Contribute
Register

Suddenly still waiting for root device

Status
Not open for further replies.

onx

Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 5 (rev. 1.0)
CPU
Intel Core Skylake i7 - 6700K
Graphics
Sapphire NITRO+ Radeon RX 580 8G G5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi! I've got dual boot installation: Mac OS X Sierra on 250Gb SSD Samsung 850 EVO Series and Windows 10 on 120Gb SSD Kingston V300 Series. Also there is 2 × 1TB HDD drives for slow data. I'm using Clover to switch between them and everything worked perfect before yesterday.
I was working in Win10 and then updated video card drivers (EVGA GTX970). I've doing such updates earlier with no problems many times but today I saw "forbidden sign" while loading MacOS. After it I've enabled flag -v in Clover and there is message "Still waiting for root device":
IMG_4524.JPG

I tried next steps to resolve the issue with no success:
  1. Disconnect all physical drives except Mac OS.
  2. Add boot option '-nv_disable=1' in Clover config.
  3. Update BIOS of my MB Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 5 from F3 version to F22.
After all I created bootable USB flash drive with UniBeast 2 based on Mac os Sierra and booted from it. With this flash drive I see all my drives (without it I see them too) but now I can load my Mac OS without "Still waiting for root device" error message.

I tried to reinstall clover with MultiBeast 9.2 but it has no success: there was the same error message.

Could you advice me any direction to solve the problem?

My full config is:
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 5
Intel Core i7 - 6700K
GeForce GTX970 EVGA Superclocked ACX PCI-E 4096Mb
250Gb SSD Samsung 850 EVO Series
120Gb SSD Kingston V300 Series
1Tb SATA-III HGST (Hitachi) Travelstar 7K1000
1Tb SATA-III Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
Corsair CWCH75
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,489
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Add boot option '-nv_disable=1' in Clover config.
-nv_disable=1 is nonsense and will have no effect, it should be nv_disable=1.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,489
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My fault, but it has no sense in my case because result is the same.
Are you able to boot the operating system ok with the USB installer ?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,489
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This should work then :

Boot from your USB and when you get to the desktop download and run EFI Mounter and mount the EFI partition of your USB.
Copy the entire /EFI folder from the EFI partition of your USB to the desktop.
Eject the USB.
Run EFI Mounter again and mount the EFI partition of your SSD.
Delete the entire /EFI folder from the EFI partition of your SSD.
Copy the /EFI folder from your desktop to the EFI partition of your SSD.
Restart
You should now be able to boot from your SSD in the same way that you could previously boot from your USB.
 

onx

Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 5 (rev. 1.0)
CPU
Intel Core Skylake i7 - 6700K
Graphics
Sapphire NITRO+ Radeon RX 580 8G G5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This should work then :

Boot from your USB and when you get to the desktop download and run EFI Mounter and mount the EFI partition of your USB.
Copy the entire /EFI folder from the EFI partition of your USB to the desktop.
Eject the USB.
Run EFI Mounter again and mount the EFI partition of your SSD.
Delete the entire /EFI folder from the EFI partition of your SSD.
Copy the /EFI folder from your desktop to the EFI partition of your SSD.
Restart
You should now be able to boot from your SSD in the same way that you could previously boot from your USB.
Thank you for advice! I've replaced just config.plist from USB and now it is possible to load without USB.

So I'll compare line-by-line backup of config.plist with original but it's very strange. I didn't change hardware configuration or something like this.
 

onx

Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 5 (rev. 1.0)
CPU
Intel Core Skylake i7 - 6700K
Graphics
Sapphire NITRO+ Radeon RX 580 8G G5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's looks like the problem was with DSDT FixUSB_1000: when I trying to set it in true the MacOS unable to load.
I don't know why it happens but may be it will be useful for somebody.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top