Apple Reveals macOS 10.14 Mojave at WWDC - Available Fall 2018

Discussion in 'Apple News & Rumors' started by tonymacx86, Jun 4, 2018.

  1. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,145
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Jun 12, 2018 at 10:43 PM #161
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,145
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    iMac Pro iFixit teardown SSD:
    They might use similar Samsung memory in other iMac Pros of course. There's no dedicated SSD controller, its handled by the ARM T2 chip.
     
    izo1 likes this.
  2. stopeatingapple

    stopeatingapple

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Jun 14, 2018 at 11:24 PM #162
    stopeatingapple

    stopeatingapple

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    hi sorry for the late reply I been very busy fixing the house painting and stuff like that, usually I use my computer everyday but I was very busy and tired and I didn't turn it on, there is your answer like I suspect it, it is the firmware, you might think that is only with APFS but if you have another spare drive, simply install windows on that spare drive, boot up then format the 960 in NTFS and run a few benchmarks then you will see that it will also happens on windows using NTFS, sorry for the bad news, you can contact Samsung and they can replace the drive for one with an older firmware or give you a credit for you to buy a new 970, simply use google and search for this

    3B7QCXE7 crap

    since I can provide a direct link outside the forum
    sorry for the word , I didn't use the word but I was accepted in Samsung forum so I guess is not a bad word
    is up to you now if you want to contact samsung, depending on how long since you have the drive
    but I'm sure if you know what to say they will have to do something about it
    like send you a 960 with a good firmware or replace the drive for something else

    thank you for posting the firmware
    try in windows and you'll see that it will happens in windows too
    but really don't waste your time
    simply read the messages in Samsung forum
     
    izo1 and pastrychef like this.
  3. stopeatingapple

    stopeatingapple

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Jun 14, 2018 at 11:32 PM #163
    stopeatingapple

    stopeatingapple

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    check this out izo1
    4 samsung 970 raid0 almost 12,000 read
    maybe if I OC my CPU I can get all the way up to 12,000
    but I'm happy with those numbers

    I understand the risk of raid0, this just for extreme speed
    I have two 4 TB drives that I use for data storage
    I have the same data on both drives
    not a raid1
    I call this method a dual back or a backup of a backup
    cheers
    :headbang:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    maclover95 and izo1 like this.
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2018
  4. izo1

    izo1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    958
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X299 Designare EX
    CPU:
    i9-7900x
    Graphics:
    Vega FE 16GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 15, 2018 at 12:29 AM #164
    izo1

    izo1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    958
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X299 Designare EX
    CPU:
    i9-7900x
    Graphics:
    Vega FE 16GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Whoa that's a crazy setup. Extreeeeeeeeeme speeds :headbang:

    You can always slap Time Machine on that 2TB RAID0 and you should be ok. (Or put in a 2TB internal HD to do daily/hourly backups with Carbon Copy Cloner, orrr....you can do it manually). The Samsungs (I was wrong on this) were not used on the iMac Pro actually, they use SanDisk NAND and T2 controller, but Samsung is pretty solid has a low failure rate. I must've bought more than 15-20 Samsung SSDs in the last few years, no problems. Your PRO versions are top tier NAND and Controller.

    You might be saturating the PCIe lanes with so many NVMe's, but I think that's a good speed you have going. Are you doing capturing/editing?
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2018
  5. AlphaFox

    AlphaFox

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    579
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, SE/30
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 15, 2018 at 1:33 AM #165
    AlphaFox

    AlphaFox

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    579
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, SE/30
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    dude. just stop. QQ much?
     
  6. stopeatingapple

    stopeatingapple

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Jun 15, 2018 at 1:51 AM #166
    stopeatingapple

    stopeatingapple

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    I have a 40 lanes CPU, right now I'm only using three 4x pci-e adapters and one of the 970 is on the motherboard, my board support 4x m.2, it only has one slot for m.2 drive but that's enough to run the 4 drives setup, I had two 16x cards from amfeltec but I returned them, is really along story but I do not recommend that company at all, I just had a horrible experience dealing with them, I had 8 Samsung 960 EVO running 4 on each card and went all the way up to 18,000 but the Evo's drop speed very fast even if you use a single EVO, so it wasn't a raid problem, EVO's are just build like that, that's why I decided to go back to the PRO's and I changed my board for one that has at least one onboard 4X M.2 slot, my previous board has only one but at 2X that's why I was forced to buy an expensive card just to have the four drives, but now my system is back on business the way I like it, anyway thanks, just waiting for Mojave, just love the new dark theme and the features.

    yes I have a Phantom 4 Pro drone and I do videos in 4K so I do editing and rendering AKA encoding
     
    zlei likes this.
  7. izo1

    izo1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    958
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X299 Designare EX
    CPU:
    i9-7900x
    Graphics:
    Vega FE 16GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 15, 2018 at 6:36 AM #167
    izo1

    izo1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    958
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X299 Designare EX
    CPU:
    i9-7900x
    Graphics:
    Vega FE 16GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    That's really cool. Are you using VROC?

    I'm waiting for PRO prices to fall so I can get multiple for RAID0 like you. I work in Adobe a lot (all apps) and do get heavy 6+k Red and other kinds, quick SSDs really help for cutting/exporting.

    Definitely the Drone files are unbearable (I think it's just the way their encoder is), I usually convert those MP4's to ProRes HQ via Media Encoder before using.

    And Mojave dark mode is good for creative professionals, I'm looking forward. I'll probably jump on it by 10.14.2. High Sierra 10.13 was really buggy for me, I held off for a while until High Sierra was around 10.13.1/2

    Since you know a lot about storage, I want to get an external raid, maybe a SAS raid....any good SAS cards for macOS that work OOB? Or should I go with TB3 prebuilts? (They are kind of pricey)...my X299 board has onboard TB3 and I still haven't tested it yet. :geek:
     
  8. maclover95

    maclover95

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    90
    Motherboard:
    Acer aspire 7
    CPU:
    i7 7700HQ
    Graphics:
    HD630/GTX1050TI
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jun 15, 2018 at 12:16 PM #168
    maclover95

    maclover95

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    90
    Motherboard:
    Acer aspire 7
    CPU:
    i7 7700HQ
    Graphics:
    HD630/GTX1050TI
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    And who are you to tell me what to do ?
     
  9. kingduglu

    kingduglu

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus X
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 8700K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 1070
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Jun 18, 2018 at 12:54 PM #169
    kingduglu

    kingduglu

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus X
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 8700K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 1070
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    the issue was clover.. I haven't been using the nightly but I figured it out by now... just no web drivers sucks
     
  10. ModBot

    ModBot Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,479
    Motherboard:
    01010
    CPU:
    10101
    Graphics:
    01010
    Jun 19, 2018 at 11:44 PM #170
    ModBot

    ModBot Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,479
    Motherboard:
    01010
    CPU:
    10101
    Graphics:
    01010
    Any post discussing installing or using a Mojave developer build will be removed.

    Multiple post removals for this will result in an account suspension.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice