Contribute
Register

VMWare Fusion Is not working with Big Sur

Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
73
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
One issue I encountered is that VMWare Fusion won't launch my virtual machines. It's saying:

"VMware Fusion does not support nested virtualization on this host.

Module 'MonitorMode' power on failed.
Failed to start the virtual machine"
 

Jamesbond007

Moderator
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
6,042
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
One issue I encountered is that VMWare Fusion won't launch my virtual machines. It's saying:

"VMware Fusion does not support nested virtualization on this host.

Module 'MonitorMode' power on failed.
Failed to start the virtual machine"

To run VMware Fusion on Big Sur you may need the next version, which is currently available as a tech preview :
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,716
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
One issue I encountered is that VMWare Fusion won't launch my virtual machines. It's saying:

"VMware Fusion does not support nested virtualization on this host.

Module 'MonitorMode' power on failed.
Failed to start the virtual machine"

Per Jamesbond link:

With such big changes under the hood, there are of course some known issues that we’re working on, both with our code as well as filing issues with Apple directly.

  • Nested VMs are not currently supported.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,716
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
One issue I encountered is that VMWare Fusion won't launch my virtual machines. It's saying:

"VMware Fusion does not support nested virtualization on this host.

Module 'MonitorMode' power on failed.
Failed to start the virtual machine"

Parallels released a version today that is ready for Big Sur... Maybe you could try that.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
73
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
VMware support was able to help resolve this issue. Using the tech preview, in the VM's settings > Processors & Memory, I needed to uncheck "Enable hypervisor applications in this virtual machine" under "Advanced options".
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
3
Motherboard
integrated
CPU
Core i7
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
I need some clarification for using virtual machines on a dual monitor? Is it possible.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,716
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I need some clarification for using virtual machines on a dual monitor? Is it possible.

VM ware says you can maybe you should check their site for directions. If you are using a different virtual machine software you should consult their website for directions.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
3
Motherboard
integrated
CPU
Core i7
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
For virtualization, it requires a good laptop with impressive RAM and storage. I have created a list for that, to help users pick the great models to run virtual machines.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
71
Motherboard
ASUS TUF H370-PRO GAMING WIFI
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I try and create a windows VM and the instant I try to start it up it brings up an error "Failed to power on" with the path of the virtual machine. Pretty much the same thing happens in parallels so I'm wondering if its caused by a BIOS setting maybe?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
71
Motherboard
ASUS TUF H370-PRO GAMING WIFI
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I try and create a windows VM and the instant I try to start it up it brings up an error "Failed to power on" with the path of the virtual machine. Pretty much the same thing happens in parallels so I'm wondering if its caused by a BIOS setting maybe?

I had virtualisation turned off in BIOS, all fixed now :crazy:
 
Top