Contribute
Register

Adding/Using HiDPI custom resolutions

Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
MacBook Pro 15" Mid-2015
CPU
i7-4770HQ
Graphics
Iris Pro 5200
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Why did you have to make a custom resolution if your TV supports 4K?

Create a 2560x1440 scaled resolution. That will make a 1280x720 HiDPI resolution. The 2560x1440 will be scaled up to 3840x2160, or whatever resolution you choose as the Scaled resolutions base.

Thanks! My TV didn't accept the standard options. Had huge issues figuring out the correct timing for 60Hz to work.

Update: It works, but the image is much sharper on Windows with the same scaling. Is there a fix for this, or just a limitation of Mac OS?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
949
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks! My TV didn't accept the standard options. Had huge issues figuring out the correct timing for 60Hz to work.

Update: It works, but the image is much sharper on Windows with the same scaling. Is there a fix for this, or just a limitation of Mac OS?
What is the difference between the timing in the EDID and the correct timing? Show the two timings so we can compare.

Not sure what you mean by "sharper".

You are using a MacBook Pro 15" Mid-2015? 2.2 GHz or 2.5 GHz? How are you connecting the TV? It has an HDMI 1.4 port so it cannot to 4K 60Hz from that port. Use a DisplayPort to HDMI 2.0 adapter for that.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
MacBook Pro 15" Mid-2015
CPU
i7-4770HQ
Graphics
Iris Pro 5200
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What is the difference between the timing in the EDID and the correct timing? Show the two timings so we can compare.

The timing that works is the same as in the EDID. That would have saved me some time had I paid more attention. The standard 3840x2160/60Hz in 'Current Resolutions' and CVT-RB in 'Custom Resolution' did not work.

Not sure what you mean by "sharper".

Better than non-HiDPI, but text is fussier than in Windows, which is razor sharp.

You are using a MacBook Pro 15" Mid-2015? 2.2 GHz or 2.5 GHz? How are you connecting the TV? It has an HDMI 1.4 port so it cannot to 4K 60Hz from that port. Use a DisplayPort to HDMI 2.0 adapter for that.

2.2Ghz. I'm using the iVANKY 4K/60Hz MiniDP to HDMI adapter.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
949
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The timing that works is the same as in the EDID. That would have saved me some time had I paid more attention. The standard 3840x2160/60Hz in 'Current Resolutions' and CVT-RB in 'Custom Resolution' did not work.
Now the question is, what is the difference between the timing that works and the timing that doesn't work?
594 MHz is for HDMI 2.0. 533.31 MHz is for DisplayPort.

Better than non-HiDPI, but text is fussier than in Windows, which is razor sharp.

2.2Ghz. I'm using the iVANKY 4K/60Hz MiniDP to HDMI adapter.
Is this the item?
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07BBFR1FJ/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

The picture shows a PTN3361BBS chip which is a level shifter, not a DisplayPort to HDMI 2.0 converter, which means it cannot do 4K 60Hz (unless it is somehow using YCbCr 4:2:0 8 bpc). Maybe they used the wrong picture?

Please attach output from AGDCDiagnose command so we can see the connection type to the adapter.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
MacBook Pro 15" Mid-2015
CPU
i7-4770HQ
Graphics
Iris Pro 5200
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Now the question is, what is the difference between the timing that works and the timing that doesn't work?
594 MHz is for HDMI 2.0. 533.31 MHz is for DisplayPort.
Uploading screenshots.

Yes.

The picture shows a PTN3361BBS chip which is a level shifter, not a DisplayPort to HDMI 2.0 converter, which means it cannot do 4K 60Hz (unless it is somehow using YCbCr 4:2:0 8 bpc). Maybe they used the wrong picture?
My TV says YCbCr 4:2:0 8-bit in both Mac and Windows. Probably limitation of my TV? 'Data Block #8' in EDID seems to state that as well.

What adapter would you recommend I try?

Please attach output from AGDCDiagnose command so we can see the connection type to the adapter.
Attached! Thanks for taking the time to help me :)
 

Attachments

  • AGDCDiagnose_a.txt
    39.3 KB · Views: 46
  • NotWorking.png
    NotWorking.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 60
  • NotWorkingCVT-RB.png
    NotWorkingCVT-RB.png
    949.9 KB · Views: 51
  • Philips FTV.txt
    10.5 KB · Views: 19
  • Working.png
    Working.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 53
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
949
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My TV says YCbCr 4:2:0 8-bit in both Mac and Windows. Probably limitation of my TV? 'Data Block #8' in EDID seems to state that as well.
4:2:0 shouldn't be bad for greyscale text. It's only bad for colored text.

You could try forcing RGB by editing the EDID in the override file (edit the one created by SwitchResX).

But if it says the same thing in macOS and Windows, then this is not the problem.

What adapter would you recommend I try?
AGDCDiagnose seems to indicate that you are connecting with 4 lanes of HBR2 (4 x HBR2) to a Parade PS176
That adapter should have no problem supporting HDMI 2.0.
Code:
translateoui 000-028-248
oui: 0x001CF8 = Parade Technologies, Ltd.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
MacBook Pro 15" Mid-2015
CPU
i7-4770HQ
Graphics
Iris Pro 5200
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
4:2:0 shouldn't be bad for greyscale text. It's only bad for colored text.

Hard to take pictures, but I can't tell a difference between 4:2:0 (60Hz), and 4:4:4 (30Hz). Also, here's an example of how Mac OS is blurry compared to Windows.

EDIT: I messed up and didn't take the chroma pics at 100% scaling so I deleted them. I also found a way to turn on 4:4:4 in my TV and it works on Windows, but not Mac with my old settings. Will mess around and see what happens.
 

Attachments

  • MacOS.jpeg
    MacOS.jpeg
    7.1 MB · Views: 95
  • Windows.jpeg
    Windows.jpeg
    6.2 MB · Views: 91
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
949
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hard to take pictures, but I can't tell a difference between 4:2:0 (60Hz), and 4:4:4 (30Hz). Also, here's an example of how Mac OS is blurry compared to Windows.

EDIT: I messed up and didn't take the chroma pics at 100% scaling so I deleted them. I also found a way to turn on 4:4:4 in my TV and it works on Windows, but not Mac with my old settings. Will mess around and see what happens.
You haven't shown what settings you are using in Windows (or macOS).

Are you using the 1440x720 HiDPI mode in macOS? You know that's only using 2560x1440 scaled up to 3840x2160.
If Windows is using 3840x2160 then of course it's going to look better.

What you want is a 1440x720 HiDPI mode in macOS with a x3 or x4 scale but macOS only lets you use x2 for HiDPI modes.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
MacBook Pro 15" Mid-2015
CPU
i7-4770HQ
Graphics
Iris Pro 5200
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You haven't shown what settings you are using in Windows (or macOS).

Are you using the 1440x720 HiDPI mode in macOS? You know that's only using 2560x1440 scaled up to 3840x2160.
If Windows is using 3840x2160 then of course it's going to look better.

What you want is a 1440x720 HiDPI mode in macOS with a x3 or x4 scale but macOS only lets you use x2 for HiDPI modes.

Running 1280x720p HiDPI, but x2 scaling isn't going to work for me so I will give up on MacOS. Windows works great now and HDR is finally enabled. Youtube HDR is lagging terribly tho (but that's a seperate issue). Thanks for your help :)
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
949
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Running 1280x720p HiDPI, but x2 scaling isn't going to work for me so I will give up on MacOS. Windows works great now and HDR is finally enabled. Youtube HDR is lagging terribly tho (but that's a seperate issue).
Text was too small for you in 1920x1080 HiDPI mode?

I think with iOS Apple must be pretty good at arbitrary scaling.
macOS did have a scale that developers could change with an older version of Quartz Debug.app. Then Apple settled on x2 scale.
The ability to use other scaling factors probably still exists in the macOS but developers have tested their software only with x2 so it might not work well even if you can figure out how to enable it.
 
Last edited:
Top