Apple Reveals macOS 10.14 Mojave at WWDC - Available Fall 2018

Discussion in 'Apple News & Rumors' started by tonymacx86, Jun 4, 2018.

  1. stopeatingapple

    stopeatingapple

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Jun 12, 2018 at 11:47 AM #151
    stopeatingapple

    stopeatingapple

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    exactly :thumbup::clap:
     
    maclover95 likes this.
  2. maclover95

    maclover95

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire 7 A715-71G-71WT
    CPU:
    i7-7700HQ
    Graphics:
    intel HD630, GTX 1050 Ti, GTX780
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Jun 12, 2018 at 12:43 PM #152
    maclover95

    maclover95

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire 7 A715-71G-71WT
    CPU:
    i7-7700HQ
    Graphics:
    intel HD630, GTX 1050 Ti, GTX780
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other

    He asked not you right you went all salty and bully on me but it did not work so now you keep being salty ??
     
  3. maclover95

    maclover95

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire 7 A715-71G-71WT
    CPU:
    i7-7700HQ
    Graphics:
    intel HD630, GTX 1050 Ti, GTX780
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Jun 12, 2018 at 12:52 PM #153
    maclover95

    maclover95

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire 7 A715-71G-71WT
    CPU:
    i7-7700HQ
    Graphics:
    intel HD630, GTX 1050 Ti, GTX780
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other

    I am on 3B7QCXE7 Firmware
     
    stopeatingapple likes this.
  4. Gigamaxx

    Gigamaxx

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3,410
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
    CPU:
    I5 6500
    Graphics:
    RX 480
    Mac:
    iMac
    Jun 12, 2018 at 2:18 PM #154
    Gigamaxx

    Gigamaxx

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3,410
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
    CPU:
    I5 6500
    Graphics:
    RX 480
    Mac:
    iMac
    And historically they also use Hitachi and Toshiba drives. I’ve got 4 sandisk SSDs and they never give me any problems.
     
  5. Gigamaxx

    Gigamaxx

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3,410
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
    CPU:
    I5 6500
    Graphics:
    RX 480
    Mac:
    iMac
    Jun 12, 2018 at 2:37 PM #155
    Gigamaxx

    Gigamaxx

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3,410
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
    CPU:
    I5 6500
    Graphics:
    RX 480
    Mac:
    iMac
    Well put, and I’ve been reading up a bit on this issue and it also seems there are also software compatibility issues. Steam, Adobe and a few other Pro apps that are not very compatible with apfs most of which have been updated to be more compatible. It’s a new system and there are a lot of variables to consider but in general it has worked well for most users and programs. I think trim is the key. If you dont clean it up it can get messy or if you interrupt a trim shutdown by cutting power then your asking for trouble IMO.
     
    pastrychef likes this.
  6. izo1

    izo1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,315
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X299 Designare EX
    CPU:
    i9-7900X
    Graphics:
    Vega FE
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 12, 2018 at 6:29 PM #156
    izo1

    izo1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,315
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X299 Designare EX
    CPU:
    i9-7900X
    Graphics:
    Vega FE
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apple uses Samsung in most of their Macs afaik

    The iMac pro uses raid 0 samsung afaik
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2018
  7. izo1

    izo1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,315
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X299 Designare EX
    CPU:
    i9-7900X
    Graphics:
    Vega FE
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 12, 2018 at 6:45 PM #157
    izo1

    izo1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,315
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X299 Designare EX
    CPU:
    i9-7900X
    Graphics:
    Vega FE
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I can confirm slower booting on 1TB 970 Pro compared to an older SM951 that I had previously.

    Trim is enabled by default on nvme drives in high Sierra.

    I don’t mins the longer boot time as the system flies when it’s logged in. It’s only maybe a 20 second difference and my machine is on all the time.
     
  8. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,272
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Jun 12, 2018 at 10:43 PM #158
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,272
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    iMac Pro iFixit teardown SSD:
    They might use similar Samsung memory in other iMac Pros of course. There's no dedicated SSD controller, its handled by the ARM T2 chip.
     
    izo1 likes this.
  9. stopeatingapple

    stopeatingapple

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Jun 14, 2018 at 11:24 PM #159
    stopeatingapple

    stopeatingapple

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    hi sorry for the late reply I been very busy fixing the house painting and stuff like that, usually I use my computer everyday but I was very busy and tired and I didn't turn it on, there is your answer like I suspect it, it is the firmware, you might think that is only with APFS but if you have another spare drive, simply install windows on that spare drive, boot up then format the 960 in NTFS and run a few benchmarks then you will see that it will also happens on windows using NTFS, sorry for the bad news, you can contact Samsung and they can replace the drive for one with an older firmware or give you a credit for you to buy a new 970, simply use google and search for this

    3B7QCXE7 crap

    since I can provide a direct link outside the forum
    sorry for the word , I didn't use the word but I was accepted in Samsung forum so I guess is not a bad word
    is up to you now if you want to contact samsung, depending on how long since you have the drive
    but I'm sure if you know what to say they will have to do something about it
    like send you a 960 with a good firmware or replace the drive for something else

    thank you for posting the firmware
    try in windows and you'll see that it will happens in windows too
    but really don't waste your time
    simply read the messages in Samsung forum
     
    izo1 and pastrychef like this.
  10. stopeatingapple

    stopeatingapple

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Jun 14, 2018 at 11:32 PM #160
    stopeatingapple

    stopeatingapple

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    check this out izo1
    4 samsung 970 raid0 almost 12,000 read
    maybe if I OC my CPU I can get all the way up to 12,000
    but I'm happy with those numbers

    I understand the risk of raid0, this just for extreme speed
    I have two 4 TB drives that I use for data storage
    I have the same data on both drives
    not a raid1
    I call this method a dual back or a backup of a backup
    cheers
    :headbang:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    maclover95 and izo1 like this.
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2018

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice