Contribute
Register

X299 Big Sur Support

Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,372
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Radeon Pro W5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It does have a side mount, as it's a Phanteks Evolv, but side mounting is a bit of a pain in general as I need to take out the PCIe cards behind it sometimes. I guess I can just move it to like slot 6 or whatever the lower slots are that are 16x.

Asus recommends Slot 1 and 5 for GPUs but anything in other slots will make them slots 2-7 x8 unfortunately. At least that’s how I understood the slot allocation lol
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2020
Messages
97
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-DELUXE
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
RX 6900XT
Ok, if you don't need any card it's simpler, you just have to fill in the gaps where it indicates "CHANGE" and the numbering of the "ROM" field, you can open your original config plist and copy the data to mine, with this, you should already be able to boot, in the BIOS remember to deactivate CSM and activate Above 4G, good luck!
With the BIOS info I got it, but with the other stuff, it just flew over my head when it came to: "...fill in the gaps where it indicates "CHANGE" and the numbering of the "ROM" field, you can open your original config plist and copy the data to mine..." So, do I need to do anything with your existing EFI folder, or leave it as it is and just change the BIOS info and try to start it? Thanks.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
92
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime DeLuxe - 3105
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
With the BIOS info I got it, but with the other stuff, it just flew over my head when it came to: "...fill in the gaps where it indicates "CHANGE" and the numbering of the "ROM" field, you can open your original config plist and copy the data to mine..." So, do I need to do anything with your existing EFI folder, or leave it as it is and just change the BIOS info and try to start it? Thanks.
try with the EFI as it is, if you want, publish your config.plist and I'll copy your data to my EFI folder although it is quite easy
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2018
Messages
715
Motherboard
Prime X299-A II
CPU
i9 9980XE
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
anyone here got some experience with Maple Ridge TB4 card like the TBEX 4? Same hot plug / sleep issues as ever? I'd like to add it to my system if it works without flashing firmware or any kind of hardware trickery. Thanks to whoever has some hints!
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
92
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime DeLuxe - 3105
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
With the BIOS info I got it, but with the other stuff, it just flew over my head when it came to: "...fill in the gaps where it indicates "CHANGE" and the numbering of the "ROM" field, you can open your original config plist and copy the data to mine..." So, do I need to do anything with your existing EFI folder, or leave it as it is and just change the BIOS info and try to start it? Thanks.
I have seen that you have a 16 core processor, mine is 18, do you know how to edit the TSCAdjustReset.kext?

I include the modified TSCAdjustReset.kext for your team, you just have to delete the old one (EFI / OC / KEXTS) and put this one, maybe you also need a different SSDT because your processor is two generations prior to mine, now I look at it

I have been looking at the Dortania guide and in theory the 79xx 99xx and 109xx processors use the same SSDt's, so I don't think you have any boot problems, just change the TSCAdjustReset.kext and it should boot, when you are in the OC boot , the first time select "resetNvram", when you restart select your boot disk
 

Attachments

  • TSCAdjustReset.kext.zip
    9.7 KB · Views: 16
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 30, 2020
Messages
97
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-DELUXE
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
RX 6900XT
I have seen that you have a 16 core processor, mine is 18, do you know how to edit the TSCAdjustReset.kext?

I include the modified TSCAdjustReset.kext for your team, you just have to delete the old one (EFI / OC / KEXTS) and put this one, maybe you also need a different SSDT because your processor is two generations prior to mine, now I look at it

I have been looking at the Dortania guide and in theory the 79xx 99xx and 109xx processors use the same SSDt's, so I don't think you have any boot problems, just change the TSCAdjustReset.kext and it should boot, when you are in the OC boot , the first time select "resetNvram", when you restart select your boot disk
Here is my existing EFI file that I was able to use from a user from here (many months ago). I used it and it worked with my existing 1503 BIOS. Which I'm still using. That's why I was asking you about your signature that had "3105." I will upgrade to your current BIOS tonight. Let me know what you find out. Thank you.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    55.4 MB · Views: 23
Joined
Sep 30, 2020
Messages
97
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-DELUXE
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
RX 6900XT
I have seen that you have a 16 core processor, mine is 18, do you know how to edit the TSCAdjustReset.kext?

I include the modified TSCAdjustReset.kext for your team, you just have to delete the old one (EFI / OC / KEXTS) and put this one, maybe you also need a different SSDT because your processor is two generations prior to mine, now I look at it

I have been looking at the Dortania guide and in theory the 79xx 99xx and 109xx processors use the same SSDt's, so I don't think you have any boot problems, just change the TSCAdjustReset.kext and it should boot, when you are in the OC boot , the first time select "resetNvram", when you restart select your boot disk
Well, I just updated my BIOS from 1503 to 3105 and used your EFI folder as is and IT WORKED!!! BUT - once the OS started the fans on the 6900 stopped working. If there is a work around on this fine. If not, that's okay, because I'm going to order a EKWB water block anyway for it. Let me know what I need to change to make the fans work. AGAIN - THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP !!!
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,372
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Radeon Pro W5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
anyone here got some experience with Maple Ridge TB4 card like the TBEX 4? Same hot plug / sleep issues as ever? I'd like to add it to my system if it works without flashing firmware or any kind of hardware trickery. Thanks to whoever has some hints!

Removed this from my github since I no longer have the TBEX 4 but here were my observations:

For Thunderbolt 4, currently the only available Thunderbolt 4 PCIe card is the ASUS ThunderboltEX 4. (Not true anymore since the Gigabyte GC-Maple Ridge and ASRock Thunderbolt 4 AIC are out now)

Current Observations
Note these observations are based on the devices tested listed below. YMMV and issues I'm running into may just be due to these devices.
* Initially ran into issues where card was causing kernel panics in macOS and error code 62 on reboots. Found this issue on the latest BIOS with resizable bar support. Downgraded BIOS to 3302 and the card works normally.
* Thunderbolt header may not necessarily be needed or jumped. macOS recognizes the card on boot without a header plugged in.
* The 6 pin power and USB 2.0 internal cable have to be connected.
* Thunderbolt settings have to be enabled in BIOS. The device loaded in a different slot with Thunderbolt disabled but it showed 'No driver installed'.
* SSDT is required for device to be recognized.

What Works
* Thunderbolt 3 hot-plug
* USB 2.0 hot-plug/cold-plug
* USB 3.1 Gen 2 hot-plug/cold-plug
* Sleep

What Doesn't Work
* Thunderbolt 3 cold/warm boot

Devices Tested
* Sabrent Thunderbolt 3 M.2 NVMe SSD Enclosure (EC-T3NS)

To-Do
* Extract original firmware and try installing custom firmware for Thunderbolt Local Node support. (no custom firmware yet since macOS doesn't have Maple Ridge drivers)
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2018
Messages
715
Motherboard
Prime X299-A II
CPU
i9 9980XE
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Removed this from my github since I no longer have the TBEX 4 but here were my observations:

For Thunderbolt 4, currently the only available Thunderbolt 4 PCIe card is the ASUS ThunderboltEX 4. (Not true anymore since the Gigabyte GC-Maple Ridge and ASRock Thunderbolt 4 AIC are out now)

Current Observations
Note these observations are based on the devices tested listed below. YMMV and issues I'm running into may just be due to these devices.
* Initially ran into issues where card was causing kernel panics in macOS and error code 62 on reboots. Found this issue on the latest BIOS with resizable bar support. Downgraded BIOS to 3302 and the card works normally.
* Thunderbolt header may not necessarily be needed or jumped. macOS recognizes the card on boot without a header plugged in.
* The 6 pin power and USB 2.0 internal cable have to be connected.
* Thunderbolt settings have to be enabled in BIOS. The device loaded in a different slot with Thunderbolt disabled but it showed 'No driver installed'.
* SSDT is required for device to be recognized.

What Works
* Thunderbolt 3 hot-plug
* USB 2.0 hot-plug/cold-plug
* USB 3.1 Gen 2 hot-plug/cold-plug
* Sleep

What Doesn't Work
* Thunderbolt 3 cold/warm boot

Devices Tested
* Sabrent Thunderbolt 3 M.2 NVMe SSD Enclosure (EC-T3NS)

To-Do
* Extract original firmware and try installing custom firmware for Thunderbolt Local Node support. (no custom firmware yet since macOS doesn't have Maple Ridge drivers)
So it may be worth it, but... what do you mean by cold/warm boot not working? how do you use it if can't load up at boot?

How your W5500 is performing? still troubles or you figured it out?

Thanks mate!
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
92
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime DeLuxe - 3105
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, I just updated my BIOS from 1503 to 3105 and used your EFI folder as is and IT WORKED!!! BUT - once the OS started the fans on the 6900 stopped working. If there is a work around on this fine. If not, that's okay, because I'm going to order a EKWB water block anyway for it. Let me know what I need to change to make the fans work. AGAIN - THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP !!!
I'm glad it works for you (everything) since the fan problem is not a problem, most new cards that incorporate 2 or 3 fans have a 0 rpm system, this means that the operating system activates the fans when need it, you can do any test; Valley, Luxmark, etc ... and you will see how the blades turn ... When you can publish any result of your 6900xt, greetings. !!
 
Top