Unable to OC Skylake Hackintosh

Discussion in 'Overclocking' started by eRajesh, Feb 25, 2016.

  1. saadme

    saadme

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA G77 D3H
    CPU:
    Intel i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    May 28, 2016 at 12:52 PM #11
    saadme

    saadme

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA G77 D3H
    CPU:
    Intel i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Worked it out - I didn't have Enable P States checked in Clover Configurator - doing so shows my OC speed in Intel Gadget, and my geekbench score went up too.
     
  2. rippingviper

    rippingviper

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Mobo:
    Z170-A
    CPU:
    i5 6600k @ 4.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    MSI 1070 Gaming X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 13, 2016 at 3:55 PM #12
    rippingviper

    rippingviper

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Mobo:
    Z170-A
    CPU:
    i5 6600k @ 4.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    MSI 1070 Gaming X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Set 45 on all cores for multiplier to get 4.5ghz boost on 6600k on Z170-A motherboard with adaptive offset + 1.35V. Works perfectly fine with no modifications to OSX, Reflects boost speeds in hardware monitor on my toolbar right out of the box, also have XMP enabled 3200mhz Corsair LPX. All works fine. Not sure how you guys are having issues as i've made no modifications to the OS.
     
  3. eRajesh

    eRajesh

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Jul 14, 2016 at 4:10 AM #13
    eRajesh

    eRajesh

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    11

    You used the unlocked multiplier to OC, which is working just fine. Overclocking via the BCC Clock is not working. I switched to a 6600K, and I'm currently running it at 4.4GHz.
     
  4. rippingviper

    rippingviper

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Mobo:
    Z170-A
    CPU:
    i5 6600k @ 4.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    MSI 1070 Gaming X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 14, 2016 at 5:09 AM #14
    rippingviper

    rippingviper

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Mobo:
    Z170-A
    CPU:
    i5 6600k @ 4.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    MSI 1070 Gaming X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Intel Kiboshed the block overclocking, not sure if you follow any tech videos on Youtube. They installed new microcode into the non K series chips so that if the frequencies reaches a certain point the boards no longer post and you need to reset CMOS to clear it unless your board does the "failed overclocking" thing after it doesn't boot a few times and goes to defaults.

    And thats good. Glad you made the switch. Thats why I didn't go with the 6500. It won't overclock , cause intel doesn't want you to have free power. You gotta pay for the K to get that.
     
  5. kiiroaka

    kiiroaka

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    955
    Mobo:
    ASRock Z97 X4, 32GB DDR3 2400
    CPU:
    i5-4690k
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX950 Strix
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, SE
    Jul 28, 2016 at 7:25 PM #15
    kiiroaka

    kiiroaka

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    955
    Mobo:
    ASRock Z97 X4, 32GB DDR3 2400
    CPU:
    i5-4690k
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX950 Strix
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, SE
    Do you mean "Generate PStates" in the ACPI tab?
     
  6. F1234567

    F1234567

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7 6700k OC 4.6 Ghz
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti 6Gb
    Mac:
    iMac
    Jan 30, 2017 at 7:11 PM #16
    F1234567

    F1234567

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7 6700k OC 4.6 Ghz
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti 6Gb
    Mac:
    iMac
    Not sure if this is off-topic or not.. but I get a similar screen to the original posted when I push my G.Skill Trident-Z 3400 above the 3000 mark with this same motherboard. But OC'ing the CPU to 4.6 seems to work fine. The max I can push my G.Skill to seems to be something like `2796`. I'm wondering if anyone else was able to OC their RAM ok with this board?
     
  7. atomicamp

    atomicamp

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Mobo:
    BitFenix Phenom M
    CPU:
    intel core i7 6700k 4ghz skylake
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 XTREME Gaming Extreme (GV-N1080XTREME-8GD Premium )
    Mac:
    iMac
    Sep 16, 2017 at 7:08 AM #17
    atomicamp

    atomicamp

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Mobo:
    BitFenix Phenom M
    CPU:
    intel core i7 6700k 4ghz skylake
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 XTREME Gaming Extreme (GV-N1080XTREME-8GD Premium )
    Mac:
    iMac
    What is BCLK?
     

Share This Page