Contribute
Register

Adding/Using HiDPI custom resolutions

Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
911
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Because it's the only timing that works for 3840x2160/60Hz. The standard timing is double, which is fine for 30Hz, but 3840x2160/60Hz displays just a green line at the top of the screen.

Note: That 'standard' timing works on my PC with Windows.

No. I'm referencing the timing that works and exported the EDID from SwitchResX.

Standard resolution (timing) does not work, so I had to create a custom one. Standard HiDPI mode does not work, so I had to create a custom one (with additional 2 vertical pixels as mentioned in this thread before).
I can't parse this.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
Macbook Pro
CPU
i5
Graphics
intel
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi to everyone.

I bought Dell P2421DC (2K, USB-C Monitor) past week. The monitor worked fine with Windows and Raspberry. But when I connected to Macbook I got a really bad image at 2560x1440 resolution. So, I am tried scaled resolutions tool and I still can't use hidpi at high resolutions.1920x1080 is the highest resolution I can use with hidpi. At 1920x1080 resolution, the image is better, but the fonts look a little bad. The 1366x768 resolution fonts and the display are good, but the resolution is very low, making it very useless. Shouldn't I be able to get a good display at least in 1080p on this monitor? 2K monitor insufficient for Macbook?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
911
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
joevt, I can force RGB with this: https://gist.github.com/adaugherity/7435890
But, how do I force RGB with SwitchResX working? (The above overrides SwitchResX, and vice versa).
1) Open the override file created by adaugherity EDID script, copy the IODisplayEDID and paste it into the override file created by SwitchResX (replacing the EDID that SwitchResX created).
2) Delete the override file created by adaugherity EDID script.
3) Redo the changes you made in SwitchResX.

Or

1) Delete the override file created by SwitchResX (or set to Factory Defaults)
2) Disconnect and reconnect the display. Now it should use the adaugherity EDID script.
3) Redo the changes you made in SwitchResX. SwitchResX should start with the EDID from the script and add it's custom resolutions to that.
 

dwa

Joined
Oct 26, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
b450
CPU
Ryzen 3600x
Graphics
1050gti
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey guys, thanks to this thread I successfully set "sharp" resolution to my Lenovo P27q-10 monitor (2560x1440 native). I set 2304x1296 HiDPI using switchresX and RDM, and I like it, however I noticed that the monitor randomly goes off, like it is not connected to the macbook (13" 2020 i5/1TB/32GB). Can be this linked to the new resolution (before I set that resolution everything was ok with the monitor). When I reconnect the adapter (USB-A, HDMI and USB-C) the monitor is back (I'm using HDMI).
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370XP SLI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys, thanks to this thread I successfully set "sharp" resolution to my Lenovo P27q-10 monitor (2560x1440 native). I set 2304x1296 HiDPI using switchresX and RDM, and I like it, however I noticed that the monitor randomly goes off, like it is not connected to the macbook (13" 2020 i5/1TB/32GB). Can be this linked to the new resolution (before I set that resolution everything was ok with the monitor). When I reconnect the adapter (USB-A, HDMI and USB-C) the monitor is back (I'm using HDMI).
I have a similar Lenovo monitor (L24q-20 2560x1440 native) but only get 720p HiDPI. Could you please let us know how you enabled 2304x1296 HiDPI with your monitor?
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370XP SLI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm replacing my 2K native monitor with another just to be able to have 2K (or at least 1080p) HiDPI display. Will any 4K native monitor allow 2K or 1080p HiDPI? Please advise.
 
Last edited:

dwa

Joined
Oct 26, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
b450
CPU
Ryzen 3600x
Graphics
1050gti
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have a similar Lenovo monitor (L24q-20 2560x1440 native) but only get 720p HiDPI. Could you please let us know how you enabled 2304x1296 HiDPI with your monitor?
I'm using switchresX to add new resolutions, the math is very easy, you have to add resolution 2x of the HiDPI resolution that you want, for example if you want 1080p, add 3840x2160. After that I'm using RDM to select the desired resolution.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370XP SLI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm using switchresX to add new resolutions, the math is very easy, you have to add resolution 2x of the HiDPI resolution that you want, for example if you want 1080p, add 3840x2160. After that I'm using RDM to select the desired resolution.
Ok, thank you. I'll try to add a custom resolution similar to yours (2304x1296) and see how it works.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
From Apple macbook pro 2019
CPU
I9 Intel
Graphics
AMD Radeon 560X
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi RehabMan,
let's start fresh on this issue.
I've managed to better understand the DisplayPreference file and now i can add all the HiDPI resolutions i want and select them using RDM (see attached pictures) BUT i'm facing a problem waking the monitor (when become black from inactivity). When i use some particular HiDPI resolutions like 1664x936 or 1536x864 when the laptop wake from sleep (or from black screen due to inactivity) the display scale is wrong. The image is on the top left corner of the monitor and the rest of the monitor space is black(see picture).
I think it's important to say that if i let the screen goes black (for inactivity) and then press a key to switch the monitor on the image is of the right size and everything seems ok but after login i've graphical glitches (for example moving the mouse leave a trail of the precedent mouse position).
If i use 1440x810 (still HiDPI) i don't have this problem. I thought it was because of the huge resolution (1536x864 hidpi means 3072x1728 if i correctly understand how HiDPI works) but then i tried 1920x1080 HiDPI and using this resolution cause no problem after sleep so i don't know what to think anymore.
Attached you will find the RP file as requested and also the DisplayPreference i'm currently using.

Thanks for your help
Mattia
Is it possible to have the LG 34WN95U-W using 5120x2160 using HiDIP with a macbook pro 15” mid 2019 with this technique that you showed there? Not Apple or LG can help...
 
Top