi everybody,

I'm here to attempt to address 2 problem's I've been having with my Asus VivoBook S400CA lately. I got my Crucial 4GB RAM stick today and put it in the extra DIMM slot in my laptop, and while it performs like it should in OS X (it has 8GB memory, runs fine), it reports in System Information that I only have 1 DIMM (there's two: soldered and one I put in), and all the RAM info is off (Maker, RAM SN, etc.), and in GeekBench it reports "8GB 0MHz RAM"... Clearly a problem here... :lol:
Try:
config.plist/SMBIOS/Trust=true

The other problem that I have is USB3. Yes, I know USB3 is a notoriously bad problem on OS X, but I'm wondering if there's any well-knowledged person that would like to help me out here. The USB chipset is Intel (so it should work natively, but doesn't :think:) Ivy Bridge, 7 Series. Currently, anything I plug into the USB3 hub (even USB3 things), get loaded onto the USB2 (USBEHCI) controller, and for USB3 to work optimally it would load on the USB3 (USBXHCI) controller, although it's very complicated to get working...

If anyone would help that would be extremely appreciated!
Did you install GenericUSBXHCI.kext (should be avoided). Are the devices you're plugging in USB3 or USB2 devices?
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2014
Messages
1,007
Motherboard
Dell i7567 (Clover v4k+)
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 630 + nVidia GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
Try:
config.plist/SMBIOS/Trust=true



Did you install GenericUSBXHCI.kext (should be avoided). Are the devices you're plugging in USB3 or USB2 devices?
Setting trust to true in config.plist only solves about 1/2 the issues...
-OS X now detects both RAM DIMMS (BANK0/DIMM0, BANK0/DIMM2) with correct speeds
-GeekBench shows correct RAM speeds and capacity
The only thing left though, and I think this may be on the manufacturer side:
-Still shows 0F0F0F0F0 for RAM SN and Unknown details for RAM info (Manufacturer, SN, etc.)

I think I've tried it before back in Mavericks, yet I've avoided it for a few reasons...Do I have to revert back to it? Hopefully not :lol:

Cheers!
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2014
Messages
1,007
Motherboard
Dell i7567 (Clover v4k+)
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 630 + nVidia GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
Setting trust to true in config.plist only solves about 1/2 the issues...
-OS X now detects both RAM DIMMS (BANK0/DIMM0, BANK0/DIMM2) with correct speeds
-GeekBench shows correct RAM speeds and capacity
The only thing left though, and I think this may be on the manufacturer side:
-Still shows 0F0F0F0F0 for RAM SN and Unknown details for RAM info (Manufacturer, SN, etc.)

I think I've tried it before back in Mavericks, yet I've avoided it for a few reasons...Do I have to revert back to it? Hopefully not :lol:

Cheers!
Alright, after testing, GenericUSBXHCI DOES work, but I'm not sure if I should use it long-term / permanently. Is there any way to get my USB3 controller (Intel) working natively? We tried to solve this a while ago, yet we have no prevail ... :think:
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,716
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Alright, after testing, GenericUSBXHCI DOES work, but I'm not sure if I should use it long-term / permanently. Is there any way to get my USB3 controller (Intel) working natively? We tried to solve this a while ago, yet we have no prevail ... :think:
There are some DSDT patches you can try for native USB3. They tend to be laptop/DSDT specific though.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2014
Messages
1,007
Motherboard
Dell i7567 (Clover v4k+)
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 630 + nVidia GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
There are some DSDT patches you can try for native USB3. They tend to be laptop/DSDT specific though.
Yea, I've tried those before, yet it's notoriously complicated to get working right, with all the multiplexing stuff.

Anyway, do you know how to fix the other problem that the RAM isn't being recognized? I'm thinking it may be a hardware thing...
View attachment RAM1.tiff

Thanks for all your help! :D
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,716
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Mar 19, 2014
Messages
1,007
Motherboard
Dell i7567 (Clover v4k+)
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 630 + nVidia GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sorry to keep adding problems / wants to this thread, but I hope this is the last.

Anyway, whenever I restart / shutdown my HackBook, it KP's trying to unload GenericUSBXHCI. Is there any way around this other than uninstalling it? :think:

Cheers!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,716
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sorry to keep adding problems / wants to this thread, but I hope this is the last.

Anyway, whenever I restart / shutdown my HackBook, it KP's trying to unload GenericUSBXHCI. Is there any way around this other than uninstalling it? :think:

Cheers!
Perhaps you have the wrong version of GenericUSBXHCI.kext?
 
Top