Contribute
Register

Adding/Using HiDPI custom resolutions

Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
10
Motherboard
ASUSTeK N56VB
CPU
i7-3630QM
Graphics
HD4000
Enter the scaled resolutions listed below (skip 2560x1080 and 5120x2160). If they don't work, then try adding 2 pixels to the height (e.g. 2560x1082, 3072x1296, ..., 4608x1946)

Thank you very much! Now it's much more better.
But some of settings are invalid.
I tried to change adding 2 pixels to 4096x1730 and 4608x1946 but then 3072x1296 and 3584x1512 are invalid.

Xnip2020-05-02_14-03-43.jpg


@joevt Do you know how to fix it?
Thank you very much once again!
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
940
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you very much! Now it's much more better.
But some of settings are invalid.
I tried to change adding 2 pixels to 4096x1730 and 4608x1946 but then 3072x1296 and 3584x1512 are invalid.

@joevt Do you know how to fix it?
Thank you very much once again!
You are using Intel graphics which doesn't support width 4096 or greater. Therefore you must use a width that is less than 4096.

3968x1674 is a perfect 64:27 ratio.
4032x1701 is also perfect but it has an odd height so the HiDPI mode might not be perfect. I think it will work though.
4095x1728 is near to the perfect 4096x1728 option. So try that. Decrease the width further if it doesn't work.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
940
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You are using Intel graphics which doesn't support width 4096 or greater. Therefore you must use a width that is less than 4096.
Actually, current Intel graphics supports scaled resolutions wider than 4096 but maybe HD4000 Intel graphics does not.
I guess you should research WhateverGreen, Lilu, and Hackintool frame buffer flags.
 
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
256 SSD
CPU
3.1 GHz Intel Core i5
Graphics
Intel Iris Plus Graphics 650
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Hello,

I recently bought BenQ EX3203r monitor (2560*1440) and tried to connect it with MacBook pro 2017 but I'm struggling with the blurry text.
I tried to enable 1080p HiDPI on SwitchResX but it didn't work.
I spent the last 48hrs trying to a fix the problem but I couldn't :(
Is there any possible solution? Or should I return it and get a 4k display?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
10
Motherboard
ASUSTeK N56VB
CPU
i7-3630QM
Graphics
HD4000
4095x1728 is near to the perfect 4096x1728 option. So try that. Decrease the width further if it doesn't work.
Thank you very much! Works very good!
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
940
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

I recently bought BenQ EX3203r monitor (2560*1440) and tried to connect it with MacBook pro 2017 but I'm struggling with the blurry text.
I tried to enable 1080p HiDPI on SwitchResX but it didn't work.
I spent the last 48hrs trying to a fix the problem but I couldn't :(
Is there any possible solution? Or should I return it and get a 4k display?
Try creating a 3840x2162 scaled resolution. Then choose 1920x1081 HiDPI mode?
 
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
256 SSD
CPU
3.1 GHz Intel Core i5
Graphics
Intel Iris Plus Graphics 650
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Try creating a 3840x2162 scaled resolution. Then choose 1920x1081 HiDPI mode?
Not working. Nothing has changed after clicking on it
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 1441-09-12 at 1.03.09 PM.png
    Screen Shot 1441-09-12 at 1.03.09 PM.png
    240 KB · Views: 194
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
940
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Not working. Nothing has changed after clicking on it
Why doesn't it say that it is scaled? Double click it to show what you did.
 
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
826
Motherboard
GA-Z370N-WiFi
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Douirc I have the same monitor with the same issue on About this Mac. For me, if I keep windows open and reboot, when the system logs in, it moved the windows up making the top bar inaccessible. Its as though it logs in as 4K and then immediately switches to 5K. Is this happening to you?

@joevt I will go through the previous entries in this thread later today and post your suggestions from the other thread here.

Thanks!

Do you guys still have and use the Planar IX2790 5k Monitor?

Did anyone have stuck pixels and/or other issues?

I had one that I just returned and I'm not sure if I should try again with another unit to see if I get a better sample. I'm honestly somewhat convinced they make these exclusively from panels that didn't meet spec coming off the assembly line and were thus rejected for Apple iMac 5k and LG Ultrafine 5k usage.

But - I'd love to hear if maybe some people did get a defect free perfect panel and which retailer you may have used if so?

Thank you so much!
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
Gigabyte 5700XT
Hello, folks, I've tried to go through this topic and find a solution, but it's a bit hard without topic search function...

So, I have : 2xSamsung 4K LU28R55 (28" 16:9 3840X2160 @ 60 Hz) in portrait mode and LG 34WN750 (34" 21:9 3440x1440 @ 75Hz) 5 (28" 16:9 3840x2160 @ 60Hz) in portrait mode and LG 34WN750 (34" 21:9 3440x1440 @ 75Hz) in landscape connected to 5700XT / 10.15.6 via display port cables

My main issue is with Samsungs as once I enable HiDPI/scaled resolution my cursor position doesn't match position on the screen where I click, which really confused me when i saw it first time also considering that it's lag is not uniform between top and bottom part of the screen.

I would also like to get a couple HiDPI/scaled resolution settings for my main 34" 21:9 screen, as sometimes by the end of day my eyes really can use some break.
I've downloaded switchresX but it looks like I need to create proper modes manually.

Let me know if there are any guides/instructions available, and I will be more than happy to post my configs here once I resolve everything.

Thanks
 
Top