Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
Dual GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
I edit video for a living, using Premiere CC daily, and Resolve on occasion.

At my freelance gig and main office, we all use Macs with Thunderbolt connections for hard drives all formatted for Macs. I'm looking to build a desktop for editing at home, because my MacBook Pro is around 2.5 years old, and definitely not up for daily use any longer.

I have researched this site for weeks now and am finally ready to get started. I've built over 20 PCs over the last ten years, and this will be my first Hackintosh. I am using the July http://www.tonymacx86.com/buyersguide/july/2016#CustoMac_Pro CustoMac Pro as a baseline.

I'm by no means an expert, and would love to hear some of your experiences in building before I make my buying selections. Specifically, anyone who works with video that can offer feedback, please feel free to do so. So before I go for it, I had some questions.

1 - Graphics Card - The 980 TI is looking like the best option here, as there isn't current or expected support for the Pascal-based cards. I've heard nVidia cards have issues with Final Cut Pro, any idea if this is the case with Premiere as well? Or should this offer performance equal to a PC?

2 - Thunderbolt compatibility - is this a thing? Would it be possible to have true thunderbolt connections on this build.

3 - Case - Would something like this work fine, or must I stick to the one listed? In other words, are there case drivers/requirements I should be on the look out for to remain compatible?
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/cases/carbide-series

4 - Ram is another consideration I've been looking at. I was considering 32gb, what makes the Ballistix Sport the choice here, when there are some faster options.