Contribute
Register

AirPlay with Nvidia card

Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi,

I can't activate the mirroring screen with AirPlay, just the sound.

This is my hardware :
- Asus Maximus Formula VII (Z97)
- Intel i7-4790K
- GTX 770 2Go
- 32Go RAM
- SSD (OS) HDD (Data)
- Apple Broadcom BCM94360CD (Wifi + Bluetooth)

This is my config :
- Quick Start > UEFI Boot Mode
- Drivers > Audio > Realtek ALCxxx > ALC1150
- Drivers > Misc > FakeSMC
- Drivers > Network > Intel > AppleIntelE1000e
- Drivers > USB > Increase Max Port Limit
- Bootloaders > Clover
- Customize > System Definitions > iMac > iMac 15,1

Generate my SSDT with ssdtPRGen script.

Activate my screen with this solution : (AGDPfix, or the new solution with 2 kexts).
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/black-screen-with-macpro-6-1-or-imac-15-or-imac-17-system-definition.183113/

Sound with my Nvidia card with clover patch "audio_cloverHDMI-120.command".

I can play music with AirPlay on my Apple TV 3, but I can't use mirroring. Do you have a solution for me on MacOS Sierra ?

Thanks
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,453
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
In my BIOS I checked the display option to "Auto", If I used IGPU > black screen but it's normal I think so.
Thanks for your help, but it's for Mavericks and other "old" system OS, not for Sierra.

With my Clover script, I can have HDMI Audio and AirPlay Audio, it's not possible with graphic screen ?
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Yep !

I tested with this, I have a black screen on clover bootloader but after boot my screen works without AirPlay…

<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
<key>ig-platform-id</key>
<string>0D220003</string>
<key>Inject</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<false/>
<key>Intel</key>
<true/>
<key>NVidia</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>NvidiaSingle</key>
<false/>
</dict>

Any idea ?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
127
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme
CPU
i7 5930k
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Mirroring requires Intel QuickSynch, only available with enabled Intel HD graphics.
See AMD/Nvidia Primary Display with AirPlay Mirroring
Note: May not work in Sierra; Intel must be primary. If not, try
Integrated and Discrete Graphics, Working Together
Hi Toleda, I was also trying to find out how to use Airplay with nVIDIA graphics and fell here. In my case, my mainboard is using an LGA 2011-v3 Haswell-E Core i7 5930k and this CPU doesn't have integrated graphics. I am using a GTX 970 as graphics card and with the lack of QuickSync there is no Airplay as you've mentioned above.

However, I'm curious how does the MacPro 2013 (Trashcan) achieve mirroring since it's board is using an LGA 2011-v3 socket which is very similar to mine and which also doesn't have an Intel discrete graphics card. Do you have any idea? Thanks beforehand.
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,453
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm curious how does the MacPro 2013 (Trashcan) achieve mirroring
Special Apple arrangement with Intel (a dedicated video encoding and decoding hardware core located on the processor die and required drivers); applies to MacPro6,1 and iMacPro1,1.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
127
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme
CPU
i7 5930k
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Special Apple arrangement with Intel (a dedicated video encoding and decoding hardware core located on the processor die and required drivers); applies to MacPro6,1 and iMacPro1,1.
Oh, alright. Thanks @toleda. But I am a little confused about this in the sense that from what I've learned, and also from what many users of the genuine MacPro 2013 have been reporting, is that it does not have a dedicated QuickSync chip and that they suffer the same massive performance hit when compressing H.264 like on non QuickSync enable devices. So, if that QuickSync chip is not present, my assumption is that something else must be playing the trick here. Could that be? Thanks beforehand.
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,453
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
many users of the genuine MacPro 2013 have been reporting, is that it does not have a dedicated QuickSync chip
No hardware, no AirPlay Mirroring option; as you found.
The MacPro6,1 and iMacPro1,1 have the AirPlay Mirroring option enabled with custom Xeon processors.
 
Top