Graphics
evga GeForce GTX 550Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I was just wondering before I begin my hackintosh build, after osx lion is finally installed and everything is ready to go, when an update of osx is released (ex. say im running 10.7.1 and software update tells me that an update for 10.7.2 is avalible) can i just go to software update and click ok to preform the auto update? Im new to osx86 so im sorry if this is a stupid question but i wasnt able to find an answer anywhere else.

tomtom96135 said:
I was just wondering before I begin my hackintosh build, after osx lion is finally installed and everything is ready to go, when an update of osx is released (ex. say im running 10.7.1 and software update tells me that an update for 10.7.2 is avalible) can i just go to software update and click ok to preform the auto update? Im new to osx86 so im sorry if this is a stupid question but i wasnt able to find an answer anywhere else.
Of course you can, but the better way is, you wait until we have tested it. At the Forum you'll find an Update Thread if a new Update is available.

For example -> viewforum.php?f=169

Don't rush to update, wait a week or so & see if Hackintoshers are having any issues.

You should use Carbon Copy to create a bootable back up as a standard practice & especially prior to installing updates.

lump said:
Don't rush to update, wait a week or so & see if Hackintoshers are having any issues.

You should use Carbon Copy to create a bootable back up as a standard practice & especially prior to installing updates.
:thumbup:
Of data where no Backup exists, must be regarded as deleted!

thanks a lot guys, i know some about hackintosh's but i wanted to be sure just in case it might be bad to do that, and i ruin my hackintosh...so thanks :D

Hello is it safe to update using mac software update? I have attached an image, the security and java update interest me the most.

Attachments