NVIDIA Geforce GTX 650Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. Windows Phone
Hello all,

I have been using an external hard drive with 3.0 capabilities for a while but only at 2.0 speeds. My 3.0 ports do not seem to be working. I installed the 3.0 driver in multibeast as well as attempting some other ones I found that were for a real mac. I can plug an ilok into the 3.0 ports and pro tools will let me run it and such, so it is getting power and working in some ways....

However, when I plug the hard drive into the 3.0 port it never shows up in OSX. Again, the drive works when plugged into 2.0 ports using the 3.0 cable (which is obviously backwards-compatible with 2.0), but the same cable does not work for 3.0 ports.

I have tried using the one on top of my case and the one on the back of the mobo. I am still a newish self-taught computer builder, so try to be patient with me. I would love for some people to try and devote some time here and there to keep this thread ongoing until fixed. I appreciate any help. If you need more info than what is in my profile/signature, let me know!

Rhals,

I have been trying to find a solution to this since February.

http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-help/126464-drive-failure-usb-3-0-problem.html

I have verified with others that the problems does exist on other systems (especially those using the same motherboard as me). Unfortunately nobody really seems that bothered by it(most people have said they don't even use USB3.0) so I don't see us finding a solution or help anytime soon:( The last time I had USB3.0 speeds was with Mountain Lion 10.8.5.

Spang1974