Contribute
Register

Use HD3000 and separate video card for dual display?

Joined
Nov 16, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
GA-Z87-D3HP
CPU
Ivy i5 4600
Graphics
Integrated
Is it possible to use the HD3000 through the motherboard to drive one monitor and a PCIe graphics card to run a second monitor?

I have a Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 (using MacMini system definition) which has an HDMI output on the motherboard only (comes with an HDMI to DVI adapter). I also have a GeForce GT210 video card with HDMI, DVI, and VGA. (I know I can't use the VGA.)

I can use one graphics source or the other, but not both at the same time. When I set the BIOS to use the PCIe as the primary an Onboard always on, the system doesn't even see the HD3000 in the System profiler. If I set the BIOS to use the Onboard as the primary, right between Chimera loading and the grey Apple loading screen, I get a flash of
ERROR: dcbtable_version is 0x3
ERROR: nvidia ROM Patching failed
The system boots fine after that, and in System Profiler it sees both graphics sources, but when you click on the nVidia the specs aren't correct and it isn't even trying to use the card.

Is this even possible to use both simultaneously? Seems like it should be, but I'm newish at Hackintosh and haven't tried this before.

NOTE - I do realize that I can use the DVI and HDMI on the nVidia at the same time to drive two monitors (which I am currently doing), but I just don't like the way the HDMI signal looks on my monitor, which has a native HDMI input. Smaller text is very pixely. I would use that HDMI to DVI adapter so as to send it via DVI, but there isn't enough room on the card to plug both in at the same time. If I had a short HDMI pigtail extender I could probably pull it off, which I might explore.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2010
Messages
5
Motherboard
Hack
CPU
i7 2600k
Graphics
Intel HD3000 for now
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Pretty much having the same issue/question. System recognizes the HDMI video when operational, however no graphics output to the HDMI just to the discret card.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
339
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD7870 XT
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Works on my board when HD3000 is patched in to dsdt and onboard is set as primary graphics. It's funny to run Cinebench on that combination since OpenGL results depend on which screen it is running at.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
GA-Z87-D3HP
CPU
Ivy i5 4600
Graphics
Integrated
mmaenpaa said:
Works on my board when HD3000 is patched in to dsdt and onboard is set as primary graphics. It's funny to run Cinebench on that combination since OpenGL results depend on which screen it is running at.

Please, do tell how you patched in the HD3000 to the dsdt for us semi-noobs?
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
339
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD7870 XT
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
corbywan said:
mmaenpaa said:
Works on my board when HD3000 is patched in to dsdt and onboard is set as primary graphics. It's funny to run Cinebench on that combination since OpenGL results depend on which screen it is running at.

Please, do tell how you patched in the HD3000 to the dsdt for us semi-noobs?

These edits : viewtopic.php?f=162&t=32327, I run my system as iMac12,2.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
339
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD7870 XT
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
toleda said:
mmaenpaa said:
These edits : viewtopic.php?f=162&t=32327, I run my system as iMac12,2.
System Information/Graphics/Display screenshot?



Screen Shot 2012-02-16 at 12.38.14.png

Gigabyte.ioreg.zip
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2012-02-16 at 12.38.14.png
    Screen Shot 2012-02-16 at 12.38.14.png
    113.6 KB · Views: 805
  • Gigabyte.ioreg.zip
    664.5 KB · Views: 101
Last edited by a moderator:

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,258
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2012-02-16 at 10.30.57 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2012-02-16 at 10.30.57 AM.png
    71.2 KB · Views: 701
  • Screen Shot 2012-02-16 at 10.32.11 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2012-02-16 at 10.32.11 AM.png
    78.2 KB · Views: 640
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
339
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD7870 XT
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
toleda said:
mmaenpaa said:
These edits : viewtopic.php?f=162&t=32327, I run my system as iMac12,2.
I stand corrected. Thanks for solving the problem and sharing. By the way, install this AppleHDA.kext http://www.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=45413, set dsdt/HDEF/layout-id to 0x85 0x01 0x00 0x00 and reboot to HDMI audio on both displays as well as 889 onboard audio.
Screen Shot 2012-02-16 at 10.32.11 AM.png
Screen Shot 2012-02-16 at 10.30.57 AM.png

Thanks, I did have HDMI audio working at some point but since I don't use onboard audio at the moment I haven't bothered with keeping AppleHDA.kext updated.
 
Top